We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and excellent people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Il Salviatino to your Saves list
Il Salviatino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 419 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and excellent people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited in late June, staying for 8 nights - the hotel is perfectly sized, not a chain or massive. Loved our team of ambassadors, as well as some key restaurant professionals. Truly went out of their way to ensure we had a magnificent stay and all of our travel needs were satisfied. A few of the folks are worth mentioning - Julia at the restaurant was most welcoming/charming and Giuseppe who went above and beyond for us throughout our stay is a prince! Both are warm, friendly and masters of taking excellent care of their guests. The grounds and views are incredible, the spa was a treat and the pool was a perfect spot to enjoy the Italian sun/hot weather! Unlike the previous person who posted negatives around the housekeeping team, our room was serviced 2x a day - beautifully! While this hotel is on the expensive end, it's a beauty that you should consider for a special vacation or a long weekend. We're lucky to have spent time at IL Salviatino. Thank you!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ttill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We loved our stay at II Salviatino,.....anniversary treat!

Great service, beautiful location, stylish and relaxed ambiance. Complementary shuttle bus a real bonus

Sitting on the gorgeous terrace, looking at stunning views and eating delicious food, happy days!

We would definitely recommend, a really special place

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for three nights and were thoroughly impressed in every sense. The staff are attentive, helpful and always on hand to assist in whatever you need. Our room was on the third floor and had a small balcony, a bed that would have fitted four people and a wonderful old metal bath. The room was well appointed with a good selection of books, coffee machine, safe and everything else you would expect in a top hotel.
There is a free shuttle bus that runs into town and drops you right at the base of the Duomo and returns you directly to the hotel, it runs every hour from each point apart from the very middle of the day.
The food is amazing and although the menu is slightly small they certainly do know how to produce first class food. The wine list is extensive and broad - if slightly expensive. The breakfast is generous and has a really good choice.
The pool is a little disappointing and is small walk away from the hotel. The view is one to die for. Especially at night when the city is lit up.

If you want to treat yourself, or someone else, then this really is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christhewino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week with my entire family and friends for my wedding. We booked out 10 rooms in the hotel and spent a significant amount of money securing these rooms a year in advance. Hence why I was extemly concerned when there was 2 of our bookings missing when we checked in, this was rectified but after causing much stress! The hotel and rooms are beautiful, however they are not worth the extremely high price tag, for a 5 star hotel not to replace bath soaps and creams everyday is very unusual, this was replaced once and then never again. Breakfast is very inefficient the waiters bring a tray to the table which looks lovely but we waited 40 minutes for this tray which is ridiculous! We also booked the alfresco suite for our wedding night and was promised the room early in the morning by the managing director, on my wedding day we went to get the key to find out they had sold the room the day before a stress I didn't need on my wedding day when my 7 bridesmaids and 3 hair and make up artists arrived ready to set up. The hotel did however make up for this by giving us another suite but this was not the same as the alfresco. Overall this is a beautiful hotel but service is poor and the for the price it isn't worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emilyg1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The service is impeccable, the room was fantastic and the food was great. The location is absolutely beautiful - just unbelievably gorgeous.

The hotel is situated about ~20 minutes outside of the city, so the hotel has a complimentary shuttle that runs every half hour. It's a perfect solution to staying outside the city center and it's fantastic. I cannot speak highly enough about this hotel, honestly. It was fantastic.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Amazing place. Great rooms. We were upgraded without even asking and had a private study on a SECOND FLOOR with views of the city and countryside and a bathtub in a loft. Delicious food. The complimentary breakfast could feed an army. Beautiful pool which is great for the hot days. Most accommodating staff you can imagine. You could barely finish your sentence before they were on it. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eriles2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at il salviatino on a trip through tuscany in June. The house itself, the nice rooms and of course the awesome service are great. As already mentioned in other reviews the hotel is not located in citycenter but the free shuttle brings you directly to piazza del duomo which is perfect. Also we want to mention the great breakfast and the nice pool which we also used one (very hot) afternoon. We didn't try the restaurant but relied on some nice recommendations from the receptionist in the village of Fiesole. From there you have a breathtaking view over Florence. Only drawback is of course the high price, however, in this respect we feel the overall package is simply worth the money.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Cora
#6 of 419 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 571 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#18 of 419 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Torre Di Bellosguardo
#13 of 419 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#7 of 419 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#12 of 419 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#29 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#56 Family Hotel in Florence
#92 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. We also offer the Spa at il Salviatino with dedicated products from Dr. Vranjes, one of Florence's most exclusive perfume houses, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing