We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save time and money and go at it on your own!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of FlorenceTown

FlorenceTown
Via de' Lamberti, 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
+39 055 281103
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$105*
and up
Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor...
Ranked #67 of 322 Activities in Florence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Save time and money and go at it on your own!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We booked 2 tours through FlorenceTown since we were only going to have a short amount of time in Florence. We thought it would be the best way to experience the highlights, "skip the lines" and get some of the history. I so regret this decision and pretty sure I will never book a tour again. The guide we had for the Vasari Corridor and Uffizi was good, she was efficient, kept the group moving, and had a great storytelling disposition. The tour was good, but you really are on an express train catching glimpses at a few of the greats. We would have much rather had the freedom to wander Uffizi on our own as we didn't get to see a few things we really wanted to see.
The second tour was the Inferno tour (I would give 1 star for this one if I could) the guide was a nice person, but she was hard to understand and she let the "old timers" really throw the tour to their interests. We were also on a time constraint, thinking that the tour would move along as scheduled based on the info on the website, but certain parties in the group would slow down and delay the entire tour for every single room we walked in with a million questions. It got to the point that we just left in the middle of the tour because we were so annoyed with the other tour goers and the fact that the guide wasn't more responsible in keeping the tour moving along. In terms of "skipping lines" this one was kind of false, you still had to wait in line and the only sight we got to see at the Duomo was the Bapistry. We just found the Inferno tour to be disappointing and such a waste of money. I wouldn't recommend this for younger folks as most of the people were older, had mobility issues, and were commandeering of the tour guides time and energy.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    113
    27
    19
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Florence....great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

I took this relatively expensive tour under Giulia Dragoni's expert guidance last week and was certainly impressed! She is a brilliant guide and knows the Medicis as well as her art inside out and she made the Uffizi Gallery so much fun! The walk through Vasari corridor was impressive and information packed and to know the interesting historical anecdotes was certainly enriching. Giulia knows so much and adds so much humor and excitement to the walk that you end up feeling it is indeed value for money. The walk is from Uffizi to Palazzo Pitti through the Vasari Corridor and all you Dan Brown lovers will love it! If you have 85 euros to spare in Florence, don't think about it just book this tour. (P.S. You can only visit Vasari corridor if you are part of an organized group tour. The Uffizi Gallery does not allow any individual visitors.)

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent tour of Uffizi and Vasari Corridor with Vanessa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

This may seem to be an expensive tour but it was worth every euro. Vanessa took us through the Uffizi, telling us the history of the building itself, as well as describing the background and history of the works in the Uffizi, starting in the Middle Ages and working through the Renaissance itself. Her enthusiasm, knowledge and humour brought the whole experience to life and made all of the detail memorable. The grand finale was the Vasari Corridor, a magical experience. The surprise views, the history and the self portraits were extraordinary. The tour ended at the Boboli Gardens. Camera essential, though no flash. Thank you Vanessa for an unforgettable experience!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersaurach, Germany
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Sadly got a poor guide for the Inferno Tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Very underimpressed with this tour. Difficult to find the office (even after asking several locals) and the guide talked about the Inferno sites only about 1/2 the time. Could have easily started at the Porto Romano and gone thru the Boboli Garden and over the bridge in the time he talked about other things than the book-related sites or the philosophy of the book (20 minutes standing in the Baptistry). Spent far too much time sitting or standing around. VERY disappointed. For 65 euro, it should have included the entire Florence route of the Inferno book (except, maybe, the interior of the Vasari Corridor). Never did see a copy of the Boticelli Inferno picture (shown on the website), except by chance the line-drawing in the book, although the tour says it's the focus. The guide could have at least brought along a copy to explain about it and how it starts off the book. Did appreciate the 24 hour pass to Il Duomo, as we came back in the afternoon to see the church and climb the tower. Never figured out what the "other fascinating locations" were that we were also supposed to be able to access for 24 hours as the ticket listed only the cathedral.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent overview of Florence and it's history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

We would highly recommend this walking tour company. the price was reasonable and the guide, I wish is could remember her name, was amazing. She took us in the church and gave us gelato which was NOT included. She talked herself horase! She went over all the historical people building gelds etc etc. t was worth the money and time.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FlorenceTown also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to FlorenceTown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FlorenceTown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.