We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Definitely Do It Again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of In Tavola

In Tavola
Via dei Velluti 18/20 r, 50125 Florence, Italy
39 055 217672
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 322 Activities in Florence
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Coventry, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Would Definitely Do It Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I booked a cooking class with In Tavola a few months before our trip at the beginning of this April. We had read the reviews that some were unhappy that it wasn't a private class, or that they gave one bottle of wine when you sit down to eat. We booked it anyway and I'm so glad we did!

First of all, yes, you cook in groups, a group of 4. We were very lucky and had a wonderful couple to chat with all night. Our instructor Francisco was a total delight, so full of energy! He made sure that everyone in the group was involved and the jobs were evenly divided.

We laughed the whole night, and the food was fantastic! We prepared 4 courses, our appetizer was grilled eggplant caprese cups (layered grilled eggplant with fresh mozzarella & basil), our primi pati was fettuccini cut pasta with a fresh Mediterranean sauce, the main was stuffed chicken breast with a red pepper, olive and cheese filling, and the dessert was an AMAZING cinnamon vanilla custard dish. Everything was to die for. At dinner we asked to buy a second bottle of wine (because we all wanted a second glass), and they were happy to bring us another free of charge.

The atmosphere was fun, the food was fantastic, I learned a few things & got a copy of the recipes, and had a GREAT night. We were there from roughly 6:00 - 10:00 and then had a lovely night walk back to the hotel. It was by far one of the best nights on our trip. This class is fun for cooks of all levels, even if you're the type to burn toast you will still have a great experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    21
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun experience and delicious food~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was by far one of our favorite nights in Italy. We registered for this class about two months in advance, thinking it would be a fun thing to do on our honeymoon and we are so happy we did. We both like to cook, my husband especially. Our meal was 4 courses. 1st: layered salad of grilled zucchini, fresh tomatos, mozzarella, oil and basil all stacked in a foil cup, lined with bread crumbs, and baked. 2nd: fresh pasta (we had extra dough so we made fettichini and angel hair and angel hair was our favorite because the delicate noodles didn't mask the sauce) with fresh tomato white wine sauce. 3rd: chicked breast stuffed with roasted red peppers. 4th: Italian cream custard.
My husband and I were in the back kitchen with a family of 4 from New York. They were so much fun. One of the girls is studying in Rome and the other girl is studying Italian in High School, although neither knew much Italian ;). Our instructor Alessandro was adorable! He really brought us together as a group and taught in a fun, but informative way.
We enjoyed our meal down in the wine cellar. We were so excited to eat and enjoyed it so much, we didn't realize we were still wearing our plastic aprons until the 3rd course. Honestly, this was one of our best meals in Italy (we went to Venice, Florence, Cinque Terre, Rome). I highly recommend this cooking school. It was a great value and very memberable time!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great value and great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The cooking school was well priced for the tuition and food you receive. The chefs were personable and friendly and had a good knowledge of the cooking processes. However, I would have liked to learn more about the regional food of Tuscany and the recipe choices. The class size and ratio of chefs to participants was good and the food was delicious. Would I recommend? Yes! It was a good night, a great opportunity to meet new people and lots of fun.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Italiano vero”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We planned this class as a family quality time, something fun for all of us, including our 17-year old son. And it worked! We took the 3-course "Easy dinner" class that included GNUDI di ricotta e spinaci, baked vegeterian CANNELONI and BISCOTTI di prato. There were seven of us between the two stations and Alessandro, our chef/instructor, an unforgettable character, was busy running between these stations giving instructions. A bit disorganized, it was still very enjoyable. After we were done cooking, we went downstairs to the wine cellar where tables were set for us and ate what we made enjoying a stimulating conversation with other participants. In accordance with Tuscan tradition, we ate our biscotti after the meal soaking them in a fortified wine called vin santo. Nice touch!
If you are looking for a professional, dry, academic learning cookery class - this may not be it. To us, though, it was ajust what we needed: an off-beaten track, fun activity that included great food we made ourselves (well, kind of) paired with a nice wine after a busy day filled with a "serious" Florentine art and culture exploring.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
194 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Best thing I did in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I loved this class! I took the 4 course dinner which consists of farmers chicken, Tiramisu, crepes with bechamel sauce and spelt salad with mirror cannellini beans. Upon arrival all the stations were set up and ready to go. The kitchen is very clean and everything runs very smooth and effeciently. All the chefs are fun and entertaining. The food is extremely delicious, better than a restraunt. Every one got hands on while preparing dinner. Chef Allsandro is fantastic, helpful, fun & entertaining. He cleans up after you, always keeping up with the dishes, supplying new supplies and always having a fun positive attitude. When you are finished cooking you go down to the wine cellar and the chefs serve you your dinner that you made with complmentary wine. When I go back I am going to take the pasta course. This is perfect because class starts after all the museums and everything closes and you get an excellent dinner too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In Tavola also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to In Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage In Tavola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.