We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top floor room in very small” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group to your Saves list
Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Ginori 22/24 | centro storico - Duomo, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #367 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top floor room in very small”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was assigned to a room on the top floor. there was no elevator so you have to carry all the luggage by yourself. The bathroom is extremely small. I am a petite person, but still bump into things whenever I turn around in the bathroom. There was no enough space to let toilet lid open. I was very disappointed with this hotel, and wonder how it received a high rating online.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    93
    42
    22
    30
See reviews for
69
155
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I booked a room at the Hotel Ginori al Duomo and prepaid for the reservation. When I arrived, I was told that there were no rooms available and they "upgraded" me to a 4* hotel owned by the same company. While the other hotel was adequate and the room reservation was paid for, there were additional costs and we did not get all of the amenities and services we expected. Because the other hotel had a higher star rating, we had to pay a higher city tax. Additionally, some of the things we were expecting at the Hotel Ginori al Duomo, such as free wi-fi and wine (as well as a tour of their cellar) were not included. For a four night stay, these additional costs added up. Finally, the hotel knew about the transfer ahead of time, but made no effort to tell us until we arrived and tried to check in.

If you book a room at the Hotel Ginori al Duomo, just be prepared to end up at a different, nearby hotel, that may or may not include all of the amenities you expect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guests, really sorry for this change, any we re-booked for you a upgrade hotel 4 stars at a block from us, the 4 stars hotel is really new and comfortable , i don't undestood why you don't like the 4 stars hotel because we pay also more,
But i understood that our hotel is really number one and this is a confirmation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shkoder, Albania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were two friends. We stayed at Ginori 2 nights.
Actually we booked at San Lorenzo hotel, but there we found an attic room with shared bathroom, not good, the first night.
The manager, Giuseppe, was very kind, he promised to give us a superior room at the other hotel, Ginori al Duomo. Next day, we didn't do nothing, we left the luggage in the room and Giuseppe took all and sent to the other hotel. The room was nice and clean. The location is perfect and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
When we left, Giuseppe paid us even the taxi.
Grazie!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Cliente La ringraziamo per il tempo a noi dedicato , speriamo con i suoi consigli di migliorare sempre piu' la nostra struttura. grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I arrived in Florence and was looking for accommodation for 4 nights. I was shown a room at Hotel Ginori Al Duomo which I was told was available for at least 2 nights. I was assured that for the other nights, I could be accommodated in one of their other equvalent properties and I would not be inconvenienced (ie my luggage etc would be moved). When I returned to the hotel for the 3rd night, I was advised there was only one room available, which upon inspection was an attic room without ensuite in their 2 star hotel. Eventually a room was found in another hotel, but the staff were incredibly rude and unprofessional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Google Translation
gentile cliente mi dispiace moltissimo se il nostro staff non e' stato all'altezza della professionalità che noi tutti sempre cerchaimo di dimostrare.
grazie per la comprensione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bOSTON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We found this hotel by accident and could not be happier with the service and location. Joseph took the time to show us a few various room options when we inquired about availability. Our room was spacious enough to accommodate a family of 4, consisting of king bed and two twins. Hotel is in a great location, close to activity yet quiet enough for a comfortable night's sleep after a busy day of sightseeing. Very helpful staff. Allowed us to check out at 6pm for a reasonable fee because we were taking an overnight train to Germany late that evening.Check out the impressive wine cellar and go for a tasting if you have a chance. Breakfast variety was great. Bright cheerful dining room. Agree with other reviews about the stairs being a bit challenging with luggage however would highly recommend Hotel Ginori Duomo .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Cliente La ringraziamo per il tempo a noi dedicato , speriamo con i suoi consigli di migliorare sempre piu' la nostra struttura. grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights in March 2013. We were impressed by the relatively low cost, proximity to the centre of Florence and the really great service. My friend was ill during our stay and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful. The rooms were a little dated but spotlessly clean and the breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Room 3A has a shower cubicle but the balcony is in a tiny opening between buildings and full of boil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed two nights at Hotel Ginori Duomo. It's conviently located within walking distance of the train station and the main attractions in town. The rooms were clean and had a beautiful decor. Staff were pleasant and happy to help where needed. The best surprise we got was breakfast! We walked into the breakfast room and oh my! There was a full buffet of small baked goods, toast, jams, toast, bread rolls, ham cheese and you can even have a nice cappochino made up! I would definitely recommend to anyone planning to stay in Florence.

My only suggestion to the establishment is that our room was only lit by lamps and it was quite dark. There needs to be a main light in the bedroom.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
thank you for choising us and thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group

Address: Via Dei Ginori 22/24 | centro storico - Duomo, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ginori Al Duomo and 'a boutique hotel located in the historical center of the city' in a pedestrian zone around the Duomo, the hotel offers special rooms renovated completamanete each other with antique furniture, the hotel also offers a garden where you can taste fine wines from the same cellar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginori Al Duomo Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.