We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Ginori 22/24 | centro storico - Duomo, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #133 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Louisville, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel was modernized from a shabby one in a quite decent place to stay. Rooms are well decorated and cosy. Absence of elevator could make ascent is not that easy for elder people but you get immediate help for your luggage. The staff is very friendly and helpful, breakfasts are pretty good.
Wine testing in the cellar is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't take a room near Portie stand
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    88
    39
    21
    28
See reviews for
76
158
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a nice 2 or 3*-standard hotel in a historic building in a good location only 5 minutes walk from the Duomo and 10 minutes walk from the central railway station. Unfortunately we didn't actually get to stay in it ... On arrival, we were told there was no water in our room so they had arranged for us to stay at a different hotel just for the night, so off we were taken to the Hotel Basilea (see separate review) about 5 minutes walk away, the porter helpfully carrying our bags. No problem there, every hotel has unexpected problems, and they arranged for our bags to be brought back to the hotel the next day while we were out sight-seeing. However when we came back to the hotel we were told we would be spending nights 2 and 3 also in a different hotel (no explanation this time) and were taken to the Hotel San Lorenzo round the corner (see separate review). Breakfasts would be back at the Ginori. Now this wasn't really a problem as the San Lorenzo is a nice hotel in possibly an even better location, although it was up 2 flights of stairs with no lift so it's a good job we weren't mobility-impaired. However, looking at other TripAdvisor reviews, it seems that this is the Ginori's business model - get lots of bookings in, and if there's no space at the Ginori, palm the guests off to other nearby hotels in the same group (the Ginori and San Lorenzo are both in the Italhotels Group). This wasn't really a problem, it just seems a bit underhand somehow, and because of this - despite the breakfast at the Ginori being quite good (by Italian standards) and the staff being very plesant and helpful - I can't give the Ginori more than a 3-star rating.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Cliente La ringraziamo per il tempo a noi dedicato , speriamo con i suoi consigli di migliorare sempre piu' la nostra struttura. grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here the staff were helpful and it is such a charming hotel as it was originally part of the servants quarters of the Medicci Palace. Due to this there isn't a lift but a porter is on hand to help with your luggage. The room itself was lovely and comfortable and cleaned to a good standard. It is in a great location with great restaurants nearby and the Duomo round the corner, it was central to all the tourist action. I would point out that there is a bar down the road which was quite noisey on Saturday & Tuesday night which was a pain when we had to be up early for a tour but other than that we had well rested nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Cliente La ringraziamo per il tempo a noi dedicato , speriamo con i suoi consigli di migliorare sempre piu' la nostra struttura. grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The rooms were clean and nice. You've actually got a lot of space an the rooms were exactly like you could see on teh pictures. The staff was very kind and altough there was no elevator, they carried your luggage up to your room.

Like I have read before, the walls were very thin, and you could indeed here people speaking in the hallway. But this didn't bothered us at all, because at night and in de late evening it was very queiet all over the hotel.

One other major pluspoint is the location of the hotel. Everything is in walking distance and if you forgot something in your room, you could easily go back for a minute.

One minor point was breakfast. There was little choice and it was not very tasting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duomovi, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
thank you for your time, i hope that our service will be better every day. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We arrived at this hotel booked through AAA they told us they had problems and put us in another hotel for one nigh.Then we moved back to a very small dirty room on the 3rd floor. The hotel straff was very rude. It was the worst hotel we stayed in Italy. Verry overpriced. We would never stay their again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
good evening Sir, i check you reservation and why i change you the hotel for the first night but i don't remeber if we explain you at the check-in time that the reservation was cancel by AAA and when you arrival the hotel is ready fully booked and i book other partner hotel 4 stars, a hotel in up grade where we pay more, the day after i offer you a room in roof top , this room is a penthouse room , very nice and tuscany style of course in not a standard grand hotel room , but is a very nice confortable room in a renaissance building made at 1500.
about the hotel staff, "RUDE" i don't know that is very strange ,because i am the manager, owner and i been in hotel 20 hours at day and i don't think i am rude because the guests and the hotel full up is very important for me.
Anyway , sorry if you don't find what you espect but i suggest you the next time when you book a town as florence please not book in down town. thank you. all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in may,2012 .when we arrived at hotel they told us that our booking was cancelled,which was not true ,because our trave agent has given us prepaid voucher,but due to over booking they sent us to another hotel ( hotel California) which was a better hotel .We had booked for 5 days and they moved us back to this hotel. They gave us a room, which was next to the reception area and you can hear phone ringing all the time.The room and bathroom is really smelly.do not stay in this hotel. This was the worst hotel, we stayed in Italy and Switzerland.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Plus points: Very helpful, courteous staff, convenient location (close to the Duomo, market, train station, good restaurants, etc), good breakfast with wide selection, interesting building (former servants' quarters of the Medicis). Although there was no lift, this was not a problem as staff readily helped carry my luggage.

Some things to watch out for: my room was adequate for my needs as a single traveller but there was hardly enough space (apart from the double bed) to open my large suitcase. As my room was close to the reception and the walls were thin (probably the same room mentioned by another guest recently), I was woken up in the middle of night by loud conversation. Each room is different so would suggest making sure that one books a sufficiently large room in advance.

Room Tip: Each room is different so would suggest requesting a quiet, sufficiently large room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duomovi, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
thank you for choising us , we are very happy for your satisfation , we hope that in future we can made again better. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group

Address: Via Dei Ginori 22/24 | centro storico - Duomo, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Florence
#62 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#67 Family Hotel in Florence
#157 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ginori Al Duomo and 'a boutique hotel located in the historical center of the city' in a pedestrian zone around the Duomo, the hotel offers special rooms renovated completamanete each other with antique furniture, the hotel also offers a garden where you can taste fine wines from the same cellar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginori Al Duomo Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.