We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence and elegance all in one location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Salviatino

Save Saved
You added Il Salviatino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Salviatino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suite and Hot
Ranked #19 of 461 hotels in Florence
Firenze, Toscana, Italy
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellence and elegance all in one location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I attended a wedding at this fabulous location and it is utterly gorgeous for events while comfortable and quiet for accommodations. The grounds are breathtaking, the villa sits atop a hill that separates it from any humming coming from the road since it is conveniently located between Florence and Fiesole. Along with exquisite neighboring properties you feel like you're living in the renaissance!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    56
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
64
320
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mxvsic USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Situated on the border of Florence and Fiesole lies this 16th century palace with spectacular views over the city and the Duomo of Florence. Recently restored this small 44 room hotel has beautiful rooms and suites, delightful staff and splendid food, a charming spa and pool area and gorgeous gardens both formal and informal. The service is individual helpful and always with a smile.and provides a complimentary shuttle to the Duomo frequently and takes only 15 minutes. To sit on the terrace overlooking the terrace at any time of day is to die for. - a very romantic spot.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the city and spacious. Some rooms are quite small but still charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is our second stay at Il Salviatino. I thought the first stay was the ultimate in service and quality...but this one goes further...
My wife and I just spent a long week end and frankly it's tough to leave this place. So much the staff is well trained and attentive to every wish you have.
The food is outstanding, the breakfast rich, fresh baked bread..the chef will suggest to you what's special for dinner: the result is just what you have been dreaming of, add to that a special italian wine from their cellar..
We had a suite on the 4th floor, with a large terrace over looking the city...very comfortable, super clean and a feeling of home with the special decor and accessories.
The Library is a special place where we used to sit and relax after a long day..
We are planning to return next year with a group of friends who heard us so much talk about it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Jean de Luz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have just returned from a marvelous three nights at the Salviatino.From the friendly welcome to the personaluized departure the entire sty was flawless.I was attending a meeting.The first night Welcome Cocktail party and the Buffet dinner were outstanding and the quality of food and service first class.The Suites and Rooms are well thought out and fit in with the atmosphere of the Palacio.The view from my suite 25 was extraordinary.However what really impressed me was the quality and genuine frindliness of the staff.I will return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay from the 26th October and were amazed by the reception we were met with when we arrived, Lino is the excellent "front of house" ambassador and immediately ushered us to the terrace and served us a glass of Prossecco while our bags were taken up to our room. The views from the terrace are stunning as is the hotel. Our room (21) was spacious and even had a spiral staircase leading up to a mezzanine gallery where there was additional seating. All the staff are attentive, friendly and charming- nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast every morning was a delight as the chef would send out "little treats" to the table for us to try - yummy. The restaurant staff were very attentive and always smiling. The whole hotel has a special ambience especially in the evening when they light all the candles around the gardens and staircase. There is a very reliable shuttle service to the town (approx 15 min trip) . Beautiful 5* villa, set amonst the Tuscan hills, we can definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. Roy & Karina Angelou

Room Tip: Corner suite (21) large room with enormous terrace leading from own private door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at Il Salviatino for two nights, booked by Andrew Harper. We were in Suite 25, which they said was one of their nicest suites. Lino greeted us as we arrived, and attended to every need! we actually appreciated their attentiveness, but they could back off just a bit and still provide excellent service.... We felt like we couldn't even walk in the back door without them asking us of we needed something! The meals were spectacular... I had some of the best veal I've ever had! The spa facilities were top drawer.... Incredible massage therapists!

The only downfalls to our stay was that our room was over the kitchen area, so we heard every timer, and smelled all of the wonderful food.... Even when we were trying to relax and stay in bed in the morning. and, the bed is a platform bed, which is too low to the ground for our preference, and very uncomfortable! Pillows were also not soft and plush. But, I'd stay there again!!!! So still give them high ranks, as it's pretty spectacular!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a surprise weekend away booked by my husband. The place literally took my breath away. We arrived late, but they whisked our bags away whilst they fixed us a welcome glass of prosecco at midnight. We walked out onto the terrace to enjoy our drink and the view of the duomo was simply beautiful. The grounds were spectacular. The staff was excellent - both friendly, charming and personable but also responsive (sit down by the pool with the paper after breakfast and after 30s someone arrives from nowhere with fresh tea and pool towels is but one example...). I'd recommend eating outside if you can to make the most of the view - we didnt eat in the restaurant but it seemed a lot more formal in comparison. It isn't in the centre of Florence - but this is in no way a drawback. It's a short cab ride (or free shuttle service) down to the centre and when you're inside you feel like you're miles away from everywhere. Beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#14 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#20 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#29 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. We also offer the Spa at il Salviatino with dedicated products from Dr. Vranjes, one of Florence's most exclusive perfume houses, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Salviatino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.