We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reclusive luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Salviatino

Save Saved
You added Il Salviatino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Il Salviatino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suite and Hot
Ranked #19 of 461 hotels in Florence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Reclusive luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a very difficult review to write. Largely because the very high price of the stay obliges me to be extremely critical, even fussy.
The approach to the Villa via Taxi is lovely. An automatic barrier beckons you through and then you enter a world of secluded luxury. The winding 's' bending uphill road up to the front of the hotel sees you being received by 3 people. They open your taxi door,smile and take your cases and you are booked in at a tiny front desk and very relaxed. Then you are offered to take an unhurried glass of Prosecco on a terrace with wonderful views of Florence. You can see the Dome. Then, when you are ready, you are shown to your room. The hotel is like a large square house with several "nooky" rooms and a wonderful library - with drinks. Our room was on floor 3. It was very nice, but no wow factor. Quirky luxuries like TV behind a huge mirror, remote controlled lighting, waterfall shower, which was oddly the other side of the room from the bathroom and WC. A huge painting on one wall was lovely. Yet the room seemed a little spartan, Plain yellow walls, wooden flooring (no carpeting or even a rug). Can a room be spartan, yet luxurious? An open mini bar displays stuff you dare not use. A Snickers bar at 5 euros and then upwards. TV - just 3 English channels, but then you are not there to sit in your room, right? The bed was large and comfortable. Nice big shuttered windows. Beware Mosquitos! Even at this early part of the year, I was eaten alive on the second night. by one single Mosquito, I think.The hotel has several lounge areas, place to just chill out. The gardens are lovely, 5 acres of land I think. We walked down to the pool via the gardens, which was interesting. Lots of tended shrubbery. I imagine Lord Lucan could easily has found his way to this place and remained undetected for ever.It was late April and weather not great. Pool freezing, but all Englishmen have to do it, whatever the weather and coz of that it was all mine and mine alone. The expletives used upon jumping in caused the spa / masseuse lady to come running out from the adjacent spa. I guessed she thought there was a drowning occurring. But she then realised it was some idiot using a freezing cold pool.
Breakfast is a veritable feast to suit all tastes. A silver platter of everything. The fresh fruit and fruit juice being the highlight.
We arrived late afternoon so had booked dinner at the hotel. Kind of a mistake. Not that the food was not good. It was fine and very expensive. A glass of good Italian red was 20 euros. That's when you learn how to sip wine, let me tell you. Food was very Italian and up scale. The problem was that we were the only couple in the restaurant, all night. This made us uncomfortable, us two and then 5 people waiting/cooking. No atmosphere of course. We were goldfish in a bowl.
All the staff were ultra polite and smiling and very attentive and professional, perfectly so. They treat you like VIP's, which is nice, but being a down to earth guy, it makes you feel uncomfortable. eg. When we departed, a lady at front desk insisted on loading the taxi with my heavy case while I watched. No like, sorry.
In summary (and I know I have rambled on), this is truly an opulent experience. I think you have to be a certain type of person who is comfortable with being pampered to the extreme. If so, come here (assuming price is not of great concern). BTW. I read a few reviews complaining of the remoteness. Get over it. It is but 10 mins to the centre by free shuttle bus. A real haven from the bustle of the city. I have given this 5 stars, but kinda think it is really nearer 4, but cannot explain why, so 5 stars it is.
Tip: Try to get a front facing room (for the view).

Room Tip: Front facing room (for the view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    56
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
63
320
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I been in many hotels, but this is remarkable. Particular room and even it was raining for 2 days the atmosphere was still fantastic. The hotel is located just outside Florence, but it is the right choice. Free shuttle bus can bring you right in the city centre. An impressive park is surrounding the area. Sleeping is extremely quiet. Just the best cocktail for the best weekend. Very important was the attention of details which is essential for a hotel of this type.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The concept was brilliant - restored 15th century villa with modern amenities.
I would not, however, describe it as a luxury hotel.

All rooms were big, but really dark. The Melodia Suite that my mother stayed in was particularly so. The frescoes cannot be called beautiful.
Furnishings were sometimes strange, you have the feeling that they simply put random items there to fill up the space. Wardrobe space was inadequate.

The showers in both our rooms were ridiculous, requiring the user to either hold the shower-head with one hand, or crouch low. Did not try the bath as, for some obscure reason, it was located not in the bathroom but next to the bed.

Lunch and dinner at the restaurant was good . Breakfast buffet items tho, were not always fresh.

The service left much to be desired. Some staff were helpful but most were quite rude. Restaurant recommendations included some of the biggest tourist traps in the city.
Be prepared to have to convince the staff should you need any service/amenities sent to the room. Staff took a defensive stance when we complained about the slow service.

It was interesting to see Florence from atop a hill, and the gardens and building very pretty, especially at night.

All in all, you can tell that they are trying to place themselves in select category of hotels, but lack of attention to details have left them falling very short.The potential is there, idea is promising, but execution - terrible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

As many others have noted, the check in process is seamless and stress free, and much more akin to arriving at a private residence than a hotel. We were invited to enjoy a glass of prosseco on the terrace whilst our bags were taken to our room. The terrace itself is quite simply stunning, and in keeping with the rest of the hotel, is exquisitely furnished, offering views of the pristine gardens below and of the Duomo and central Florence in the distance.

I will not elaborate too much on the setting, decor and overall ambience of the hotel, as I believe that much of this can be garnered from the photos. Suffice to say that it sits comfortably amongst the very best from across the world in our experience.

We stayed in the Affresco suite, which did not fall short of expectations. The room manages to integrate modern features and styling without compromising the overall grandeur afforded by the 1800s fresco and ancient bath. I can say with little hesitation that this is one of the most elegant hotel rooms we have ever stayed in.

Some detail on the room:
*The lights in the room are remote controlled - you are provided two controllers.
*The bed features a hard mattress, linen blend sheets, and comfortable pillows (- however bedside plugs for charging phones at night are missing - it might just be me, and this will not be the first or last 5-star hotel suite with this issue, but i actually find it quite frustrating)
*The sofa is much bigger than perhaps the photos suggest - more than enough space for two people to lie (rather than sit) on.
*There are complimentary snacks/drinks laid out on a tray with an ice bucket - HOWEVER - NO FRIDGE..... (This was one of my only major gripes - and something that desperately needs to be addressed) - a nespresso machine is also provided.
*The wardrobe is smart and provides ample room for two for a short trip. We stayed for 3 nights/4 days and like many men, suffer my other half's tendency to pack about 3 times what might be considered appropriate/normal. As expected, half of the clothes did not leave the suitcase, however, should you be staying for over a week, you may have an issue with the wardrobe space.
*The (open plan) bathroom is quite frankly excellent. The ancient bath is big enough for two. The shower features both rain and handheld (both can be used simultaneously). There is also a bidet.
*There are mirrors everywhere (with a TV showing international channels and free movies hidden in one of them).

As this was our first visit to Florence, we were keen to try as many restaurants in and around town as possible, and so did not book for either lunch or dinner at the hotel. This may well have been a mistake. Particularly given that breakfast was fantastic, with more or less everything available on request, and all homemade on-site.

We had driven to the hotel from Pisa, so had the option of driving into town. We tried this first and found that once you have deciphered the best route to one of the garages, it is straightforward and actually quite convenient. Parking at the hotel itself is ample and adjacent to the main building.
We also made use of the hotel's shuttle bus on another occasion. This too is fine if you are not too fussed about timings, or planning your day around the shuttle timetable. As this did not work for us, we only used it on one occasion as it was about to leave as we exited the hotel. The drop off point is at the base of the Duomo - thus very convenient.
We used taxis to and from dinner every night. A taxi ride into town takes about 10 minutes and costs anywhere between 15 and 25 euros depending on time, traffic, destination and whether the taxi has been booked or hailed down. We found taxis very easy to come by throughout our trip.

The service at the hotel is faultless. Everyone is smiling and eager to do whatever they can to better your stay. As far as we were concerned, they succeeded in achieving this.

Our return flight on Sunday was at 10.30pm (with checkout on the day at 12pm as in most hotels). The hotel was beyond accommodating with regards to checking out. Whilst they needed the Affresco room from 12pm, they provided another standard room for the rest of the day (i.e from 12pm to 8pm) completely free of charge. We woke up at 9am, packed our bags and left them in the room. The staff took care of the rest. After a full day out in town, we returned to our new room to shower and change before leaving and formally checking out. I cannot stress enough how much this was appreciated, and how different it was to our experiences at other hotels. It essentially turned a 3 day trip into a 4 day trip, and is a perfect example of the high level of service the hotel provides and the lengths to which they are willing to go.

Thanks again to all the staff both in the preparation of our trip, and whilst we were there. We will certainly be returning, if possible with friends and family, and will be recommending to all and sundry in the meantime.

Room Tip: Affresco suite is very impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have never stated at a hotel with such absolute impeccable service and atmoshpere. From the time you arrive to the time you leave, the staff can't do enough to make your stay memorable. The managing director also went out of his way twice to chat with my husband and I at length. The ambassadors were extremely professional and friendly. Our room was gorgeous and huge. Again, every aspect for our comfort was taken of by the staff. The view of the city of Florence was gorgeous , as was the hotel property. it sits on a hillside, a short complimentary shuttle ride to historic Florence. I will tell everyone I know about our amazing stay at Il Salviatino!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my wife. We have been in many special hotels in this world and so far the souvretta house in st. moritz and the oriental in bangkok have been our very favorites. I would put the salviatino at the same level for its charme , friendliness and the feeling they give you as if you were home. can only recommend it !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We actually stayed here in June 2012, it was a birthday present from my husband, a fabulous weekend in Florence and best tickets to see Bruce Springsteen - it doesn't get much better than that. The villa is truly superb, beautifully furnished and sublime service from the staff. Our room was large and well equipped, great shower and bathroom too. The grounds are vey well kept and the whole property is exceptionally well maintained. We took the shuttle bus into the centre of Florence to do the sights, no problems whatsoever as there is a shuttle schedule so you can plan your time well and get a lift back to the villa.

Dinner was magnificent, we had pimms on the terrace before eating and the food did not disappoint. Breakfast was equally good and we listened to The Boss doing his soundcheck whilst we were eating,how good was that!

Weather generally was good but the heavens opened during the concert, 3.5 hours of torrential rain but nothing stopped us rocking!

Fab weekend, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#13 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. We also offer the Spa at il Salviatino with dedicated products from Dr. Vranjes, one of Florence's most exclusive perfume houses, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Escapio, Splendia, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Salviatino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.