We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Florence Youth Hostel

Florence Youth Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Florence Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Florence Youth Hostel
Via della Condotta, 4, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 220 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Baldwin, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The hostel owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was only 2.50 euros and actually had scrambled eggs! (I was so sick of only bread, deli meats, and cheese for breakfast by this point in my trip) Hostel was in an excellent central location. The only downside was a lockout from 10:30 am till sometime in the early afternoon...it would be nice to be able to come back to the room to cool down and nap during hot Florentine summer days. However, the hostel and hotel are managed and cleaned by only two people, so I understand why a short lockout is necessary.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
7
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

I was surprised by the vast majority of rating of "5" for this hostel. First, this property is co-named as "Hotel Christina", which is rated as a 1-star hotel. No signs of Florence Youth Hostel outside the building, costing us a wait until someone who happened to come out of the building asked us (with 2 big backpacks) whether we are heading to the hostel.

The building is old. The room is very basic and noisy as it faces the main street with bars, restaurants and bus stops, making it especially noisy at night. The window can block most noise, but you can't have fresh air in that case. It is no doubt clean, but the flush in the shared bathroom need much effort to power. The shower is expectedly tiny. There is only 1 staff in the reception, which is clearly not enough for the amount of guests they receive. I tried twice of needing to wait for at least 10 minutes before any staff is ready for me, just to ask for a hair dryer.

The location is central, a few steps from the Piazza della Signoria, but not good if you arrive and leave florence by train. Better take one that is near the train station (There are many other choices with similar rates.) Pretty expensive, but considering the price level in Florence, it is just fine. Breakfast is not included though.

The good thing of the place is, very near to every attraction, and the tripadvisor #1 restaurant in Florence. That offers you a great advantage to either book or walk-in this famous little 4-table restaurant. Free WiFi but only detectable using a laptop, not on iPhones. Shower gel and soap is provided. Hair dryer is provided on request. There is room cleaning everyday even if you didn't request it - it can also be a shock to us as we do keep some valuables in our room. Friendly staff, but not very informative.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

one of the best hostels i tried, florence youth hostel is very central (1 minute from palazzo vecchio, 3 from the duomo) and totally worth it. An old building with stone floors, but warm and well furnished. The sink in the room was much appreciated and also the very welcoming staff. If u stay for a few nights in Florence and you want to be near everything worth seeing around, this hostel is the place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

I stayed here with my boyfriend in early December in an economy double. The location is perfect; it's very close to the Uffizi, Duomo, and many restaurants and shops (lots of good gelato places too!). I would say that the majority of sights you will wish to see while in Florence are within a 15 min walk. The best part of our stay was Francesco, the owner of the property. He is the friendliest person we met on our two week trip in Europe! He gave us very helpful tips on trains/transit information and several restaurant recommendations.

The accommodations are clean and minimalistic. You are given one set of towels that are changed every 3 days. In our economy double there was a sink in the room and the shower was right down the hall. There is free wifi and a couple of computers available for use in the common areas. There is a mandatory lockout starting at 10:30am for a couple of hours for cleaning but it wasn't a problem for us. The 2.50 euro breakfast served during the workday is fantastic. The breakfast consists of bread, croissants, juice, coffee, cereal, fruit, milk, yogurt and Francesco will personally make you eggs and ham/cheese sandwiches.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

I've stayed at many different places in Florence over time, and this hostel is definitely at the top of my list. The staff was out-of-their-way nice and helpful. One of the staff even helped me carry my luggage up the stairs, which was not an easy job. The rooms were perfectly clean and quiet. My room had a sink and towels and a lot of extra blankets. And of course it is very conveniently located, close to all the big sites in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Overall awesome stay here. Great location two blocks to duomo. Owners are local and young and very friendly, they helped give us dinner and going out recommendations - try il Latino restaurant for best florentine steak ever! Rooms are very clean with sink and mini fridge, clean shared shower right outside door. Would def stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

If you are travelling to Florence, then I would definitely recommend staying at Florence Youth Hostel!! It is perfectly located in the heart of Florence, close to all the must-see attractions and restaurants, it is super clean and tidy, but what makes this hostel better than the rest is the people who run it, they will go above and beyond to make your stay in Florence awesome!! A big thank you to Francesco and staff for making this our best hostel experience in Italy!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Florence Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Youth Hostel

Address: Via della Condotta, 4, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 220 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Florence Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Youth Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florence Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.