We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop while spouse shops!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria All'Antico Mercato

Osteria All'Antico Mercato
Via Nazionale 78/r, 50123 Florence, Italy
055284182
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #376 of 1,973 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $30 - $47
Cuisines: Pizza, Steakhouse, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great stop while spouse shops!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stopped here for a cappuccino while our spouses were in the market. My friend ended up with a fantastic calzone. I had Carmel Creme that was good too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    183
    52
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Another great meal !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Went to this Osteria because yet again it was near our hotel near SMN train station (coming out of the train station to the area left of Piazza SMN) Started off with the freshest bruschetta and fried calamari. For our secondo had seafood pici (no scrimping here) and the risotto with porcini, asparagus and prosciutto, just fabulous!
Then headed for Cono Gelato on Via Faenza and had chocolate bacio gelato... what a way to cap off a meal!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Skip it. If you're a 'local', you might get served in a timely manner. Mostly surly staff serving mediocre food at high prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Reccomended by our hotel. Don't know why. Maybe we looked like we didn't care about food or service. Slow service, cramped and kids screaming. Another place that exists solely by virtue of its location. Avoid this head ache.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Dinner in Florence! We went there twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We totally stumbled upon this great restaurant in Florence. Sat outside and had a lovely dinner. Our meals were so great, that we went back again the next night! Good service, friendly staff and amazing food!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
“Terrible Steaks for a expensive Restaurant.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Me and my wife walked into this restaurant thinking it had great steaks as the front of the place had slabs of beef displayed and a tripadvisor certification sticker on the front door. To our dismay we had the worst steaks we had ever had in our lives.
The waiter didn't ask us how we wanted our steaks which was fine as we can't speak Italian and we didn't know if it was the way things were in Italy. However when the steaks came they were medium so we thought that's good. but when we bit in the the first bite we were surprised. The steaks were NOT seasoned with salt while cooking. The salt was only added after cooking. which meant the steaks didn't have ANY taste at all only the surface of the steaks had some salt. When we questioned the staff they asked us to add the salt on our own. That meant the same thing the steaks were just bland pieces of meat with salt on top. Worst steaks in my life. and they even boast to have Great Florentine Steaks! What a laugh if those are good steaks i think i can better spend my 21 euros at 10 other restaurants in Florence and get 10 times better steaks anywhere else. My 2 cents is Don't waste your time here. The Service was Terrible the food was Terrible and the price was definitely NOT Worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria All'Antico Mercato also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria All'Antico Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria All'Antico Mercato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.