We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WiFi saviour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Home Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Home Florence to your Saves list
Hotel Home Florence
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Piave, 3, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #241 of 461 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“WiFi saviour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a business trip. Staff were helpful and friendly and gave good restaurant recommendations and is conveniently located for the city centre.

As I had to work, Wifi signal was important but was not working in my room so they put a router in which was great.

Decor is white minimalist and quirky, and the room was light and comfortable but shower was slow to drain and bathroom was a bit tired, so that is the only reason for the "dropped" star.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrico C, Direttore at Hotel Home Florence, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Hugh,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you did like the room and appreciated the quality of service.

We apologize for the wi fi: the signal is usually good and the connection works well. Anyway, we are very satisfied that our staff was able to solve your problem.

We are very sorry for the inconvenient with the shower and the bathroom, all the comments and details that you have written are very important and will help us to solve some problems and improve our service.

Waiting for you for your next business trip (or holiday, is better!) in Florence!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    119
    50
    37
    13
See reviews for
19
156
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights on a busniess trip and was very pleased with both the hotel and the quality of service. As befits a hotel in stylish Florence this small boutique hotel is stylishly original, minimalist design that will appeal to the architect and designer searching for something away from the norm. The room was well sized, although not spacious, as was the bathroom. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and free wireless internet had good bandwidth. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of tempting local treats to carry you through lunch. Business centre and conference rooms both excellent and very attentive staff ensure a constant floe of coffee and snacks. Centre of the city is only a couple of streets away and the river is even closer. Very pleased - I'll be back.

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the side street on the south, much quieter at night and in the morning. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the end of September. It certainly is different. Very convenient for walking to the city centre, and not too noisy at night with traffic. The room was very small, as was the shower room, but we were only in there to wash and sleep so not a problem. Breakfasts were always fresh and Paola, who served us most mornings was very attentive and helpful with any information we needed. We stayed in Florence for 5 nights, and I would probably only recommend this hotel for a couple of nights as there isn't really a communal area to sit and relax and have a drink.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Booked this at the last minute through Secret Escapes. Sounded good and I like Florence. Its advertised as a boutique hotel and it does live up to that billing, however it has lots of small but irritating issues. First we were promised a "on arrival" cocktail. It didn't happen, just keys and your rooms on the first floor. The room was nice and bright but the safe was broken and even though we reported this immediately and were promised a speedy resolution, that didn't happen either and every day we were there (3 days) we had to give our more valuable possessions to be put in the hotel's safe.

The shower room is just that. Shower, WC and wash hand basin. Ok but the shower had a habit of idling up right up to the top of the tray which meant your feet go a good wash but your shower was short so as to not flood the area.

Breakfast was nice, byut after the choice of tea or coffee you got the one cup, no refill unless you found the staff who would produce a second. I prefer a pot.

Would I go again. not sure to be frank.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very nice hotel, design and decor make it very interesting. Quality of finish leaves a lot to be desired. Our shower drain was not working properly and we almost flooded the bathroom and the ventilation system was very loud so my wife couldn't sleep as the room upstairs from us had it on all night. Excellent breakfast and nice service. It could become an hidden gem if the maintenance of the rooms was notched up. Too bad!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina F, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Home Florence, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for staying at Home Florence and for writing this review. We are really glad to read your appreciation for the design and décor of our hotel. At the same time we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you might have suffered during your stay. Your comments are extremely useful to us and will help to improve. We wish to let you know that at this stage we are already working in order to solve any kind of maintenance problem. We all hope you’ll be back one day for a definitely high quality stay. Our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

That Hotel Home received a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor is enough to make me doubtful of TripAdvisor! I stayed 5 nights at Hotel Home for work -- the hotel was selected and arranged by work not, me. The positives: the bed was comfortable, the towels large and fluffy, the WiFi worked excellently, and the breakfast was plentiful. The negatives: the hotel was located on a busy piazza and the road noise was exceptional. I asked for-- and received-- the only room without a window, on the fourth floor, which was great for noise reduction but horrible for my eyes. There were so few lights in the room I couldn't see properly, day or night; there was a skylight, but the skylight's shutter closed automatically in the rain, and since it rained during the day, the room was always dark like a cave. I could barely read my kindle, and each day, I put my makeup on at the office since there wasn't enough light in the bathroom. Also, everything broke or was sub-par: the heater stopped worked and/or made a horrendous noise (it varied), the iron shorted out, the hair-dryer required an adapter, the shower flooded the bathroom floor every morning, and the blanket I was given (to compensate for the heater) was covered in disgusting, dark brown-black stains. My other colleagues staying with me had similar complaints. Really, avoid this hotel if you can -- there are more beautiful options that are better positioned to the center of Florence.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

When i had Florence in mind for our anniversary getaway, I imagined all the beautiful art and architecture. However I didn't like the idea of staying in a hotel that was still stuck in the Renaissance period.Hotel Home Florence was different to all the others and within budget. It was ideally located near all the main attractions but yet if you wanted to be away from all the hustle and bustle of tourists this is a place to stay. Although we didn't spend a great deal of time in the hotel we found it very clean and modern.

The staff was amazing, Alessio and the other receptionist (half French half Italian), the two ladies who prepared delicious breakfast, they were all very nice and professional. i would definitely recommend Hotel Home to others and will most certainly come back.

thank you for a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavio_Ottanelli, Direttore generale at Hotel Home Florence, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Zicovski,
we are happy to read your lovely comments! Thanks to appreciate our professional and nice staff. Come back soon for another fantastic stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Home Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Home Florence

Address: Piazza Piave, 3, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Home Florence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Home Florence Hotel, nice and cozy villa just by Florence downtown! White though apparently pure and simple is the color including all the other colors. When crossing crystal a white light beam turns out into a rainbow unveiling its hidden complexity. At Home Florence you can experience the same shy and composite sophistication. Modern design characterized by pure and perfect elements sweetly melts with the elegance of an historical Florentine palace. The result is an harmonious balance of lounges and decors where white with golden details is the predominant color.Home Florence is located along the Arno River in the very heart of Florence historical center, close by the main tourist attractions of the city such as Basilica di Santa Croce, Ponte Vecchio, Duomo di Santa Maria del Fiore and Uffizi Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Home Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Home Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.