We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Antellesi

Trattoria Antellesi
Via Faenza, 9/R | Accanto Alle Cappelle Medicee, 50123 Florence, Italy
+39 055 2654616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #236 of 1,970 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $16 - $65
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We loved the pasta and tuscan white beans. Cozy atmosphere, service a little slow, but who cares when you're enjoying your food so much.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    94
    17
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Lovely, warm trattoria with yummy pastas and meats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have been to Trattoria Antellesi 4 times during 2 different trips to Florence. On our first trip, I had recently broken my leg and was in a wheelchair. The waiter (who was the son of the owners, the wife being the hostess and the husband being the barista/chef) was very kind and helped us find an easy table near the door. We went back 2 days later because we had forgotten to make reservations on New Years and they were more than happy to let us return. During that first trip to Florence, we had amazing chianti wine sauce over homemade pasta and beef, my husband had the bone marrow dish, and another great fresh salmon creamy pasta dish. During our 2nd trip to Florence in Aug. 2011, we knew we wanted to return, and it was just as good as our first time. We had the same wonderful wine sauce/meat pasta, and my husband tried the steak, and loved it. We ended up going back for lunch one day because we were sight-seeing near there, and had two wonderful pastas. During each of our evening trips to Antellesi, we tried either a chianti or the house liter of wine, which was very drinkable. The service is great overall, they don't speak much English but are very warm and welcoming. We enjoyed sitting both outside and inside, it's charming. Also, it's very reasonably priced, particularly for the tourist area of Florence. We really enjoyed each of our trips there, and highly recommend it for a casual, yummy, authentic Italian meal.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Little Neighborhood Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Trattoria Antellesi is located next to the Hotel Accademia, where we stayed during the tour part of our Florence visit, and they are both operated by the same family. It was recommended to us by our guide as having pretty decent food, and he was spot-on with his recommendation. We joined some tour friends and the four of us agreed that it was a very pleasant dining experience.

There is a very small outside eating area; inside is intimate and cozy, with a family feel. The staff greeted us warmly and arranged tables so that we could all sit together. The food was plentiful, delicious and very well priced. We easily shared dishes among the four of us. It was the most "local" place we ate during our 4 days in Florence. We were probably the only non-neighborhood diners that evening and we were made to feel very welcome. If this hadn't been our last night in Florence, I would have eaten there again.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cozy, relaxing, good food and a real break from the tourist stuff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

An authentic, unpretentious, friendly and comfortable place with good food and good prices. We ate here twice in two days, on the 12-euro fixed-price menu and on the regular menu, because we enjoyed the food and the ambience. Enjoyed the Tripe Florentine as well as the basic pastas, plus the grilled vegetables with melted scamorza cheese. Friendly service -- they seem genuinely pleased to have you there -- and they speak some English, too. And you can order tap water without being sneered at.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“tasty, friendly and good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

if you've been longing for a good piece of meat this is a place to go. traditional tuscan pasta antipasti, deserts were all very good too and the panzanella is a must try.
a few tables on the street (almost pedestrian..).
friendly service and friendly prices especially for the day's specials.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Antellesi also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Antellesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Antellesi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.