We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria il Contadino

Trattoria il Contadino
Via Palazzuolo 69-71r, 50123 Florence, Italy
+39 055 238 2673
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 2,059 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $17
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My fiance and I went here based on all the great reviews. It was so wonderful! It was full when we arrived and saw a table leaving. They turned it in less than 30 seconds and we were sitting! We enjoyed being the only tourists there that night!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    277
    53
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not what tourists might expect in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We dined here on one of our last nights in Florence on a whim and had an excellent meal. It's a simple setup - no reservations (meant a 20 minute wait), 5 options for appetizer, main, side and wine for 13 euro each. We each had a wild boar pasta for starter, "wrapped beef" and another main, and salad/chick peas for side. Dessert was extra but was worth every penny. It's a family run establishment putting out good food, good service, and doing it right. Not to mention the house wine wasn't bad at all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Why would you go anywhere else in Florence?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I'e reviewed Trattoria il Contadino on previous visits, but I feel that they deserve an updated review. On this visit I've had two weeks in Florence accompanied by my 18yo daughter. We came here several times during our stay. We did feel that we had to try other restaurants, but as my daughter said after every one of these meals "I can't wait to go back to OUR place" (meaning Contadino).
The fare is simple, on a limited blackboard menu but I have never had a bad dish. Each course is well sized so you can enjoy two courses (and even a Dolce) and the house wine is most acceptable (even at a much higher price it would stand up to a number of the house wines at other places).
The family who run it are so passionate about what they do: they tell me that Papa has been here since 1974, doing the same thing. Don't think that E13.50 fixed price menu will mean average food: this is excellent (albeit simple local recipes). The roast rabbit is particularly good, and the pastas are all great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yummy food in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Went here tonight for dinner. They had a set menu cost where you picked a entree and main from a range of choices. I got spicy tomato pasta and beef for main and wifey got soup and rabbit for main. We opted for a desert each as well and the total came to 35euro.

Was freaking delicious! Go here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Local Ristorante”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

When I came to Florence in 1994 I ate here with my soon to be husband who I had also met in Florence. We had a wonderful reunion with Walter, the owner, and enjoyed the fixed menu which included swordfish and gnocchi. We ended the meal with cantucci and vin santo. My husband who used to live in the neighborhood was happy to see Walter's children, now grown, taking over the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria il Contadino also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria il Contadino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria il Contadino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.