We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre, overpriced and Family-unfriendly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante il Paiolo

Ristorante il Paiolo
Via del Corso, 42 r, 50122 Florence, Italy
+39055215019
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #865 of 1,966 restaurants in Florence
Price range: $53 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Florentine restaurant in Florence since 1980.Tuscan Chef.traditional cuisine (great Fiorentina steak) but even lots of seasonal recepies with fresh fish and meat. vegetarian and gluten free menù is also available.very interesting proposals in the wine card :local producers and even organic wines to experience for a real "touch" about our land.good atmosphere and courtesy add something special to the food.Ristorante familiare con staff. Cucina fiorentina e creativa.Nel menù si avvicendano gli ingredienti stagionali,privilegiando i prodotti a "km0" e le piccole produzioni artigianali. Ottima la carne (compresa la famosa "fiorentina" a cuore nel filetto come da tradizione),il pescato fresco giornaliero e le verdure sempre fresche. Tutto cucinato con le erbe aromatiche e l'olo extravergine toscano.Tanti i vini in carta con particolare attenzione a piccole realtà territoriali.l'accoglienza è cortese e cordiale .
Doha, Qatar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre, overpriced and Family-unfriendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Asked for a table for family with children and they said OK. Despite the availability of other tables, they gave us the worst table in the restaurant, behind the kitchen. Even though we were in this terrible area, a few minutes later we've got a complaint about the noise the children were making.

Food is mediocre, to say the least, and overpriced.

Bill came with total price only, no details. I'm almost sure that I was overcharged, but I was so furious that I just paid and left to avoid further confusion.

Worst restaurant in my trip to Firenze, would not recommend (especially if you have children) and will not come back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museoaccademia, Proprietario at Ristorante il Paiolo, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
i really want to answer to you because you mentioned that you were here with some childrens.
i am very disappointed when the parents think that we are like a nursery and they live the childrens go around the restaurant while they eat and talk and relax.and if you got a complaint about the noise of the babies maybe you are the people i'm talking about.
for a baby are dangerous the stairs that we have and all the bottles he can touch and even the food we carry is sometime very hot and liquid!
and you have to think that every people is sitting wants to have a nice atmosphere we have to keep care of everyone of our guest
childrens are always very pretty (i also have childrens) but sometimes their parents forget that are just childrens,and they must be cared for.........sorry for my uncertain english language,my best regards
(the ugly place behind the kitchen was not behind the kitchen: was in front of my italian chef and his staff )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    82
    50
    15
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We went twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

the food is delicious, the service makes you feel like you are the only people in the restaurant. Location is ideal. We normally would never go to the same restaurant twice but did so because the 'feature' dishes change depending on what is available. And very reasonably priced!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Saltey food and expansive food don't go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have a lunch today 27/6 with my family we order 2 spaghetti poloniz one pasta with mashroom
2 green salad one kids meal 4 cock they charge us 123 eu . The food so salty all of us notice that and the lady answer us thes is normal in the city and she not even say sory or any thing . Thay give me the bel with total only Thayer is no details jost the total 123 eu and ask me to pay. I well never back again .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tuscan food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great setting, Food was just Ok though. One of those meals that you wish you had followed your instincts and gone somewhere else even though lots of people were there ... tourists mostly

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Florence at it's best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Don't miss this place when you're in Florence. While close to the "touristy" Duomo area Il Paiolo is a somewhat hidden gem. While "Mama" greets the guests, the owner will proudly explain the daily specials. Want something specially prepared? No problem. Just ask. We absolutely love this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante il Paiolo also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Barberino Di Mugello, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante il Paiolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante il Paiolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.