We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alekin Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alekin Hostel to your Saves list
Alekin Hostel
Via Porta Rossa 6, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 220 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Strasbourg, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This place is in the heart of Florence and you can reach whatever you need in minutes. Our room was big and clean. The only thing that I didn't like was bed linen. It looked like a joke as I had to use only one bed cover at the same time as a blanket cover.. But doesn't matter! Conditions in general were comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
1
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My friends and i walked past the door twice before finding it, (we had actually inspected it on one of thes times but couldnt see a sign so walked past) after finding the place the member of staff literally took our money, made us sign some form in italian and ran off. This was the last we saw of the staff during our 3 days in florence.
The room we had was comfy in terms of beds but my friends reported bites and it was still boiling in that room even with a fan.It was also very noisy on the main street, however if you choose to close the window then you stop any chance of you not sweating buckets in the middle of the night.
The bathroom was small cramped and i think there was only once that i didnt have to queue, they really need a seperate bath and shower room as the last thing you want when you want to go is for there to be a queue of people waiting to shower.
finally the communal area was appaling, a small rickety table with 2 even more rickety chairs and a beaten up fridge which had a exploded bottle of beer in the freezer no-one had chosen to remove, the lack of knives and forks and even a microwave or toaster, it is more of a bed sit than anything else, its cheap but ive been to venice and stayed in cheaper digs with a fully stocked kitchen so theres no excuse.
The one good point is its location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Kingscliff, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The room looked like a mental institution and the whole hostel was small and creepy. 1 toilet and shower to share between everybody staying there and the door is impossible to find. We couldnt find it and when we finally did the owner was getting so angry at us and said he was watching us on his cameras which we found a little strange . They´ll charge your credit card if you break his rules, wouldnt stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hostel was fantastic for anyone visiting the popular attractions of Florence, although it is slightly difficult to find because the numbers of the addresses are not in order. The room itself was very clean and we had no problems checking in. Our major problem was with the one bathroom. It rarely had toilet paper and usually looked and smelled like it hadn't been cleaned in days, which was disgusting with around 15 people staying there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was having some personal problems with someone on my trip and the owner was AN ANGEL. He was so nice and accommodating. I know that people posted that sign with the "my rules". But really this is just bad English. They don't have any weird rules. The 11pm rule is great for people who actually WANT TO SLEEP! It's like having your own place behind a 500 pound wooden door.

Room Tip: Get the private room. It's just a few euros more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in January 2013.

To start the hostel isn't easy to find, I paced up and down the street to find it, then found the number easily, looking for a buzzer was impossible, or just anything to let me in the locked door. Initially I thought it must not exist. I had to actually email the owner who came over straight away. On entering the building it smells of gas, or bins? I booked a room for one and was given a private set up in a room for two good for me. The hostel is literally just a place to sleep.

The down side to my stay is I could constantly hear closing doors and the front door being opened and slammed, Room 1 is next to the front door. I didn't have a terrible experience, but I have had better stays in other hostels. As someone travelling on my own it's nice to have an area to sit on the computer or even eat, and interact with other travellers at the end of the day, if you are expecting such a thing, look onwards. There are rather intimidating signs everywhere that say don't be loud, close your door, don't move anything. Oh and the wifi password was outrageously/ comically long. On a positive the rooms are clean and maintained well, the bin wasn't emptied but I felt comforted that nobody had entered my room

At the end of the day, the location makes this place, the historical centre is literally on your doorstep and within walking distance! Can't go wrong in this aspect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here with a friend for 2 nights. The location is great, even though it was a bit hard to find at first (follow the blue numbers). We got a room for 5(!) people, even though there was only two of us. The room may be simple, but we didn't go to Florence to stay in the hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alekin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alekin Hostel

Address: Via Porta Rossa 6, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 220 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Alekin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alekin Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.