We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Repubblica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Repubblica to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast Repubblica
Piazza della Repubblica, 2, Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 522 Florence B&B and Inns
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This B&B is in an excellent location, and a really nice place to stay. It's right on Piazza della Repubblica, which is only 2 blocks from Il Duomo. The piazza has various entertainers passing through it each day/night so you don't have far to go if you want to get a nice local feel. We stayed in the room with the balcony (I think #2) and it faces the street next to the piazza. This was perfect because we could go out on the balcony and listen to the music, or just shut the doors and it was pretty quiet. The room was spacious enough, and the bed was comfortable. The room was clean and the complimentary breakfast contained a nice assortment of pastries, cheeses, juice, cereal, and coffee.

Last, but not least, Chiara was an AWESOME host and I can't say enough how helpful she was about anything that we needed. She gave a great recommendation for local food away from the tourists. She was polite, friendly, and accomodating. You rock, Chiara!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    37
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
61
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Spent a week in Florence at this hotel, located adjacent to Piazza della Repubblica. Could not have asked for a better location since we could walk to everything. We had room 3, which has a balcony overlooking the street which allowed for easy people watching in the early mornings and evenings. It can be noisy, but the shutter system on the windows allows you to shut out the noise for a restful sleep. The bathrooms are very small (the tiny shower would not accommodate an extremely large person). Chiara (the manager) made great recommendations for restaurants and also made reservations when we needed them. The breakfast included juice, croissants/rolls, fruit, meat and cheese along with cereal and yogurt. It is located on the second floor of a building housing another hotel and other businesses. It was very clean, the beds were comfortable and we had a small refrigerator in the room. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great location and very central to all sites, shops and restaurants. Room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The size of the room was tiny and at times claustrophobic. Same goes for the bathroom but it's only for a few days and apart from sleeping and washing you do not need to spend much time in your room.
The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was a little disappointing but this is Europe and breakfast isn't their thing.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and every single minute was completely enjoyable. Walking in the huge wooden doors off the square in to the stairwell is like stepping into a scene from a thousand different films, giving a feeling of entering your very own Palazzo. Then when you get up the stairs to the b&b you're greeted by the cheerful smiling face of Chiara who could not have been more pleasant or more helpful. Throughout our stay she gave us advice on where to eat, what to see and helped us see things that you wouldn't get from a guide book or even just spending a few minutes chatting about different things we'd seen during our day. The rooms were very stylish and the (very) large artwork on the walls give the room a very cultural feel in fitting with Florence. We were lucky enough to have room 2, although I'm sure they're all as impressive. The beds were very comfortable, so much so that we never noticed our double bed was 2 singles put together. Loved the warm rolls at breakfast and the coffee was as good as you'd expect in Italy.
The location could not be better, a few minutes walk in any direction took you to one of any number of attractions from the well known ones to the smaller ones which Chiara had suggested.
A first class establishment, we will go back and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just completed a 5 night stay here and on a scale of 1-10 would rate it at 7.

Location:
The location is perfect, convenient 5 minute walk to major landmarks in each direction. I personally couldn't have asked for a better location.

Rooms:
The rooms are clean, however a bit dated--especially the bathrooms. Bathroom was TINY, definitely only fitting 1 person at a time and the shower stall is very small and narrow as well. Bathroom had visible mold along the tiny shower as well as a dirty air filter that desperately needed changing.

Noise:
Depending on where your room is located and what nights you stay, you may have difficulty sleeping. From our room we could hear the nightgoers at the club along the Piazza and on a Saturday at 4am could hear the drunken stragglers, however, this was with the window open for fresh air. Once the two layers of windows were closed everything was nice and quiet.

Breakfast:
Breakfast was simple: croissants, a fruit tart, some yogurt, some fruit (apples mostly) with tea/coffee machine. The only thing that was slightly off putting were the fruit flies that would hang around the breakfast area (and subsequently get stuck to the uncovered fruit tart...)

Staff:
After reading all the glowing reviews of the owners, I was slightly disappointed by the way we were greeted not only on the first day but on a daily basis. I didn't find Rocco or the other gentleman, Daniel (?) to be friendly at all. They were just there, and if we asked questions they answered but they never went out of their way to speak to us, check on us and were not overly accomodating in any manner. After going back to the older reviews I realize that this B&B did change ownership and I regret not being able to experience it with the previous owner.

Of the cleaning staff we encountered a lovely young woman named Anka who was pleasant and accomodating. She and the other woman Stefania would start to clean rooms early (around 8-9am) which made us feel rushed to leave the room so they could clean. On our second day there, I told Stefania that we were not ready for our rooms to be cleaned and she became visibly frustrated and said she would only give us 5 more minutes to leave otherwise she would not clean it. I asked her to just give us new towels and forego the cleaning which upset her as well.

Despite the few hiccups mentioned above, ultimately I would recommend this B&B solely based on the fact that it was clean, quiet, and within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

we came to Florence with a rental car by night ( 23:00pm ) and were lost since our gps was not working , we stopped close to the hotel and called them , Kara came in few minutes right to our car with a pleasant welcome and took care of things ( like sending our car to the parking ) and taking us to the hotel from the street , also got an upgrade to our room the day after and some good recommandations to where to go out , thanks to Kara from the hotel florence wad much more friendly .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Hotel is very centrally located and it is easy to get to all interesting places. The street is busy and sometimes a little noisy (people, not cars) but it does not disturb you that much - you just feel yourself a part of a big tourist crowd:)
We stayed in a room for 4 people. It was good, clean and nicely decorated.
Breakfast is basic but it has everything one may need including some fruits.
Staff is really nice, friendly and helpful.
There is a wi-fi available in the rooms. Connection is very good.
We all liked the hotel and will definitely stay there again. Strongly recommended to everyone who wants wants something nice, centrally located and not very expensive

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Repubblica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Repubblica

Address: Piazza della Repubblica, 2, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Repubblica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Repubblica
Bed And Breakfast Repubblica Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Repubblica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.