We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem on the hillside !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Salviatino

Save Saved
You added Il Salviatino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Il Salviatino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suite and Hot
Ranked #20 of 461 hotels in Florence
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Gem on the hillside !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This trip was a surprise for my wife's birthday and she was blown away! So i was in the good books ;-) The surrounding area measures 4 hectares and it is all beautifully cared for, so before you even reach the hotel your thinking "wow this is nice" !
The Manager Stefano is a really nice guy, as are all the hotel staff, all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was super cosy with a big soft bed and stunning views overlooking Florence, i really couldn't stop gazing out of the window! The TV and music system is concealed inside the mirror which is smart and its great to be able to watch a movie in bed, the sound is perhaps not as clear as it could be as the external speakers were not hooked up, but this wasn't a problem as we just turned it up louder. The rainforest shower was class...never been so drenched in a shower before!
We had lunch and dinner at the hotel, in the restaurant you can watch the chefs in the kitchen through a large glass window. It was thanksgiving night and we really were served up a treat...and that is one meal our bellies wont be forgetting in a hurry...compliments to the chef.
A hotel shuttle bus runs back & forth to Florence city center from 9.30am - 20.30pm which is very handy and only takes 10-15 minutes.
My wife had a facial in the spa and loved it! The pool area was closed as it was November.
The library is very regal and a nice spot to sit and read, especially in the evening with the candles lit up.

This place was so nice we could have easily just chilled out at the hotel all day, but when in Florence you must explore the city...but knowing that you'll be returning to il Salviatino at the end of the day is a very comforting feeling.
So glad we chose to stay here.
Thank you il Salviatino ;-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    399
    59
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
66
327
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon and it was a highlight of our adventure around Italy. Everything about Il Salviatino is magical. The hotel, which was once a private estate, is simply stunning. Our suite was so comfortable we ended up just staying at the hotel without leaving on one our days there. The staff were incredibly helpful and far exceeded my expectations. They were all respectful and genuinely kind. A week prior to our visit we had purchased wine from a winery in the south and asked if they could help us ship it back to Australia for us (as we were nearly giving up all hope it would be able to happen.) They made call after call till it was done.

We dined at the restaurant four times, for dinner and lunch. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was impeccable.

We were happy to be out of Florence, but close enough to get there easily, which we did. The hotel's shuttle service was very handy.

I can't wait to come back some day and experience Il Salviatino in the spring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband booked us two nights here as a suprise for my 30th Birthday and all I can say is I wasn't let down. This is a beautiful listed building so there are original features every where but with a modern twist. The hotel is located a little drive from Florence centre, but for the views and the peace and quiet its more than worth it. There is enough gardens to explore, the library to enjoy and the spa and bar to use that we enjoyed a whole day relaxing in the hotel together, honestly, I could easily spend a week in the hotel if I could!
The bedroom was a delight, we had a dome view junior room which had wonderful views over Florence. The bed iteslf is huge, its larger than our king size at home, you can roll over in bed and still not find your partner! The bedding was all very comfortable and very clean. The linnen in the bathroom was the same and there were some lovely wollen dressing gowns too. The bathrooms came fully stocked with a hairdryer, the hairdryer wasn't powerful enough to dry my hair as quickly as I liked but it was a million times better than those naff ones you have screwed to walls in normal hotels. The toiletteries are all Olive Oil products and were very good. The bedroom had a TV built behind a dark mirror so when off, you wouldn't know there was a TV, the TV came with movies, music and internet.
We enjoyed an evening in the restaurant here, there were some American guests there at the time who had requested Thanks Giving dinner that evening, so the whole set meal was all themed for that event. We weren't let down at all! I enjoyed pretty much every dish we were presented. The wines are all hand selected by the restaurant, they were all very nice and easy to drink, I rarely drink red wine but I really enjoyed the one they had on the menu.
I was also lucky enough to enjoy a facial in the spa, if you do have the time, this is well worth a visit. They have a treatment room with two beds in so you can enjoy a treatment with your partner. The massage tables are all heated so you don't need to worry about getting cold if going in the winter.
Evening at the hotel must also be enjoyed, there were storm lanters all up the driveway to the hotel, around the gardens and also up the stairs and hallways around the hotel, it really made our stay feel even more romantic. They even lit the candle in our bedroom in the evening when they came to turn down the bed and close the shutters.
We found the staff very attentative yet still gave us the space to enjoy our selves. When we needed anything, they did all they could to help, even ironing my husbands shirt for dinner.

My summary, if you are looking for a romantic stay with your partner, this is the place to stay. We loved having a day exploring the city of florence and a day enjoying the hotel. Its worth spending the money for this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a good view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel and its charming staff made us feel as if we were transported back in time to an age of gentile living. Luxury travel at its best. Beautiful, unpretentious, with with uncompromised attention to detail. Il Salviatino has replaced The Ritz, Paris as our favorite hotel. Truly a home away from home with the best staff anywhere. We will return! Bob & Larysa

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were walk-in guests in the "Il Salviatino" just a few minutes before checking in we have seen the pictures at an online website,we were thrilled about them. The reception of the hotel was quiet small, it was a desk with one computer-they were really attending check in and! Check outs for all of the rooms. The reception staff was very friendly and they indeed were speaking a very good english! We took a double deluxe room but we were shown the suite "affresco" which was worth to see because of the beautiful fresco above the living /sleeping area. We stayed 2 nights and have enjoyed on both evenings the own restaurant which was overlooking the big garden, kitchen was good and again the staff very friendly. We wanted to enjoy the swimming pool area but it was not that nice as the rest of the hotel:it needs definetely a renovation. Nevertheless we had no regrets chosing this a bit pricey hotel...again... The pictures were made to seduce...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano P, Direttore at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Il Salviatino. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, the service, the restaurant, the staff and we appreciate your feedback about the pool. The Park, the pool and the villa were all renovated between 2006 and 2010 ; everything is protected by the authority of historical buildings, and anything we need to change, improve, add or cut, needs to be approved by the government. Our goal this year was to obtain the permission to renovate the white street, so we finally released the entire area once for good from the dust. The other good news is that we recently received the permission to upgrade the area of the pool, so we look very much forward to welcoming you back and have you enjoying il SAlviatino at its best.
Yours sincerely,
Stefano Plotegher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze, Toscana, Italy
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I attended a wedding at this fabulous location and it is utterly gorgeous for events while comfortable and quiet for accommodations. The grounds are breathtaking, the villa sits atop a hill that separates it from any humming coming from the road since it is conveniently located between Florence and Fiesole. Along with exquisite neighboring properties you feel like you're living in the renaissance!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mxvsic USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Situated on the border of Florence and Fiesole lies this 16th century palace with spectacular views over the city and the Duomo of Florence. Recently restored this small 44 room hotel has beautiful rooms and suites, delightful staff and splendid food, a charming spa and pool area and gorgeous gardens both formal and informal. The service is individual helpful and always with a smile.and provides a complimentary shuttle to the Duomo frequently and takes only 15 minutes. To sit on the terrace overlooking the terrace at any time of day is to die for. - a very romantic spot.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the city and spacious. Some rooms are quite small but still charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#14 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#27 Family Hotel in Florence
#51 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. We also offer the Spa at il Salviatino with dedicated products from Dr. Vranjes, one of Florence's most exclusive perfume houses, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Salviatino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.