We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for couples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BBH Bed and Bed House Firenze

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BBH Bed and Bed House Firenze
Save
You added BBH Bed and Bed House Firenze to your Saves list
Via del Porcellana 14, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€25 (EUR)
Ranked #14 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
São Paulo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We loved the stay. The room is clean, comfortable, the street was very silent to sleep. 5 minutes walking to the train station (sta novella) and 10 minutes to the Duomo. We arrived 10 p.m. and Silvia was very nice, showing us the main points, places to eat and the firenze pass. The good stay at the B&B helped the stay at Firenze be excellent. The only bad thing was the small space to take a shower (at the Green Room).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    50
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
98
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I booked this B&B based on the reviews it got. It was very easy arranging everything by email; however, you did need to arrange an appointment time for when to meet with her at the B&B. So, if you are delayed or are not on a specific schedule, this could be hard (of course, I didn't have a cell phone either). Note that despite being a B&B, there is no breakfast included.

The room itself was lovely, clean and modern. I was also very happy with them because in the end, she was very accommodating - I had to change my schedule fairly last minute as my friend was coming to visit me in Florence. She put me in a larger room for the same price! Location wise, this is more at the edge of what would be considered central location but it was an easy walk to all the sights.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Silvia has created a classy 4-room guesthouse in a convenient section of Florence. You can walk to all attractions, although it's not in the more pricey old city. My room and attached bath was spotlessly clean, and was decorated with taste - in an understated fashion. Silvia was there waiting for me when I arrived and when my computer didn't "read" the wireless internet connection properly (the fault of my computer, not her system), she stayed with me until we together got it arranged. She gave me a map and a wonderful tip for a day trip to Lucca, which I enjoyed thoroughly. The BBH is a good value place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and it was a pleasant thing that you always go back to a place that feel welcoming. The place has only 4 rooms, and they are divided according to colors each room is themed. Briiliant idea! The location is central and you practically in easy walking distance to everywhere. A short walk and you're already in the oltrarno where all the nice and less touristy trattorias are. Silvia has done a GREAT job and she is such a great host, a pleasant and warm person just to be with. Silvia, I hope I didn't surprise you too much with my italian.
All in all, I can't express good enough how great my stay was. Thanks Silvia!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I travelled for about 3 weeks throughout Italy, I must say that BBH Florence is one of the best places I've stayed in. The location is fantastic, as everyone has said, and the room itself is tastefully decorated. Very simple, very cosy. Florence is an amazing city, and I think staying at BBH made my holiday there that extra special.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We booked this B&B based on the Tripadvisor reviews - we were happy with it, but there were some small negatives that I'll mention for thoroughness sake.

When we arrived, we received a wonderful warm welcome and found ourselves on the 2nd floor of a older building. The B&B feels like one big apartment that been divided up, so one long hallway connects 4 rooms. Our room was Orange - one of the smaller ones, but for two people it was easy to maneuvre (we weren't spending that much time in it anyway).

The neatest perk is the decor - trendy, colourful and carefully arranged. I think that is what drew me to the BBH in the first place. Unfortunately, I found it dimly lit - dimmer than the photos would suggest. We had spotty (almost nil) internet connection, which isn't a big deal unless you are trying to check up on flights and trains. Lastly, though the BBH smelled lovely and was quite clean, our bathroom would emit mild sewage like smells - I couldn't tell where it was coming from, so I just closed the door to the bathroom and ignored it. I'm not sure if our room was an exception, or perhaps management has looked into it (it's been a year).

BBH is near the main train station. Convenient for us since we trained in from Rome and out towards Pisa. It is also reasonably close to the main sites. We walked everywhere - to Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi, the Duomo, the Accademia. It was nice to take in the sights and sounds while stuffing our faces with gelato! An extra bonus is Sostanza is a few steps away - a little family restaurant celebrated for it's artichoke pastry and bistecca!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

My wife and me had the pleasure of staying in BBH from 5-10 Apr 11. The property is located a short walk from Firenze SMN train station and is easy to locate. When we reached BBH, Maria was there to welcome us. Maria made us feell welcome and gave us all the information needed for us to make our stay in Florence a pleasant one. We requested for additional pillows and Maria happily obligned. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and we had good night sleep throughout. It's a pity though that we did not get to meet Silva. As we rushed for an early check-out, I did not leave a thank you note, hence I feel to sign their praises here. All in all, we enjoy our stay tremendously in BBH. I would defintely recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BBH Bed and Bed House Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BBH Bed and Bed House Firenze

Address: Via del Porcellana 14, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BBH offers rooms with private bathroomWe opened in 2005 and from the beginning we tried to make an alternative to the traditional Tuscan B & BThe furnishings are simple but colorful and young people with special attention to detail that can offer you comfort and relaxationWe do not have the adequate space to offer a good breakfast so we prefer to leave you free to choose from the excellent bakeries in the area then practicing room-only overnightEach room has a TV, CD player, incense, but also WI-FI and a private bathroomGuests have total privacy and independence in fact at the time of your arrival will receive the keys, together with the map of the city, in order to be totally free in the schedules. We are in the heart of the historic center on foot and only walk you can reach all the famous sites, Ponte Vecchio, Piazza Signoria, the markets of San Lorenzo, the Arno river and so on...From the Santa Maria Novella there you can easily reach in few minutes walk. Florence is considered a treasure of art and architecture through an unique cultural heritage. The downtown is considered a real air museum consisting in historic buildings, monuments, palaces, churches, museums that evoke the charm and memories of the past. For those who stay at B & B House will be easy to reach in a few minutes walk Piazza della Signoria, where you can admire the imposing Palazzo Vecchio and the Loggia dei Lanzi that holds wonderful masterpieces of classical sculpture. After few steps is Piazza del Duomo with the Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore, enhanced by Giotto's bell tower and the majestic dome of Brunelleschi. Your sightseeing tour in Florence cannot ignore to visit the other buildings of artistic value but above all fascinating and suggestive: Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo Strozzi, Palazzo Pitti, Boboli, Santa Croce. Museums: In Florence you can find a wide range of museums and exhibitions, but a special attention should be paid to the Uffizi Gallery, one of the most important and most famous museum in the world, which contains works of great artistic value and prestige. Inside the museum are in fact exhibiting paintings, sculptures and paintings of the most important artists of the Renaissance: Botticelli, Filippo Lippi, Paolo Uccello, Leonardo Da Vinci, Michelangelo, Raphael. The museums of Florence is further enhanced during the year, important collections and temporary exhibitions of national and international level. Shopping: Shoppers and not can find interesting walk along the streets of downtown Florence. The streets of the city offer a wide variety of shops and boutiques for all tastes and all budgets. In the center of Florence are the ways of fashion, between Via Tornabuoni and Via della Vigna Nuova, and the historic shops of goldsmiths and jewelers on the Ponte Vecchio and many markets with products of all kinds (leathers, clothes, shoes etc.) Florence is also outstanding for its shops and workshops where master craftsmen create typical products of an ancient tradition and long experience. Fun: Florence, city of art and architecture, is alive at night. There are many pubs where you can enjoy an aperitif, traditional restaurants as well as various night clubs and discos for those who want to go to sleep later. In addition, during the year, Florence hosts events dedicated especially to young people as the Festival of Creativity and “ Fabbrica Europa “ as well as concerts of the major national and international singers and bands. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BBH Bed and Bed House Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.