We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Salviatino

Save Saved
You added Il Salviatino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Il Salviatino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Enjoy Spring in Florence
Ranked #24 of 459 hotels in Florence
Wien, Österreich
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent our first anniversary in September in this beautiful hotel. Nicely outside of Florence, but with easy access to the city by either the free shuttle or taxi.

Very nice, beautifully decorated, large rooms. Perfect service. Amazing food. A la carte breakfast. Dinner with a view to the dome. Small menu, but daily Specials and the chef is also preparing a special menue on request for you (as we had for our anniversary).

Staff is extremely friendly, speaks good English and is very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    348
    51
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
56
286
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We will be back as we spend time in Italy almost every year and this old villa on the hillside not far from downtown Florence is the best place to be based on many nights in this town. Would have loved to give it 5 stars but just some minor items that I am sure the management will work out in time, silver fish in the tub and sink, heating mechanism was constantly shutting down, and the phone stopped working on our first night and never was able to restore the power. Disclaimer this hotel is new and the residence is very old so these problems are expected to a degree. The dunner was fanrastic and is a must.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

The location is one of the best you can find on the outskirts of florence! Dumo is only 7 minutes drive (non peak hours)The view is amazing. The drive towards the building is an experience. Food & service was not upto the standards of the location. Untrained staff. The bed was very uncomfortable - it was really low ! Toiletries were in sufficient & even on asking few times, the staff not unwilling to refill.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We decided to extend our trip to Italy and visit Florence and boy are we glad we did. My husband found the Il Salviatino online and after reading the extensive positive reviews, we booked a room. From the moment we arrived we were blown away. Not only are the grounds beautiful, the hotel itself overlooks the most amazing view of Florence. The inside is gorgeous and the room was spacious. Book a room with a view of the Duomo, it's completely worth the extra money! The best part of this hotel though was not the view or the beauty of the rooms, it was the consideration and hospitality of every member of the staff. From Lino (Do whatever he tells you to do, it will be amazing!), the general manager, to the waiters in the dining room, everyone is kind and helpful. A truly fantastic Tuscan experience!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and book a room with a guaranteed view of the Duomo! Worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We chose this as our first hotel on our honeymoon trip to Italy, and could not have made a better choice! When we arrived, we were greeted with wonderful hospitality, which continued throughout our stay. The room was spacious and comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised by the large bed and the tv located literally inside the mirror. The library was one of our favorite rooms, where many a night we enjoyed an aperatif after a long day of sightseeing. The breakfasts were my favorite times of the day, and the delicious variety of offerings made both myself (the vegetarian) and my husband (not so vegetarian) equally happy and satiated. Finally, the smells throughout the entire hotel were simply divine- the giant diffusers from a local boutique were a very nice touch. This hotel was a great choice for us. I had initially worried that it might be too far removed from the city sights, but the hourly shuttle that the hotel provides met our needs perfectly. A wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 32 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this fine hotel. For three nights on my honeymoon. Words can not describe what a stunning backdrop Florence. Even in October it looked amazing.

Upon arrival we were handed a glass of Prosecco which was most inviting. Nada the host had kindly upgraded our room, which was superb. It included a Jacuzzi bath and a lovely shower and the quite unique feature of mirror embedded with a TV plus another additional bottle of Procecco.

Breakfast was a lovely benefit with fresh fruit, poached egg, a selection of sweet & savoury dishes.

The Chef was amazingly accommodating with some of request as he asked what we would like for dinner so he could get fresh supplies from the local market. The food was a little on the pricey side but to be honest for the guarantee of quality food and brilliant service well worth it.( I shared the florence steak and it was cooked perfectly as you would expect)

There minibus service was extremely handy service

The staff were extremely helpful especially Nada who went the extra mile to always assist us especially as Air Italia had cancelled our flights and there were also local strikes.

All in All this was the perfect romantic mini get away. If you are looking for luxury, relaxing & romance look no further

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finchley, North London, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for three nights for our 25 th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel at home...I wish it was our home! Our room and bathroom were luxurious and we were particularly impressed with the TV in the mirror. The hotel gave us a bottle of prosecco and some fruit for our anniversary.
The views from the room and the terrace restaurant over Florence were stunning. Food and drink were expensive it that's to be expected. My husband has made specific instructions regarding his club sandwich and when they were ignored and he complained they were very apologetic and replaced it.
Breakfast was not what you would expect ...a tray with granola, fruit,yoghurt,bread, jam, eggs, ham and cheese. After the first morning we requested poached eggs and did not want certain things which hey were happy to do for us.
Although out of Florence there was a shuttle bus to go into town and back.
The staff were very helpful regarding restaurant reservations and directions.
On our actual anniversary they were happy to swop the bottle of prosecco for a cold one.
Unfortunately the weather was not good enough for us to enjoy the pool area which looked lovely.
While we were there Bulgari was staying in a special garden suite.
I would recommend this hotel if you want to experience a country house feel with attentive service,luxury and beautiful views.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence
Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#15 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#34 Family Hotel in Florence
#67 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. We also offer the Spa at il Salviatino with dedicated products from Dr. Vranjes, one of Florence's most exclusive perfume houses, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Preferred Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Salviatino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.