We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Grotta Guelfa

La Grotta Guelfa
via Pellicceria, 5R | Piazzetta di Parte Guelfa, Florence, Italy
055210042
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #354 of 1,970 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $13 - $53
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Pasta, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brandywine, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Delicious from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stumbled upon this restaurant when the one we were looking for was closed. Loved the food! Had a salad and their speciality spaghetti and ended with the best cheesecake I have ever had!! Liked it so much we went back for lunch/cheesecake 3 days later. :). Also would recommend the aperol spritzer.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    178
    42
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good people, nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Very kind treatment for our anniversary meal in Firenze. Service was kind, food was good and came out quickly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have eaten here several times and never disappointed. I first loved the buratta and tomato appetizer, had lasagna, wild boar and other delicious dishes. Don't go before 8PM when they move the carts from the nearby market into their storage places nearby!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Busy with locals mainly ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stopped for lunch with similar criteria to other TA reviewers
Apart from having to ask for the cheap set menu choices - it's separate from the main menu. So for 11.55 Euro I had Tuscan ham - at least 10 slices and sausage and potatoes Tuscan style. I needed another 2h walking in the afternoon
It certainly exceeded my expectations for a Florentine resturant close to the tourist sites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Florentine steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

After taking a cooking class that mentioned Florentine steak, I had to try it. After researching and seeing the great reviews on here, I decided to visit. Well it was one of the best meals I had in Italy. This restaurant has a great outdoor sitting, and attentive staff. I was there solo, and waiter even joked around a bit.
The steak was HUGE, and so freaking AMAZING! I like it medium rare, and that's how I heard Italy likes to serve it so I had no issues. My only regret is that I couldn't finish it because it was so big, but it was melt in your mouth, juicy, sooo GOOOOOOOD steak!
Wine was also tasty.
One of my best dining experiences in all of Italy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grotta Guelfa also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Grotta Guelfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grotta Guelfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.