We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value Lunch stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Grotta Guelfa

La Grotta Guelfa
via Pellicceria, 5R | Piazzetta di Parte Guelfa, Florence, Italy
055210042
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #358 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $13 - $53
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Pasta, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Northants
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Value Lunch stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stopped for lunch, really good food in the centre of town. good value and great for watching the locals. I would strongly recommend anyone to go.
Spaghetti Vongole and Ravoli Truffles were both good. Watching the dinners go out they all looked worth trying.
Slightly cramped tables but what do we expect in the city centre.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    178
    42
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allendale, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“favorite meal in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

we showed up without a reservation and they said they could seat us outside in 5 minutes. perfect. 10 minutes later the table wasn't ready and they handed us a (very large) glass of prosecco on the house - no complaints here!! we were probably sat about 20 minutes after we showed up, which was fine with us considering we had no reservations and the prosecco was delicious. we went simple with our order - shared the spicy spaghetti and the steak florentine for 2. both delicious and very reasonably priced. we also had a house carafe of red wine and topped it off with tiramisu that made my husbands eyes roll into the back of his head -- he is not a dessert person which says how good it was! I think our meal was 80Euro. loved everything about it. Fair warning - service from wait staff in Italy is no where near what it is in the U.S. - am guessing has to do with no expectation of a tip. Relax, you're presumably on vacation so who cares if you have to sit at your outdoor cobblestone table lingering???

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Me and my partner visited this restaurant whilst on holiday, we'd been walking a long time round the city and just randomly choose the restaurant. The steaks we had were incredibly and the service was fantastic, the owner of the restaurant came outside to our table to talk to us and was very friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Food in a homey atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were wandering around Florence and had three criteria for a place for lunch: Cool (it was a hot day), not overpriced, and not on a busy plaza. La Grotta Guelfa (there's another La Grotta something restaurant in Florence so make sure you're at the right one) met our criteria.

Being used to our Italo-American specialities, we asked for stuffed clams. There must have been a language problem, because they brought us, instead, a bowl of steamed clams (a striped variety) with a bit of garlic. They were great; best clams I've had in memory. For my entree, I saw they had pappardelle, but with a rabbit ragout. I don't eat bunny, so I asked them to make it with a mushroom sauce, which they did but added a hint of tomato sauce, which made it unexpected and even better.

Coffee and dessert were also top notch.

It wasn't very busy and the service was excellent -- very personable and very accomodating; we had a fun conversation with our waitress about the food, Florence, etc. And yes, she did flirt with one of the waiters as menttioned in another review, but what would you expect? It's Italy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Having looked around the streets for awhile we decided on this place to have our evening meal.

It was nice not to be badgered in by a member of staff outside like many in the main squares. Instead we wandered in and were greeted warmly.

After looking at the menu we decided on a set menu of tomato bruschetta with ham, chicken and veg, a glass of red wine and a bottle of water for 21.50.

The starter was huge! Massive bruschetta with lots of ham, very filling! The main course we asked to change the veg to roast potatoes. This was done with no fuss or extra charge.

The chicken was cooked nicely on the char grill, we got propper roast potatoes, a small rocket and cherry tomato salad and a aged balsamic jus.

The wine was very nice also.

Overall a great relaxed meal, priced well Would go back again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grotta Guelfa also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Grotta Guelfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grotta Guelfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.