We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group to your Saves list
Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Ginori 22/24 | centro storico - Duomo, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #348 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Cape Town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Charming and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a charming and characterful hotel housed in a Renaissance period building close to the heart of historic Florence. The hotel is perfectly located a few hundred metres from the Duomo, a few blocks away from the Accademia Gallery and close to many of the other main attractions in the city.

We arrived in Florence by train from Rome and were too early to check in but the hotel staff were most welcoming, stored our luggage and offered us coffee and breakfast snacks. When we returned from our sightseeing later in the day our luggage had been taken to our room.

We spent two nights at the hotel. Our quad room was spacious and while the bathroom was small, it had been recently renovated and was more than adequate. The breakfast which was included in our room rate was very good. Other reviewers have commented that there is no lift in the hotel. However, this is hardly an issue as the staff are most helpful in carrying luggage up and down the stairs.

There is a great basement wine cellar, Cantina Ginori, and although we didn't get time to use it, the hotel offers tastings, meals and snacks in the cellar by arrangement.

The hotel also has bikes for free use by guests. As most of the central part of Florence is pedestrianised, it is very safe to cycle around the city and my daughters and I had a very pleasant afternoon riding past the attractions, through the many piazzas and stopping off at the Ponte Vecchio for gelato.

We were very lucky to be in Florence on San Giovanni Day (St John the Baptist, the patron saint of Florence) on 24 June and enjoyed the pageantry, parades through the city and the most awesome fireworks display over the River Arno later that evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
thank you for your time , is pleasure for us to offer you a nice stay.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    107
    45
    23
    33
See reviews for
76
173
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife shared our review of this hotel on the 13th July, reviewing our terrible experiences, including a shower that barely worked, as well as some of our property going missing from the room.
If you read the reply from the hotel manager you will be shocked to see that he believes we were asking for a reimbursment after what he believes we were making fake details and excuses. He also says we did not raise question about our negative stay until we checked out - if you read our review and you will see the huge number of times we spoke to the 3 staff memebers, including the manager about both our issues.
All you need to do is read the negative responses, as well as the manager's responses to these to get an idea of the sort of hotel he runs - a dodgy one. Had we read his responses to these negative reviews before booking, we would CERTAINLY NOT have stayed at this hotel. A hotel manager's job, besides offering comfortable and adequate accommodation to its guests is to deliver friendly, efficient customer service, something this hotel manager clearly lacks. How he can speak and respond to his guests so poorly is appaling.
I'm only writing this response to warn people about staying here and to clarify the fact that how he has tried to justify what my wife wrote is completely untrue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Worst experience at a hotel...and this is saying a lot considering we stayed in over 22 hotels on our 5 week European journey, some with even less stars than Hotel Ginori al Duomo, and some a lot older too.

Firstly (not our main issue, but still worth mentioning) the water pressure in the shower for warm (showering worthy temperature) water was a mere dribble, when it was turned to hot there was barely any water that trickled out. It wasn't even enough water to fill up your hand to wash your face with water, let alone try to wash your hair or your body.
We asked the young night watchman to come and have a look at our shower to tell us if that was the usual pressure. He said he would come up to check. 40 minutes later he still hadn't come to our room, so we went down to reception to find he had changed shifts with an older gentleman and had not told him of our request to check the shower. The older night watchman said "at least there is hot water" and was telling us that the building is an old building and that is the best it could do. He said to speak to the manager in the morning.
The first night we put up with the lack of water because we thought the following day the problem would be rectified. In the morning we spoke to the manager about our shower and he said he would check it out. When we returned from our second day of sightseeing we discovered nothing had been done about the shower. We again reported it to the night watchman again, asking him if there was another room we could shower in, however he said they were completely booked out. He came to check the shower again, walking out of our room without apologising or saying anything to us, in the process bumping all of our towels onto the floor, without stopping to pick them up. When you are staying multiple nights, this is completely unacceptable to not have a proper functioning shower in a 3 star hotel. You spend all day out and about and get hot and sweaty, the first thing you want to do is come back to your hotel room to enjoy a shower and get cleaned up. We felt filthy going to bed both nights. On the second night we spent more time trying to wash ourselves with the water in the sink than we did in the shower. We've stayed at much older hotels than this one with abundance of water and pressure. We even stayed in a building built in the 1100's with no issue. We saw photos on trip advisor of other showers in the hotel showing nice modern shower heads. We do not believe that the hotel would install such nice showers if they could not deliver adequate water pressure to accommodate.

Secondly, and more importantly the reason we had the worst experience at any hotel in the world is the fact that one of our large bright green and blue striped toiletries case (which also kept all our medication) which was in the bathroom on the sink the first morning we left the hotel room sightseeing went 'missing'. Both my husband and I saw the toiletries bag in the morning before we left because we had both put our toothpaste back into it before leaving the room. It wasnt until about 9pm after returning that night after dinner when we were going to attempt to wash ourselves in the disgrace of a shower that we discovered the bag was missing. We reported it immediately to the young night watchman, the same man who had been completely rude and unhelpful regarding the water issue. He came and had a look around the bathroom and other areas in the hotel room. We showed him what it looked like as we have two similar toiletries bags (one which was in our bag did not go missing). My husband asked him to call the manager to investigate the issue. When my husband went back down to check if he had contacted the manager, he was in the process of changing shifts with the older night watchman, in which the young guy put on his jacket and left without handing over to the older guy our issue or apologizing to us or saying that he had to leave. He just left. Complete and utter rudeness from someone in the hospitality industry. The older night watchman came also to have a look and tried to contact the manager and the cleaner to see if they had taken it and that the manager was the only one who could check the surveillance footage, and he wouldn't be in until the morning. We kept reiterating to the night watchman that it wasn't just our toiletries in the bag, it had necessary medications in there too.
The following morning we reported to the manager our issue of the missing bag, showing him the other bag we had similar to the one that went missing. We asked him to check the surveillance footage to see if the cleaner had walked out of the room with it or if it had gone into the garbage bin. He said the plastic bags the cleaner uses are black so you wouldn't be able to see if anything was in the garbage bag that was our bag. He called the cleaner who remembered seeing a green plastic bag in the bin. Firstly our bag wasn't a green plastic bag, it was a 2kg fabric toiletries case with loads of hygiene and beauty products and medications. The manager said if the cleaner had seen something of significance which was not meant to be in the bin they would have taken it out. The only way our bag could have ended up in the bin is if the cleaner had bumped it in and not noticed. As mentioned previously my husband and I had both seen the bag on the sink before leaving in the morning. The cleaner had been into our room to clean as the drinking cups had been moved.
The manager asked us to prepare a list of everything that was included in the bag and their replacement costs, including the bag, to which we did, as he said he would reimburse us following further conversation with the cleaning company.
We checked out, asking for a discount in our accommodation because of the inconvenience but we were declined that request.
He gave us his business card saying he would contact us that afternoon (which he didn't). The following days we had to contact him via email and he told us to be patient. We had given bank account details for the transfer of reimbursement. In person the manager seemed reasonable saying he would give us the reimbursement, yet on email he was cold and rude.
Luckily the medications that we lost were not 'life saving' medications, for example diabetic or epilepsy medication.
3 months following our stay at this crap hotel and countless emails later we have yet to receive any reimbursement from this pig of a hotel manager - his emails have even "promised" that money would be reimbursed.
It is really disappointing to have to write a review like this. We have done a lot of travelling in Europe and USA and have never come across a hotel whose staff have not cared enough to try help us with any issue, especially one as major as property going missing. For a 3 star hotel, they should be ashamed of their service and their shower in room number 23.
DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Google Translation
gentilissimo , possiamo dirlo , credo proprio di no, perche' persone come Lei che vanno in vacanza sperando che con raggiri particolari possano essere rimborsati o addirittura pagati per farsi pagare la propria vacanza da altri trovando alibi e scuse talmente ridicole che veramente e' cosi schifoso che non vale neanche la pena di risondere, pero' e' importante che tutte le persone oneste che leggono tripadvisor conoscono entrambi le versioni, questo mezzo e' fatto proprio per questo , non e' giusto sentire solo una parte, quindi Lei ha prenotato l'albergo, ha soggiornato nel nostro bellissimo albergo, ha fatto comodamente le sue 3 notti senza mai sollevare alcun problema, la mattina del check-out ha pensato bene di dire che mancava dalla camera una sorta di borsello, per poi chiedere prima lo sconto della camera direttamente alla partenza e visto che la sua richiesta non e' stata accettata, ha poi pensato bene di chiedere il refund di euro 100,00.
E' PIU' GIUSTO VISTO CHE NOI TUTTI LAVORIAMO, CHI NON PUO' VIAGGIARE CHE RESTI A CASA.
saluti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We should stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. But on our arriving the owner "director" told us there wasn't room for us in spite of the fact we booked it 2 months ago. He advised us a hotel Jane in "historical" center40-50 min walking, in the end of the city map. The management couldn't give us any reason why they didn't make the reservation though we wrote 3!!letters and called several times. On the second day we came back to the hotel to ask for compensation because we had to take taxi it was unexpected expenses but "director" guseppe was rude and extremely impolite just pulling out of the room as he saw us and didn't come back though we waited long and asked another manager to call him. And finally we found our mail with asking of reservation in deleted!!!!letters!
Do you think it's normal way of making business?
Ps manager finally told us that overbooking is normal practice for this hotel. They send to hotel Jane one more couple with us. Read other reviews and see this cheating happens very often. Don't spoil your vacation as we did!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Cliente, come ha ben detto anche Lei , la prenotazione era cancellata, la sua carta di credito e' risultata invalida durante la preautorizzazione , quindi essendo noi un albergo molto piccolo nel pieno centro di firenze ed essendo anche molto richiesti, lavoriamo solo ed esclusivamente con prenotazioni super garantite e con prenotazioni pagate, non possiamo aspettare clienti che furbamente e disonestamente prenotato con carte di credito false dando a garanzie dei numeri inventati. La prossima volta che prenotera' in un albergo carino , centrale ed ottimo come il nostro, Le consiglio vivamente di dare a garanzia una carta di credito vera in modo che l'albergo la possa aspettare.
Per quanto riguarda hotel jane invece , noi visto che la prenotazione era stata da noi cancellata perche' confermata con una carta di credito falsa, abbiqamo cercato di aiutarla il piu' possibile ma visto che la sua prenotazione ricadeva nei giorni di una manifestazione molto importante come PITTI MODA, l'unica soluzione che abbiamo trovato e ' hotel jane , un buon albergo poco distante dal centro, invece non comprendo perche' nopi avremmo dovuto pagare il taxi a Lei visto che la prenotazione era annullata e proprio Lei ci ha detto di prenotare in quest'altro albergo. saluti e grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband, two children - 8 & 3 and I stayed in a triple room at the hotel for four nights in May 2013. The triple room was an adequate size.

Pluses :
Excellent location - Less than a 10 min walk from the station (important as we did two day trips via train) and even less from the main tourist areas.
Staff & Service - Very helpful people at the main desk as well as in the breakfast area. They carried our luggage up and down the stairs to and from our second floor room. Gave us detailed tips/instructions on sight-seeing and travel. Booked us a private taxi for a day tour to Pisa & San Gimignano through a personal contact.
Breakfast - delicious! Meat, cheese, croissants, baked goods, cappuccinos, juices, cereals etc.

Minus :
The room was a very low on natural light as the next building was only separated by a tiny street. The days we stayed in Florence (May 2013) were rainy, so that compounded the lack of natural light. A room on a higher floor may have better light.

Room Tip: Pick a room on a higher floor for better light (possibly, I haven't checked them out myself)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Cliente La ringraziamo per il tempo a noi dedicato , speriamo con i suoi consigli di migliorare sempre piu' la nostra struttura. grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was assigned to a room on the top floor. there was no elevator so you have to carry all the luggage by yourself. The bathroom is extremely small. I am a petite person, but still bump into things whenever I turn around in the bathroom. There was no enough space to let toilet lid open. I was very disappointed with this hotel, and wonder how it received a high rating online.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I booked a room at the Hotel Ginori al Duomo and prepaid for the reservation. When I arrived, I was told that there were no rooms available and they "upgraded" me to a 4* hotel owned by the same company. While the other hotel was adequate and the room reservation was paid for, there were additional costs and we did not get all of the amenities and services we expected. Because the other hotel had a higher star rating, we had to pay a higher city tax. Additionally, some of the things we were expecting at the Hotel Ginori al Duomo, such as free wi-fi and wine (as well as a tour of their cellar) were not included. For a four night stay, these additional costs added up. Finally, the hotel knew about the transfer ahead of time, but made no effort to tell us until we arrived and tried to check in.

If you book a room at the Hotel Ginori al Duomo, just be prepared to end up at a different, nearby hotel, that may or may not include all of the amenities you expect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guests, really sorry for this change, any we re-booked for you a upgrade hotel 4 stars at a block from us, the 4 stars hotel is really new and comfortable , i don't undestood why you don't like the 4 stars hotel because we pay also more,
But i understood that our hotel is really number one and this is a confirmation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group

Address: Via Dei Ginori 22/24 | centro storico - Duomo, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ginori Al Duomo and 'a boutique hotel located in the historical center of the city' in a pedestrian zone around the Duomo, the hotel offers special rooms renovated completamanete each other with antique furniture, the hotel also offers a garden where you can taste fine wines from the same cellar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginori Al Duomo Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.