We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Salviatino

Save Saved
You added Il Salviatino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Il Salviatino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suite and Hot
Ranked #19 of 461 hotels in Florence
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had a 5 night stay at Il Salviatino. The property is beautiful, the pictures do not do justice to the reality of the wonderful views. The staff were very attentive and accommodating. They gave the impression of truly wanting to make your time in Florence as magical as possible. We had a Suite which was amazing. Everything worked and the decor was what your would expect in an authentic manor house / Tuscan Mansion. Also, unlike all of the other places we stayed in Italy, the Wi-Fi worked and Internet was fast!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    56
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
64
320
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited in late June, staying for 8 nights - the hotel is perfectly sized, not a chain or massive. Loved our team of ambassadors, as well as some key restaurant professionals. Truly went out of their way to ensure we had a magnificent stay and all of our travel needs were satisfied. A few of the folks are worth mentioning - Julia at the restaurant was most welcoming/charming and Giuseppe who went above and beyond for us throughout our stay is a prince! Both are warm, friendly and masters of taking excellent care of their guests. The grounds and views are incredible, the spa was a treat and the pool was a perfect spot to enjoy the Italian sun/hot weather! Unlike the previous person who posted negatives around the housekeeping team, our room was serviced 2x a day - beautifully! While this hotel is on the expensive end, it's a beauty that you should consider for a special vacation or a long weekend. We're lucky to have spent time at IL Salviatino. Thank you!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We loved our stay at II Salviatino,.....anniversary treat!

Great service, beautiful location, stylish and relaxed ambiance. Complementary shuttle bus a real bonus

Sitting on the gorgeous terrace, looking at stunning views and eating delicious food, happy days!

We would definitely recommend, a really special place

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for three nights and were thoroughly impressed in every sense. The staff are attentive, helpful and always on hand to assist in whatever you need. Our room was on the third floor and had a small balcony, a bed that would have fitted four people and a wonderful old metal bath. The room was well appointed with a good selection of books, coffee machine, safe and everything else you would expect in a top hotel.
There is a free shuttle bus that runs into town and drops you right at the base of the Duomo and returns you directly to the hotel, it runs every hour from each point apart from the very middle of the day.
The food is amazing and although the menu is slightly small they certainly do know how to produce first class food. The wine list is extensive and broad - if slightly expensive. The breakfast is generous and has a really good choice.
The pool is a little disappointing and is small walk away from the hotel. The view is one to die for. Especially at night when the city is lit up.

If you want to treat yourself, or someone else, then this really is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week with my entire family and friends for my wedding. We booked out 10 rooms in the hotel and spent a significant amount of money securing these rooms a year in advance. Hence why I was extemly concerned when there was 2 of our bookings missing when we checked in, this was rectified but after causing much stress! The hotel and rooms are beautiful, however they are not worth the extremely high price tag, for a 5 star hotel not to replace bath soaps and creams everyday is very unusual, this was replaced once and then never again. Breakfast is very inefficient the waiters bring a tray to the table which looks lovely but we waited 40 minutes for this tray which is ridiculous! We also booked the alfresco suite for our wedding night and was promised the room early in the morning by the managing director, on my wedding day we went to get the key to find out they had sold the room the day before a stress I didn't need on my wedding day when my 7 bridesmaids and 3 hair and make up artists arrived ready to set up. The hotel did however make up for this by giving us another suite but this was not the same as the alfresco. Overall this is a beautiful hotel but service is poor and the for the price it isn't worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The service is impeccable, the room was fantastic and the food was great. The location is absolutely beautiful - just unbelievably gorgeous.

The hotel is situated about ~20 minutes outside of the city, so the hotel has a complimentary shuttle that runs every half hour. It's a perfect solution to staying outside the city center and it's fantastic. I cannot speak highly enough about this hotel, honestly. It was fantastic.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Amazing place. Great rooms. We were upgraded without even asking and had a private study on a SECOND FLOOR with views of the city and countryside and a bathtub in a loft. Delicious food. The complimentary breakfast could feed an army. Beautiful pool which is great for the hot days. Most accommodating staff you can imagine. You could barely finish your sentence before they were on it. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#13 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#20 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
#48 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. We also offer the Spa at il Salviatino with dedicated products from Dr. Vranjes, one of Florence's most exclusive perfume houses, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Escapio, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Salviatino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.