We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michelangelo Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Michelangelo Guesthouse to your Saves list
Michelangelo Guesthouse
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Ser Ventura Monachi 7, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santiago, Chile
1 review
“Good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

A lovely apartment in a fantastic location - within walking distance to all the attractions of Florence. Friendly and hepful host. Spacious and clean rooms. Breakfast served with elegance in the room but it does not include any fruit - no dining room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thankyou very much for your good review. Michelangelo Guesthouse is a special Bed and Breakfast placed in a paceful area of Florence's city center, only 15 minutes walking from the main attractions of the city such as Ponte Vecchio or Piazza della Signoria. Our service and the design of the rooms are thinked to satisfy and to surprise our guest. The breakfast served into the room is a service that grow up the value of the stay.
Concerning on the dinning room, we don't have it becouse we are a B&B but our staff is able to inform the best restaurants in the sourroundings: San Niccolò area is very well known by the locals for its nice and typical restaurants!
Waiting to welcome you again, we thank you.
Sincerely Yours
Antonio Tavera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    70
    20
    3
    8
See reviews for
45
132
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The biggest reason to stay at this property was Antonio, the concierge. He was a wealth of information about Florence- restaurants to eat at, places to see, history, etc. The room we stayed in was spacious, with a balcony overlooking a private garden. We ate breakfast on the balcony each morning; it was beautiful. The man who prepared and served breakfast, was also extremely accomodating and pleasant. The room was clean and comfortable and the location was a quiet one, a 10 minute walk to major sights. When pulling up to the guesthouse, we were a little surprised because there wasn't a sign or anything to distinguish the guesthouse - it was in a building that residents lived in. We came to really like that feature, though. It felt like we, too, were residents of Florence! We took a taxi (about 18 euros) from the train station. With luggage, it was too far to walk (about a 20 minute walk from train station). We would definitely recommend the Micheangelo guest house to anyone traveling to Florence.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very happy that you feel as a local douring your stay at Michelangelo Guesthouse. Tyour reviews makes us very proud becouse, to feel you from Florence is our aim and it is our best goal. Our staff is very well prepared and everyone works in our proprieties loves his work; only loveing your work you can give a perfect service.
The balcony with the view is for sure one of the best thing you have at Michelangelo and the possibility to enjoy breakfast sourrounded by nature and quiet is without value, unpayable.
Concerning on the elevator or the sign in the road, we would like to say that in Italy, everything that has more than 50 years is preserved from the state and it is no possible to add any signgs or to modifie the building.
We wait you again at Michelangelo Guesthouse.
Best Regards
Antonio Tavera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Guest House is in a very quite street and is located on the third floor (no lift). Free parking is available nearby. The manager is extremely friendly and helpful and provides lots of local knowledge to assist with your stay. The room we had was large, very clean and very nicely detailed. It's a 15 minute walk into Florence, but there's also a bus option. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thankyou very much for your kind review. Michelangelo is a peaceful place in one of the most typical zone of the city: San Niccolò that is considered a village inside Florence, the private city for the locals. Michelangelo ensure you a very good service with daily room service breakfast that is typical Italian. Michelangelo Guesthouse is for sure an unexpected great place to discover Florence in its best.
Looking foreward to welcome you again, we thank you.
Best Regards
Antonio Tavera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Love this little B&B; more of an apartment. Antonio our host knows so much about Firenze & happy to share. Safe quiet peaceful yet close quarters to city. Makes a better Italian experience than 5 Star hotel in that walk, eat and experience Florence making locals.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Direttore at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review; we really hope to guest you again as soon as possible.

Best Regards
Antonio Tavera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken SC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Michelangelo Guesthouse. We did have a little trouble finding it with our GPS, but it is in a nice location and we were able to park our car. The room was very clean and comfortable. The shower was large and there was enough hot water for the whole family. There are many flights of stairs to go up, so just keep that in mind. The staff assisted us with our luggage, so it really was not a problem. We were given very good information about Florence, and we were able to walk to the historic center. The manager is top notch and very friendly. Breakfast is great and the kids loved that it was delivered to our room. Not a lot of frills, but worth the money. I would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Direttore at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you again and again for spending your time to do a wonderful review trough Michelangelo Guesthouse.

Best Regards
Antonio Tavera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We arrived early from our previous hotel and were able to call and get in early. The B&B is located on the 3rd and 4th floors of an apartment building. While the room was being prepared, the wonderful manager took out a map of Florence and provided a background to Florentine history/culture, pointed out things not on tourist maps, suggested lunch and dinner options and told us a bit about the area where we were staying, filled with Florentine natives rather than tourists. We'd been to Florence several times before, but this was an education. It was a wonderful way to get understand a bit more about the city and its people.

The room, Salt and Pepper (to describe the terrazzo floor), was large and offered a stunning view of gardens at the back of the building and up the hill that leads, eventually, to San Miniato al Monte. The bathroom is huge and someone realized that travelers need space to layout their toiletries. This room even has a small walk in closet with shelves and hangers. Breakfast is served in the room and we ordered the day before and it was delivered on time.

NOTE: Do not leave unscreened windows open after dusk as mosquitos come in, we learned this the night before.

Everything is walkable. We walked down the Arno, crossed before the Ponte Vechhio, and went for lunch at THE sandwich shop, a short wait in line and you get a huge sandwich, I just said "vegetarian" and let the guy behind the counter make it for me. We luckily sat at a counter, but people were on the curb eating their sandwiches.

After breakfast the next day, we made the steep walk up to San Miniato al Monte which capped our stay and we were back on the road. We loved everything about this Guesthouse and would go back next time we are in Florence.

Room Tip: As for a room with the garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Direttore vendite at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

A BIG thank you for the wonderful words spend through our service! We can not add enything else to your kind review, you say everything!

Looking foreward to guest you as soon as possible, we wish you a good day!

Antonio Tavera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place was located in a great location. It was nice and quiet and in a very cute neighbourhood. They provided you breakfast in your room (sometimes the people serving it were a bit much first thing in the morning) but everyone was super friendly and always asking you if there was something they could do to make the stay better. Great place overall. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Direttore vendite at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really thenk you for the great review you did. Our goal is to feel you as at home, in one of the most typical area in Florence.

The rooms, very quiet, the staff, professional and frendly, the clean of the B&B and the free room service breakfast are only fiew important things that make the stay at Michelangelo Guesthouse unforgettable.

Thank you!
Antonio Tavera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michelangelo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Guesthouse

Address: Via Ser Ventura Monachi 7, 50125 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Michelangelo Guesthouse è situato nello storico quartiere di San Niccolò in una strada che conserva ancora il sapore tipico della Firenze medievale, centro culturale di grande spessore e punto d'incontro di letterati, pittori e giovani artisti. A soli 15 minuti da Pontevecchio la location è il punto di partenza ideale per scoprire i segreti di Firenze, perfetta per ogni tipo di viaggiatore poichè la vicinanza al centro fanno, del Michelangelo Guesthouse, una sistemazione che predilige la privacy e la tranquillità. Nei dintorni sorgono caratteristici caffè, ristoranti, locali notturni e botteghe artigiane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Michelangelo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelangelo Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.