We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Risotto Ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Galleria Il Vino dei Guelfi

La Galleria Il Vino dei Guelfi
Via de' Guicciardini, 48/r (entry to via de' Barbadori) | Into Galleria Guicciardini, 50125 Florence, Italy
+39 055 264 5988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #501 of 2,059 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Winery, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant, pizzeria, wine bar La Galleria Il Vino dei Guelfi it's a family run place, very close to Ponte Vecchio, with an original tuscan cousine. The Chef Mamma Rita, her husband Pino, their son Andrea, are waiting you for a nice experience in Florence.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Risotto Ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I went here with a friend who'd eaten here previously. A clean, honest restaurant that served the best risotto I've ever eaten, a special that included broccoli and bacala. The lamb was also delicious and my friends raved about the chocolate cake. On a quiet alley on the other side of the bridge.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    115
    34
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant for hungry tourists.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a few wonderful meals at this restaurant - every time we were around Pitti and Ponte Vecchio. Also dined there on New Year's Eve. The staff was always very friendly to us, the food was delicious and fresh - there is a quite a big choice of typical Tuscan dishes, and a separate pizza menu. Most importantly, the restaurant was open almost all the time, when we wanted to have a meal at 5 pm (which is a bit early for the locals, we were welcomed there - it is not very typical, as many restaurant are closed at that time and open only around 7 pm). All types of credit card are accepted there, including American Express. And the chestnut-raspberry pie at this establishment is to die for!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, ks
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Some good, some less than great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stopped in to La Galleria as we walked by and saw the trip advisor sticker in the window. The restaurant was empty at about 6pm, but we went in anyway. We were tired from visiting the Pitti Palace (almost directly across the street) and in need of some warmth and good home cooking. We got exactly what we needed at La Galleria. It is truly a family oriented restaurant. The owners check on you regularly, they recommend daily specials and help you choose a dish from a very nice menu. I started with tortellini in broth and it was just what I needed. The broth was delicate but savory and the pasta, well the pasta perfection. My wife's pizza was very nice. My pizza was not very good. It was supposed to have artichokes, olives, and parma ham and other vegetables. Went it came to the table, the crust was burned, there were two pieces of artichokes, two olives and one single slice of ham. I was disappointed, but honestly, the soup was good enough that it made up for the pizza.
The table next to us (they arrived later) ordered the T-bone with potatoes. I was JEALOUS. It was huge and smelled wonderful and you could see it was cooked to perfection. If I ever went back I would order the T-bone and skip the pizza.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“A nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We ate here on our first night in Florence. Our hotel suggested it and it was close to Ponte Vecchio so we decided to try it out. It is off the main road in a side street. Friendly staff. Appears to be a family running the establishment. Good selection of food, not just pasta dishes. House wine was delicious. For a starter we had asparagus, the least favorite of our items but it is ok. Second course we had seafood spaghetti and some large sheet pasta with cheese. The seafood spaghetti was some of the best we had while in Italy. For main course we had two meat dishes. Both were good. The Brussels spouts were extremely tasty. For desert we shared an apple pie. Overall a nice meal. Not our favorite in Florence but good value for the money and quality. The seafood spaghetti would be worth the trip again. Menus ate in English and staff spoke enough English to be an enjoyable night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We felt like we were company, the atmosphrere is great, the staff very accomodating, and the food and wine are great. I would recommend this restaurant. We dined here twice because it was close to our hotel and the staff is friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Galleria Il Vino dei Guelfi also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Impruneta, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Galleria Il Vino dei Guelfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Galleria Il Vino dei Guelfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.