We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italiano vero” 4 of 5 stars
Review of In Tavola

In Tavola
Via dei Velluti 18/20 r, 50125 Florence, Italy
39 055 217672
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 322 Activities in Florence
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Italiano vero”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We planned this class as a family quality time, something fun for all of us, including our 17-year old son. And it worked! We took the 3-course "Easy dinner" class that included GNUDI di ricotta e spinaci, baked vegeterian CANNELONI and BISCOTTI di prato. There were seven of us between the two stations and Alessandro, our chef/instructor, an unforgettable character, was busy running between these stations giving instructions. A bit disorganized, it was still very enjoyable. After we were done cooking, we went downstairs to the wine cellar where tables were set for us and ate what we made enjoying a stimulating conversation with other participants. In accordance with Tuscan tradition, we ate our biscotti after the meal soaking them in a fortified wine called vin santo. Nice touch!
If you are looking for a professional, dry, academic learning cookery class - this may not be it. To us, though, it was ajust what we needed: an off-beaten track, fun activity that included great food we made ourselves (well, kind of) paired with a nice wine after a busy day filled with a "serious" Florentine art and culture exploring.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    21
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
194 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Best thing I did in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I loved this class! I took the 4 course dinner which consists of farmers chicken, Tiramisu, crepes with bechamel sauce and spelt salad with mirror cannellini beans. Upon arrival all the stations were set up and ready to go. The kitchen is very clean and everything runs very smooth and effeciently. All the chefs are fun and entertaining. The food is extremely delicious, better than a restraunt. Every one got hands on while preparing dinner. Chef Allsandro is fantastic, helpful, fun & entertaining. He cleans up after you, always keeping up with the dishes, supplying new supplies and always having a fun positive attitude. When you are finished cooking you go down to the wine cellar and the chefs serve you your dinner that you made with complmentary wine. When I go back I am going to take the pasta course. This is perfect because class starts after all the museums and everything closes and you get an excellent dinner too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AN ABSOLUTE MUST-DO!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The staff at In Tavolo made this experience so much more than we could have ever hoped for!! We learned, we cooked, we laughed so hard, we drank good wine and we met great people. The staff was so warm and welcoming and made us laugh every time we attempted a new technique. A MUST-DO for anyone who likes anything to do with the kitchen!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mangia Mangia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I booked this evening class for my wife (she's the best cook among our circle of family and friends), thinking I would tag along and take pictures...boy was I mistaken!! We were assigned to a work station with another couple (the entire class consisted of 11 people of varying ages). We started by making individual tiramusus, then moved on to making gnocchi, cup-cake shaped bruschetta appetizers wrapped in zucchini, chicken with rosemary and mushrooms, and ragu sauce. More than two hours later, we went down to the wine cellar while the chef plated the courses and brought everything down to us. My wife liked this class so much she has prepared the whole meal, in part or all of it, for different dinner guests in our home, and both times we have had audible gasps of praise and thanks. Needless to say, we LOVED this class and highly recommend it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“In Tavola Pasta Making Class”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked our class through Viator with the expectation of an 8 person max. class size. When we arrived we found others already there are more kept coming for a group of about 25. We were divided into work groups at 4 stations, given plastic aprons, and immediately set about performing various tasks such as peeling potatoes, making dough, chopping tomatoes, etc. with no idea of how or why were doing any of it. The instructors were spread thin and did not invite questions. We just "did" things, as though we were playing "beat-the-clock". Fortunately our work group of 5 had someone with pasta making experience who helped in place of the instructor. All of the activity fit the definition of instruction, it just wasn't teaching. Ultimately it all came together and we produced lovely pasta with various sauces and a dessert. We went down to the wine cellar to eat our creations. One bottle of wine per table was insufficient for 5 people and other tables had even more people. Our food was delicious and by now we knew our table mates well enough to have a nice conversation. It was, after all, vacation for all of us. If we keep in a vacation state of mind we can say we had a good time. If we were looking for serious learning, it fell short, although we did learn how to make pasta and that was the objective. We didn't receive our booklet of recipes until we were going out the door. They would have been useless during food preparation because there was no time for questions or discussion, but they would have been useful during lunch when we could have talked about technique and made notes with our companions. Instructors were unavailable during lunch - they were upstairs cleaning the work stations. With a few changes, the class could be much better. There should be either smaller classes or more instructors, and time should be allowed for explanation of what we are going to do and why. Despite the shortcomings, it was a good time overall.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In Tavola also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to In Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage In Tavola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.