We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giglio d'Oro B & B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Il Giglio d'Oro B & B to your Saves list
Il Giglio d'Oro B & B
Via Antonio Pacinotti, 11, 50131 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€90 (EUR)
Ranked #9 of 564 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

No frills but ever so warm and inviting - Edo, Celia, and the cute Jennifer are the perfect hosts! Edo is a fountain of Florence-related knowledge and is eager to make your stay the best possible. The location was perfect. We walked everywhere or took the bus on occasion. Our party occupied 2 rooms, both spacious and clean. Even though it was the holidays, Edo made sure we arrived to a spotless home and we really could not have asked for anything more.

We left with a promise to return. It was a really great experience to stay with this wonderful family!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    29
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
87
372
34
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Edo, Celia and Jennifer (their daughter) are warm, accommodating and wonderful hosts. The location is great, only a 10 minute walk from the historical center. The house is warm and homey, with large bathrooms and cute bedrooms. Upon arriving, Edo gave us a more than thorough introduction to the neighborhood, the transport and food options, and circled key points of interest on the map for us. We shared wine and food, and sat out talking on the back patio (even in the cold). All in all, we would highly recommend for a couple, a family, friend, or a solo traveler.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Arriving at Il Gilgio d'Oro was just a combination of all my expectations: the beautiful house, the rooms, romantically arranged, just as you dream about Florence...near everything, but giving you a space to enjoy the privilege of being in that beautiful environment.
Edo was always making us feel his own family, preparing mediterranean dinners at the nice courtyard, just to make guests meet each other and share the conversation with wine and laughs.
The cafes near the house are great, also the market.
This is absolutely the place I will recommend to all my friends.
Thank you Edo, Celia and Jennifer!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Giglio d'Oro , had a fantastic time.
Great location, just a few minutes from the centre of Florence, Edo and his Wife are lovely people, very welcoming, very helpful,felt like i was at a family home.
Edo helped us find our way around Florence, was great.
The room was awesome, very spacious,clean ,quite, with the beautiful view of the backyard.
We even had dinner with Edo,Celia and litle Jennifer on the last night at one of their friends restaurant. (one of the highlights of my 2 weeks in Italy)
Amazing spot, strongly sugest to anyone visiting Florence.
Ciao

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lisa and I went to Florence for my 30th birthday and were greeted by Edo, Celia and baby Jennifer late due to a silly train strike in Rome. We arrived to a bottle of Prosecco and smiling faces. Edo gave us a tour of the surrounding area, as well as showing us where the locals eat. We stayed in the garden room out back and it was beautiful. Anything we needed Edo would have provided; it was absolutely over the top and outstanding. We wish we were there longer and would recommended in a heartbeat staying at this incredible bed and breakfast. The epitome of Florence hospitality!
We would go back there each and every time.

Room Tip: The garden room out back had a double bed and its own bathroom. It was very secluded, quiet and pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Edo is a perfect host. Warm Welcoming and Helpful. He guided us to a great restaurant on our first evening out. Booked our tours and helped us with our transport needs. We enjoyed our time there and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were very lucky to have stayed with edo, celia and Jennifer for our stay in florence. Unfortunately our luggage was stolen on the train to florence which meant my partner and I had nothing. First night in edo cheered us up with his warm welcome. He offered us clothing, food and anything that we needed throughout our time in florence. The location is in a nice neighbourhood connected to all the major sights via bus ( which stops outside the house) and all the restaurants close by were great. The rooms itself are spacious, clean and nicely decorated. We had the room Facing the courtyard and it was dead quiet throughout the night. This bandb was our home away from home and we even extended our stay 2 nights to do day trips to siena/Pisa (which are great). Cannot say thanks enough for the kind hospitality offered by edo and his family.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,281 reviews
Leone X Guest House
#16 of 564 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
B&B Al Ventaglio
#12 of 564 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 564 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#5 of 564 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
L'Olivo
#22 of 564 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giglio d'Oro B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio d'Oro B & B

Address: Via Antonio Pacinotti, 11, 50131 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 564 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A CHARMING GUESTHOUSE WITH GARDEN IN THE CENTRE OF FLORENCE, HAVE A LOOK AT THE PICTURES AND SEND US A E MAIL TO CHECK THE AVAILABILITY!!!!Edo and Celia are delighted to welcome you in their typical tuscan home recenlty renovated and is situated close to the historical center of florence. This brend new guest house typical italian style, offers its guests warm and elegant hospitality at very advantageous prices, just few steps away from the town center. The building has been completely renovated strictly following the rules of tuscan old craft's style and Its charme can be recognized in the red tuscan tiles, the pietra serena staircase, and the intimate walled garden. The bedrooms, furnished in delicate pastel colours, terracotta tilling, and the original doors, are all euqipped with en-suite bathrooms, Colour Tv, Wi-fi internet acces, and full bath & bedlinen's set. Edo and celia will be glad to inform guests about monuments, sites of interest and florence surroundings, as well as on the schedule of all events exhibitons, shows and concerts. "Giglio d'oro" as your own private home in florence, gives you the freedom of come and go 24 hours a day. Please inform us on your arrival time and will be glad to welcome you and leave you both the room and the front door key. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Giglio d`Oro Hotel Florence
Il Giglio d`Oro Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Giglio d'Oro B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.