We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Il Salviatino to your Saves list
Il Salviatino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at Il Salviatino for 6 nights. Initially we were supposed to stay for 3 nights but the hotel was so amazing that we extended our stay. The staff was very helpful and welcoming, especially Anna from the front desk. She helped us with all our needs including future plans to other parts of Italy. The food, rooms, view and concierge were Excellent. I highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Florence.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Shoshanadz,,

Thank you for a wonderful review and a great compliment. Extending your stay because you loved the hotel, and Anna, so much. That is fantastic to hear and we look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Florence.

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    65
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
69
356
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay in Florence--the view of the city, the live music at the dinner time, the extremely helpful staffs. Those are just some of the highlights of the place. It is really quite, with a nice garden and swimming pool, great for a relaxing weekend.

I would not recommend it to the first time visitors to Florence though. If you want to hit all major sites in the city, and stay a lot of time travel around Tuscany, maybe it is better to stay in a place close to town. As mentioned, this hotel is not in Florence, it is in Fiesole. Hotel shuttle only runs from 9:30 AM in the morning and 8PM in the evening, with 12-3PM no service. So if you have a train to catch, or an early museum reservation, or dinner in town, you will find yourself calling a lot of taxi.

And we did. While it is not related to the hotel quality, I include this factoid here for fellow guests, the taxi fare varies greatly--from city to hotel, my bill varies from 15 euros to 30 euros. Those expenses can add it if you have to use it twice a day.

I will stay here again because my next trip will not be my first visit to Florence. This place is perfect for people for a relaxing Florence vacation, maybe hit one or two cultural events in town, and also spend some time on the property to relax and enjoy the view. I do miss that view of Duomo from the terrace.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear SandyWang,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We do offer, as you describe, "the best of both worlds". Close to the centre of Florence, yet a tranquil haven when you return with the ability to enjoy the pools and Spa in our private park. Our daily shuttle service takes 15 minutes to drop our guests off at the Duomo. We do have a break in service during lunch time as we have noticed that all of our guests by that time have decided to either spend a relaxing day at the Hotel or have decided to spend the day in Florence.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit.

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

All the best compliments I you can ever imagine are worth to say regarding this amazing place. Staying here you may fill like a noble historical person in georgeous castle. The hotel situatet right near Florence so you may use all the advantages of huge privat villa to stay with all possible servicese to have and visit Florence as it reachible via free hotel bus. Restaurent is more then perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Peter B,

"A picture is worth more than a thousand words" really is true. Thank you for sharing such a great photo of Il Salviatino and your kind review of your stay with us.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Florence.

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We loved our week at il Salviatori . Our room was lovely. The fact that the bathroom could have been better lit was a minor detail. We had an outdoor space which is rare in a hotel and which we enjoyed. Sitting on the hotel terrace for the lavish breakfast, with views over Florence was delightful.

The infinity pools invoke a sense of serenity and tranquility and are perfect for reading and relaxing.

The staff must be hand picked for their charm and willingness to make your stay as perfect as possible. They were wonderful and couldn't be faulted.

Eating and drinking at the hotel is very expensive but the hotel shuttle took us into Florence where we ate at very good restaurants recommended by the hotel.

Room Tip: We had one with outdoor space and also a large bedroom and dressing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Donna-Day N,

Thank you for a great review of your stay with us. Breakfast on our terrace overlooking Florence and the Duomo is a very special experience, I fully agree, as are the pools. Overlooking the Tuscan countryside, you forget you are so close to Florence centre and it offers a completely different experience.
Your comment about the staff however is appreciated even more and very true. We hire based on attitude and train on skills and we are very lucky that most staff has been with us for years.

We hope to have you with us again soon.

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have stayed in lots of lovely places but for me Il Salviatino was the perfect combination of location (nestled in the hills overlooking Florence), service, style, food and facilities. It was like staying in a country house hotel but with a staff who couldn't do enough, lovely rooms and common areas, great facilities (spa, nice pool, regular shuttle bus into the city) and delicious food. My partner and I had a very romantic few days here and really would recommend it to anyone else. Couldn't be faulted.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Anna_Traveller028,

It is great to hear you have had such a great stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We often refer to "the best of both worlds" which seems you appreciated, located in the Tuscan countryside, yet only 15 minutes from Florence centre, with informal service in an elegant surrounding.

I will definitely share your comments with all the staff and we hope to have you back with us next time you are in Florence.

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I just returned from a trip to Italy during which we spent four fantastic days at the ultra-charming Il Saviatino just outside of Florence ( actually in Fiesole). From the moment we arrived and enjoyed our complimentary Prosecco it was clear that the staff was going to take care of us. We were shown to our huge Garden Suite with the most romantic glass conservatory for relaxing and enjoying the charms of the property. While these suites (there are 4) dont have the view of the upper floors, they are truly a gem for those who want real privacy and quiet. I dont thnk we heard anyone outside of our room for the entire stay. The restaurant on the terrace not only had the greatest view overlooking the enchanting city of Florence, but the food was simply fantastic. On our first night we ordered a 3 course tasting menu and we wound up getting five courses...just because the staff here is so generous. The food was an incredible fusion of traditional regional dishes and modern Italian creativity. On our second night we ate a very nice place down in the city that was highly reccomended by staff and it was good, but we couldn't wait to get back to La Terrazza at the hotel for more great food and the views..oh the views. Breakfast consisted of these pre-chosen trays of fruit, yogurt, an egg dish, salads, lox, etc...a true morning delight of wide and delicious variety. One morning we asked for a side of bacon with our tray and it appeared in less than 3 minutes.
The staff cheerfully helped us with a variety of tours and transportation that all exceeded our expectations. There is a complimentary shuttle to town and back that runs every hour that was clean, on-time and the drivers were fun and courteous. The pool was attended by an energetic and accomodative crew who attended to our every need. It was a welcome relief at the end of each swealtering Florence afternoon.
Cant reccomend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mitch A,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. It is great to hear you have had such a great stay in one of our Greenhouse Suites, located in the Villa's original greenhouses. Your comments on our restaurant, both for dinner and breakfast, are also very much appreciated as are your comments about the staff. It seems you really enjoyed our informal style of service and our location. I fully agree with you that there is nothing better, after a day of exploring Florence, to go for a swim in the pool and sit on the terrace overlooking the Duomo.

We hope to have you back with us next time you are in Florence.

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very nice and spacious room, very clean and comefortably furnished; TV/music equipment a bit tricky and not too easy to operate for someone not being fan of IT... Excellent food in a great terrace restaurant, friendly and helpful service. Good value for money compared to similar places in or around Florence.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the City
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear zak737,

Thank you for you review of your stay at Il Salviatino. I am glad to hear of your positive comments on our staff, restaurant and your room. As to your comment on our inroom entertainment system, we will make sure to have this explained better by our Service ambasadors when rooming our guests. It is and additional service we offer free of charge to our guests and offers movies, playlists, TV and radio stations. Guests can connect their Ipad or Ipod wireless to the system to listen to their own playlists or look at their photos on TV. We will make sure to make it more user friendly.

We hope to have you back with us soon.

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#14 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
#53 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. We also offer the Spa at il Salviatino with dedicated products from Dr. Vranjes, one of Florence's most exclusive perfume houses, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Salviatino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.