We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate European Honeymoon Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Il Salviatino to your Saves list
Il Salviatino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #20 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Ultimate European Honeymoon Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Forget average city centre hotels instead, head to Il Salviatino.

After stopping to see Pisa, we drove on to Florence to stay at this magnificent Hotel. We were greeted by our Ambassador who arranged our hired car to be parked and made sure that we got dinner even though it was quite late.

Stayed at the Ojetti Suite which is stunning. The mirror-TV was superb! The room is quiet, you will not hear anybody from nextdoor. Everything oozes elegance and style. Rooms are tidied up twice a day, so when you return from dinner you enter a tidy room with candles lit and soft music purring from the mirror/tv.
The living room of the Ojetti suite is well lit, great for those relaxing afternoons and the floor is glass! Under the glass there is a painted glass that turned out to be the ceiling of the main staircase.
The bed is massive and it is arranged so that you can have a good night sleep without bothered by the morning light.
There are two bathrooms: one next to the bedroom area, with a shower and toilet and there is one upstairs (!) with a massive bath. From the bathroom you can walk out to a spacious balcony and drink in Florence's outstanding cityscape.


Breakfast is not an open buffet type of thing - you just ask for whatever you feel like and it will be prepared for you. One morning I asked for peach juice and I was served a freshly squeezed one, how impressive!

We ate three times at the hotel. The food, the waiters, the wines were all fantastic! Every meal was a treat.

Throughout our stay (3 nights) we've had transfer to and from the City Centre (so no need to drive and park the car in the city!), we were recommended Gelaterias, directions and everything we asked for was catered for and more.

Il Salviatino is the most romantic place we ever visited and we will definitely return. If you're looking for the Ultimate Honeymoon destination or just a weekend to surprise that special someone, then look no further. Il Salviatino is everything you can wish for.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    65
    13
    12
    9
See reviews for
69
367
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

From the second you walk into this Villa (lloks more like a Villa, than a Hotel) the professional and friendly staff make you feel right at home. The Hotel is in a beautiful setting surrounded by trees and greenery. The Rooms are spacious, luxurious, and very comfortable. The pool and spa are gorgeous. The various restaurants have delicious food. Beautiful bathrooms. This Hotel is in a category of its own. We were pampered up to the last minute. The Hotel is only a few minutes taxi ride away from the center. Thank you to all the staff for making my stay such a wonderful relaxing and unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

A recently restored villa that has been converted into a hotel. Large impressive grounds overlooking downtown Florence. Huge classically modern common rooms. Setup to feel like a home, there are no restrictions on how to enjoy the hotel - just ask a staff member or call your ambassador for anything you want. Special food requests, dinner by the pool, Lamborghini rental, they can take care of it. We've stayed in similar hotels, like Casa Palemero in Carmel, CA, that have cost over $1k/night and found the price for this property very reasonable given the excellent service and quality offered.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

It's hard to know where to start, this place is so truly magnificent. The service is beyond five-star...personal, attentive and accommodating without being overbearing. If you are a movie-star or politician, you would do well to stay here -- the privacy is absolute and the pampering is exquisite. Every nuance and detail is carefully thought out to invoke in a traveler the feeling of utter luxury and relaxation, from the welcome glass of Prosecco to the profusion of flowers in the public spaces and the rooms. The term "bend-over-backwards" comes to mind when thinking of their efforts to make you comfortable.

Set slightly above Florence, the views are spectacular. We had a "Dome view" room, which was outfitted with the most amazing television and sound system, along with a rain canopy shower which has to be experienced to be believed. Breakfast at midnight? No problem. Helicopter ride over Florence? No problem. Shuttle your new friends to the Four Seasons Hotel where they're staying? No problem. Nothing is beyond the pale when it comes to satisfying their guests. Which, when you think of it, is exactly how it should be.

Please, stay here. No matter what it costs, stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Il Salviatino is breathtaking. Everything is first class. There is no other place to stay in Florence. The staff couldn't be more helpful . the resturant has wonderful food at reasonable prices and the view of Florence can't be beat. We hated to leave!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

There is something just so appealing about Il Salviatino! Not only does it feel like you have gone back in time to a fantasy place but it has a modern appeal + the latest technology at the same time! (Free wi-fi for all BB & ipad addicts like me & my colleagues/friends. It only takes 10 minutes to be in the center of Florence to visit all the historical sites & of course to shop, party & enjoy the fabulous Tuscan cuisine!!!! At the same time you have the best of both worlds since the hotel is located in the Tuscan hills surrounding Florence with a fabulous view! I have been travelling to Florence at least 2 times a year for the last 12 years & I can honestly say this has been my FAVORITE hotel there!!!!! Have previously stayed at the Savoy, Villa Cora & the Four Seasons to name a few so think I have enough to be objective. The pools are beautiful, nice size & not an easy thing to find in Florence. The staff cannot be friendlier nor more accommodating to any request (also not the norm all the time in this city regardless of what the hotel is charging you). What else can I say – Florence is my favorite city in Italy & now I will only be staying at Il Salviatino!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

I would like to share this outstanding experience in Florence...
We decided in August to get away for 3 days and my wife picked Florence without telling me before. As a surprise she booked Il Salviatino. After we arrived, I realised how lucky we have been to get a room because there are just more than 40 and you feel welcome straight away.
I can not even describe the location and the breathtaking design of the hotel to somebody who did not see it.
But what I would like to point out to any caring husband is, that if you wish to please your wife and yourself with the best service and attention to detail I have experienced for a long time - this is the place to go to.
We are used to travel a lot and even in the best hotels around the world, there is always some problem either with the meals or with the service. For the first time this year, everything was more than perfect. Breakfast, overlooking Florence... we will come back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#14 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
#60 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. We also offer the Spa at il Salviatino with dedicated products from Dr. Vranjes, one of Florence's most exclusive perfume houses, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Splendia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Salviatino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.