We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in Oltrarno” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Bonsignori

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added B&B Bonsignori to your Saves list
B&B Bonsignori
Via Maggio 19, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 520 Florence B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in Oltrarno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Elizabetta was a wonderful host to my mother, sister and I in what I found to be by far the best value accomodation in Florence. There are two rooms that share a common eat in kitchen (where breakfast is served), adjacent to the hosts' self contained apartment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
68
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

B&B Bonsignori has only 2 rooms so you will need to be the early bird to catch the relaxing environment.
We stayed in the orange room. It was large and the view from the window was fun, as one could watch the passers-by, which is always fun. The suburb was well positioned and relatively quiet, and close to every place we needed to see.
The bathroom was great and everything was very clean and well maintained.
The breakfast was very good and varied . Good coffee and tea facilities , which could be accessed all day, which does not happen in hotels.
The owner was just lovely and very welcoming. Nothing was too difficult.
We had a wonderful stay of 5 days and I would be happy to recommend B&B Bonsignori as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The orange room seemed larger and more private, but the green room was also very adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingham, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

From the moment we arrived we received the best possible service. We had to drag our suitcases up the stairs but hey.. this is a 14th century building!
Bianca, Elisabetta's sister gave us the low down on the B&B operations and we were set.
My daughter and I were in the spacious Orange room overlook via Maggio, and it was great just looking out the window at the busy street. The location meant sightseeing was easy. Only 5 minutes from the Uffuzi, Ponte Vecchio etc. The room was clean and quite funkily furnished, beautiful old beams on the ceilings and frescos on the walls.
Fabulous breakfast spread including automatic coffee machine. We wished we were staying longer than 2 nights. If I can, I will return here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Bonsignori in September, loved seeing Santo Spirito from our windows (the orange room) and hearing the bells, and revisiting "old friend" fresco cycles all over Florence...all of which can be accomplished by foot from this B & B. The Bonsignores are very welcoming and helpful; they have created a smartly designed, charming, homey place to stay in the heart of Florence. It was lovely to hear snatches of small children's voices, going or coming from the owners' residence. One night we were too tired to go out to dinner, and so bought things from delis and the cheese and wine shops in the neighborhood, and ate dinner at the table in our large and historic room. It was Heaven. Breakfasts (featuring a fantastic coffee machine) are wonderful, and the taxi ride to the airport, at 5:00 am, only took 8 minutes! The price is amazing, and this is a relatively quiet neighborhood. Don't even think about a hotel on the Lungarno! There is no other place to stay in Florence as far as we are concerned.

Room Tip: This is on the third floor of an ancient palazzo. The risers of the stairs are fairly tall and this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were in the Green room. A small and cozy room but right next to the dining area. We liked it because we had an infant with us and kitchen next to us helped a lot in the middle of night. Breakfast was good. When we visited, Riccardo and Elizabetta were on a holiday apparently but Bianca (hope I got the name right), Ric's wife's sister had greeted us and took care of the initial formalities and then we never saw her but the breakfast was arranged by next morning. We checked out in the morning leaving the keys to the door. The place is close to many attractions and only a stones throw away from Piazza Pitti. We liked the place to stay for a night though not much of interaction with the host.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was our 2nd time staying and B&B Bonsignori. We stayed in the orange room, it is beautiful. We love the area, it has a real local feel to it with lots of good places to eat. It is also very close to all the sights. We will stay there again next time we are in Florence.

Bill and Jane. Canada

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Having read so many great reviews about the Bonsignori, I had very high hopes for our trip to Florence in August 2012. Now the location is great, that is undeniable which is the main reason why I have given it 3 stars. It is an easy 15-20 mins walk to all the main attractions and close to the pretty bridges of Florence. I didn't feel particularly safe in the area at night (the square close by was filled with a lot of dodgy looking people at night) however during the day it seemed fine.

The room itself (green) was fine enough although quite small however the bathroom was nice. The main issue was a) the room's proximity to the kitchen and the noise related to that-often breakfast was set up for the next day at 1am in the morning and woke us up twice and anyone having their breakfast early would disturb us b) the air conditioning was very weak and the room was very hot at night and c) the bed was very hard and uncomfortable.

There is nothing majorly wrong with this hotel that would spoil a 3 day trip but if going back to Florence I would probably look elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter and larger room, I would probably not recommend the green one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Bonsignori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Bonsignori

Address: Via Maggio 19, 50125 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 520 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your B&B Bonsignori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Bonsignori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.