We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Il Salviatino to your Saves list
Il Salviatino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€750 (EUR)
Ranked #30 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had one of our best hotel experiences at this place.

The staff is wonderful, the hotel is cozy, with very comfortable furniture and beds in the room, well equipped and modern bathrooms and latest technology in lighting and tv.

The rooms are fairly large, the grounds are beautiful and quiet, it is a nice retreat from the city, with a good shuttle service that can take you to the center of town to see the sights in Florence.

The staff is amazing, warm and very helpful. Do not miss the opportunity to stay here!

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel personnel and tell them your wishes or concerns , they will help you find the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    79
    20
    14
    9
See reviews for
84
412
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

went for an anniversary. location fantastic- just on the outskirts of Florence. grounds-amazing.
actual hotel - fantastic. great restoration and sympathetic refurbishment Renaissance Italian villa. not too ostentatious , decoration is quite muted , conservative and not over the top. Stylish in all aspects. terrace, breakfast room/ restaurant, Pool, room, library. Vey memorable stay. staff were v.v.good . friendly and approachable. warm and very hospitable. if you asked for Unicorn tears, they would have done their best to provide them.! ticks all the boxes. v.v. nice stay .
Thank you Il Salviatino

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We chose this hotel as we wanted to enjoy all that Florence has to offer, but still have somewhere peaceful to retreat to. Il Salviatino was perfect for our requirements. We took the shuttle into the centre on two days and found it a very efficient and pleasurable service. We also enjoyed dinner at the hotel and two restaurant reservations made by the team for us, all of which were excellent food and atmosphere.
We understood the style of the service to be - act as if it were your own villa, with every need met. We enjoyed the no fuss, discrete approach as we wanted a very private break. Every single thing we asked for assistance with was resolved v quickly and subtly.
We would love to return and explore the area more widely- we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Ok, it's not a hotel but an awesome 500 year old Villa on the hillside overlooking Florence. We stayed four wonderful nights before heading to Rome. This is truly a 5 star destination with very attentive staff. Special mention to Nada. We stayed in room #32 which was a side view room with angled views of Florence. The grounds are very will manicured. We enjoyed a great breakfast at Il Salviatino every morning before we took their shuttle into the city. We also had dinner twice at the resort and they were the best meals of our entire stay. We have stayed at many 5 star hotels and this one tops our list. Price was very reasonable for the quaility and location. Can't wait to go back.... very sad to leave. Also, the spa staff treated us very well. Thank you Monica!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a very difficult review to write. Largely because the very high price of the stay obliges me to be extremely critical, even fussy.
The approach to the Villa via Taxi is lovely. An automatic barrier beckons you through and then you enter a world of secluded luxury. The winding 's' bending uphill road up to the front of the hotel sees you being received by 3 people. They open your taxi door,smile and take your cases and you are booked in at a tiny front desk and very relaxed. Then you are offered to take an unhurried glass of Prosecco on a terrace with wonderful views of Florence. You can see the Dome. Then, when you are ready, you are shown to your room. The hotel is like a large square house with several "nooky" rooms and a wonderful library - with drinks. Our room was on floor 3. It was very nice, but no wow factor. Quirky luxuries like TV behind a huge mirror, remote controlled lighting, waterfall shower, which was oddly the other side of the room from the bathroom and WC. A huge painting on one wall was lovely. Yet the room seemed a little spartan, Plain yellow walls, wooden flooring (no carpeting or even a rug). Can a room be spartan, yet luxurious? An open mini bar displays stuff you dare not use. A Snickers bar at 5 euros and then upwards. TV - just 3 English channels, but then you are not there to sit in your room, right? The bed was large and comfortable. Nice big shuttered windows. Beware Mosquitos! Even at this early part of the year, I was eaten alive on the second night. by one single Mosquito, I think.The hotel has several lounge areas, place to just chill out. The gardens are lovely, 5 acres of land I think. We walked down to the pool via the gardens, which was interesting. Lots of tended shrubbery. I imagine Lord Lucan could easily has found his way to this place and remained undetected for ever.It was late April and weather not great. Pool freezing, but all Englishmen have to do it, whatever the weather and coz of that it was all mine and mine alone. The expletives used upon jumping in caused the spa / masseuse lady to come running out from the adjacent spa. I guessed she thought there was a drowning occurring. But she then realised it was some idiot using a freezing cold pool.
Breakfast is a veritable feast to suit all tastes. A silver platter of everything. The fresh fruit and fruit juice being the highlight.
We arrived late afternoon so had booked dinner at the hotel. Kind of a mistake. Not that the food was not good. It was fine and very expensive. A glass of good Italian red was 20 euros. That's when you learn how to sip wine, let me tell you. Food was very Italian and up scale. The problem was that we were the only couple in the restaurant, all night. This made us uncomfortable, us two and then 5 people waiting/cooking. No atmosphere of course. We were goldfish in a bowl.
All the staff were ultra polite and smiling and very attentive and professional, perfectly so. They treat you like VIP's, which is nice, but being a down to earth guy, it makes you feel uncomfortable. eg. When we departed, a lady at front desk insisted on loading the taxi with my heavy case while I watched. No like, sorry.
In summary (and I know I have rambled on), this is truly an opulent experience. I think you have to be a certain type of person who is comfortable with being pampered to the extreme. If so, come here (assuming price is not of great concern). BTW. I read a few reviews complaining of the remoteness. Get over it. It is but 10 mins to the centre by free shuttle bus. A real haven from the bustle of the city. I have given this 5 stars, but kinda think it is really nearer 4, but cannot explain why, so 5 stars it is.
Tip: Try to get a front facing room (for the view).

Room Tip: Front facing room (for the view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I been in many hotels, but this is remarkable. Particular room and even it was raining for 2 days the atmosphere was still fantastic. The hotel is located just outside Florence, but it is the right choice. Free shuttle bus can bring you right in the city centre. An impressive park is surrounding the area. Sleeping is extremely quiet. Just the best cocktail for the best weekend. Very important was the attention of details which is essential for a hotel of this type.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The concept was brilliant - restored 15th century villa with modern amenities.
I would not, however, describe it as a luxury hotel.

All rooms were big, but really dark. The Melodia Suite that my mother stayed in was particularly so. The frescoes cannot be called beautiful.
Furnishings were sometimes strange, you have the feeling that they simply put random items there to fill up the space. Wardrobe space was inadequate.

The showers in both our rooms were ridiculous, requiring the user to either hold the shower-head with one hand, or crouch low. Did not try the bath as, for some obscure reason, it was located not in the bathroom but next to the bed.

Lunch and dinner at the restaurant was good . Breakfast buffet items tho, were not always fresh.

The service left much to be desired. Some staff were helpful but most were quite rude. Restaurant recommendations included some of the biggest tourist traps in the city.
Be prepared to have to convince the staff should you need any service/amenities sent to the room. Staff took a defensive stance when we complained about the slow service.

It was interesting to see Florence from atop a hill, and the gardens and building very pretty, especially at night.

All in all, you can tell that they are trying to place themselves in select category of hotels, but lack of attention to details have left them falling very short.The potential is there, idea is promising, but execution - terrible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Cora
#6 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#9 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#5 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#21 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#23 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#59 Family Hotel in Florence
#90 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. We also offer the Spa at il Salviatino with dedicated products from Dr. Vranjes, one of Florence's most exclusive perfume houses, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Splendia, Otel, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Salviatino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.