We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giglio d'Oro B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Giglio d'Oro B & B
Save
You added Il Giglio d'Oro B & B to your Saves list
Via Antonio Pacinotti, 11, 50131 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€95 (EUR)
Ranked #7 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Edo is a great host. He helped orient us to Florence, and met all of our housing needs, even upgrading our room when their was a vacancy as we arrived. Very glad to be there and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    27
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
85
354
31
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Edo, Celia and their toddler Jennifer, make this Florence guest house a lively and enchanting place to stay. You are treated as though you are returning favored friends or relatives, always greeted with a sincere smile. Edo's advice was most helpful and quite valuable, whether it was where to buy a necessity, catch the right bus to the part of this beautiful city you wish to explore, or find a parking spot for our rental car, he knows the best answer to make your stay more pleasant and easy. My son and his wife, my wife and I spent 9 days at Il Giglio D'Oro and I wish I could have stayed twice as long. There may be other nice places with pretty rooms that one can stay at, but the family running this guest house separates it from all the others.

Room Tip: the rear rooms will be quieter, if that is an inportant factor for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and truly can't imagine a better place to stay in Florence, or possibly even the whole of Italy! Edo and Celia are wonderful hosts, along with the lovely Jennifer.
The room itself was huge (I think we had the superior room), with a lovely terrace. It was very quiet and with the shutters closed was completely dark making it so easy to sleep in. The shower was fantastic and there was loads of hanging space in the wardrobe. I loved the country-chic, homely decoration and the room was tidied every day to be immaculate.
But what really sets this place apart from everywhere else is the warmth and friendliness of the hosts. Always smiling, thoughtful and generous they showed us around the area, introduced us to the local pastry shop which was FANTASTIC, gave awesome recommendations on restaurants and how to get places by bus (which was very convenient and easy). From the free bottle of Chianti, offers of snacks, fruit, fresh juice, the family really make this place feel like home.
We loved it and would be back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I arrived at the guest house with my wife and were greeted warmly by Edo. He gave us clear instructions on how to get around Florence historical town and fabulous recommendations on where to eat (must try Da Nosone "big nose"). The room is spacious and clean. Definitely recommended for it's convenient location and great value!

Agent K

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My sister stayed here last year and she told me that I shouldnt think or pick any other place to stay than Il Giglio D'Oro for one of our honeymoon trips. She's right... Writing reviews for Edo, Celia, and lil Jennifer is easy...why? Because you really feel like you're at home staying there... They are the best B&B owner ever... They'll really make your trip much easier with restaurants and travelling tips. Follow Edo's recommendations and you'll be in good hands... He's really very helpful, warm, and friendly...
He even helped us smashed our jammed luggage lock open LOL...
Some harsh critics may say their rooms or location is average but for those who travels and only come back for a cozy and comfy place to sleep, il giglio d'oro is perfect...and trust me...it's actually good enough...
Conclusion, il giglio d'oro is your "home" in Florence :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I know when I'm reading reviews when trying to find a place to stay I scan for the amenities first. As I think you can't find any better B&B or Guest House than Il Giglio D'Oro I'll make it easy for you and cover those first but please continue reading about the hosts - they are just brilliant.

A beautiful, extremely comfortable Guest House in Florence.

About 2kms from the historical centre - very easy to get there (5 short bus stops on the bus or a 20 minute walk).

Excellent restaurants and shops surrounding the Guest House.

The bed was the most comfortable we had in our 6 week stay in Italy.

The bathroom was spacious, modern and exceptionally clean. The shower was excellent.

The free Wi-Fi works perfectly.

We stayed in what was called "The Red Room" and had our own private balcony that overlooked the back leafy courtyard.

Edo had tonnes of information on all different tours and walks you could do in Florence and booked them for us at no extra charge.

The little touches took this Guest House from great to excellent - a bottle of Chianti wine on arrival; large, fluffy white towels wrapped with a ribbon; strong, fast Wi-Fi, tea & coffee facilities in the room, digital TV, lots of natural light, air-conditioner; homely, gorgeous décor that made you feel you'd just walked into the home of an old friend plus a leafy back courtyard to rest your weary bones in and have a drink at the outdoor setting after a long day of sightseeing.

Now for the hosts - Edo & Celia and their baby daughter Jennifer. These people are among the coolest people we have met. Edo is exceptionally warm and vivacious - when we arrived he greeted us with such warmth and friendliness I felt like I already knew him. Like all previous guests, he took us on a short walk and described all the shops and restaurants surrounding us (and was very refreshingly honest in his opinions of the various places he pointed out).

Edo clearly has a passion for people and hospitality that is surpassed by no-one. Anything we needed, Edo would provide (within reason). He has a fantastic sense of humour which is infectious and we found ourselves seeking his company - which, fortunately, he was more than happy about!

He's not intrusive though - if you want your own space he will leave you to your privacy.

Celia, his wife, is very busy looking after their beautiful and spunky young daughter Jennifer (as is Edo too) and with her other job as a physio teacher, however she still made the time to have a chat with us and she too, has a wonderful sense of humour.

I can't really put into words how much we loved this place and the family who run it. It saddens me we live so far away that we can't just pop in to have a glass of wine or espresso with Edo & Celia.

I 100% recommend this place. It is a home away from home.

Room Tip: We stayed in "The Red Room" and it was exceptionally quiet with its own private balcony. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights with friends from Australia and it was wonderful. It isn't in the main part of Florence so there aren't so many tourists and it is more like a neighborhood. Edo, Celia and Jennifer were so much fun. Edo met our taxi before we even got out of the car. He went way beyond our expectations. He even walked us around the neighborhood and introduced us to restaurant owners. When we ate in those restaurants we were greeted like family. The guest house has a lovely patio in the back and after a day of site seeing we could sit and relax there. Whatever we needed whether it was an ATM or adapter plugs, he made sure we got it. When we left he asked for constructive criticism and was very anxious to do anything that would make someone's visit more pleasant. T&Q from Texas

Room Tip: There are only three rooms plus a honeymoon room in the back garden so all are find. All are a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Giglio d'Oro B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio d'Oro B & B

Address: Via Antonio Pacinotti, 11, 50131 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A CHARMING GUESTHOUSE WITH GARDEN IN THE CENTRE OF FLORENCE, HAVE A LOOK AT THE PICTURES AND SEND US A E MAIL TO CHECK THE AVAILABILITY!!!!Edo and Celia are delighted to welcome you in their typical tuscan home recenlty renovated and is situated close to the historical center of florence. This brend new guest house typical italian style, offers its guests warm and elegant hospitality at very advantageous prices, just few steps away from the town center. The building has been completely renovated strictly following the rules of tuscan old craft's style and Its charme can be recognized in the red tuscan tiles, the pietra serena staircase, and the intimate walled garden. The bedrooms, furnished in delicate pastel colours, terracotta tilling, and the original doors, are all euqipped with en-suite bathrooms, Colour Tv, Wi-fi internet acces, and full bath & bedlinen's set. Edo and celia will be glad to inform guests about monuments, sites of interest and florence surroundings, as well as on the schedule of all events exhibitons, shows and concerts. "Giglio d'oro" as your own private home in florence, gives you the freedom of come and go 24 hours a day. Please inform us on your arrival time and will be glad to welcome you and leave you both the room and the front door key. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Giglio d`Oro Hotel Florence
Il Giglio d`Oro Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Giglio d'Oro B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.