We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Il Salviatino to your Saves list
Il Salviatino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 419 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived in early November and were worried about being there so late due to weather. The weather and timing were perfect.
We have been to Florence several times and one of the problems was that there so many people in town. This time we stayed at theIl Salviatino which was a pleasure. A true Italian Palazzo, beautifully restored in good taste.
The rooms were large , well appointed with all the amenities . The view was spectacular and it was important for us to be a bit outside of Florence due to the crowds. The hotel had a shuttle service which only took 10 minutes to the center of the city ( Il Duomo).
Returning to the hotel through a private gate and splendid park made us feel special and very secure. The walk around the park, swimming pool and gardens was a joy.
The library was a peacefull place to rest with an impressive array of books and research material.

The bar and veranda had a magnificent view ofFlorence and a Bar tender who knew what he was doing. The restaurant had a special autumn festival menu and the cuisine was fresh and delicious. I believe they grow many of their fruits and vegetables on this extraordinary site.
There was a group in the hotel which had a spectacular buffet. The service was also of a high standard as the personnel were well trained and eager to please.

We can't wait to return to this special, Italian Palazzo. Peter

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors or one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is a wondeful place to discover Firenze and the area around. It is located on a hill at only fifteen minutes from the center of the town, a shuttle can bring you there. The building and the view on Firenze are tremendous. It is surrounded by a beautiful park. Everything is so calm and restful.

The staff is adorable, always smiling, helping you with everything you may need.

We spent the New Year's Eve dinner in the restaurant, it was delicious and very friendly.

Well, in a word, this hotel is a dream.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and quiet, the rooms with the view on Firenze are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I spent 3 nights in this dream of a hotel. Tastefully renovated, with hi tech conveniences and top quality funishings and fittings (the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in). I had a wonderful view of Florence from my huge room. The personnel are charming, attentive yet discreet. I really felt that I was in a very luxurious, private palazzo. There is a shuttle service into the centre of Florence and it's great, after a busy day in the city, to come back to this haven of comfort and peace and enjoy the excellent spa, bar and restaurant facilities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We love this hotel. It was beautiful. Rooms were very nice. Was also very clean. The staff was so attentive, it felt creepy however.

The only thing we did not like about the hotel is the price. If you go here, expect pay a lot of money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willardct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremblay-En-France, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at Il Salviatino from 1st to 4th November 2012. I was part of a group of friends who were all former hotel managers. We were all unanimously enchanted with the quality of the service, the food, the comfort and decor or amenities of the rooms and public outlets. I felt extremely welcome with a smile on the face of every single member of the staff I met. We also had a cocktail party organised for our group where they really surprised us and did a fantastic job. La Maison Il Salaviatino is definitely a place to recommend for its romanticism and wonderful atmosphere. A million thanks to everyone for letting us go through such an exceptional experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor to enjoy the spectacular view over the historical center of Florence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It is a kind of snobbish hotel, but their hospitality is really great. They care everything you want.
The breakfast they serve is really tasty, excellent! Especially the original rose jam, you must taste it!
The equipment of the room is so-so, the shower is not quite good one, but it is not really bad.
The only problem of this hotel has, is the distance from the city. It is a kind of inconvinient.
But if you would like to enjoy the real holiday, escape from the miscellaneous daily noise, it must be the one of the best hotel in Florence.

Room Tip: The room with bath tub is a few. You should request if you want. And the upper roome is really enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaztky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano P, Direttore generale at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting a review of your stay in February last year. We give a great value to your positive words and constructive comments.We are glad to inform you that since April 2012 we implemented a new system that keeps the pressure of the water always very strong. Regarding the position, we have one of the most spectacular view of the Duomo and the city. As driving in town is difficult and parking the car is expensive, we have a complimentary shuttle service and within 10/15 minutes you reach the center and leave your car here at the villa complimentary. All this should be lived as choice of vacation and not an inconvenience.Thanking you very much again for staying with us, we look very much forward to welcoming you back to il Salviatino.
With best regards

STEFANO PLOTEGHER
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

There is nothing about this property that leaves you asking for more. The staff, the food, the service, the rooms, the view - is the most amazing hotel experience I have ever had (and I travel 80% of the time). When you are looking for a holiday where someone is taking care of your need so you can relax (!), this is the property you want! Thank you, thank you, thank you Salviatino staff. You are absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LtnCOTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Cora
#6 of 419 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 571 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#18 of 419 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Torre Di Bellosguardo
#12 of 419 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#7 of 419 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#13 of 419 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#28 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#56 Family Hotel in Florence
#92 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. We also offer the Spa at il Salviatino with dedicated products from Dr. Vranjes, one of Florence's most exclusive perfume houses, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith and Venere so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing