We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“acceptable food, overworked personnel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aji Tei

Aji Tei
Viale Spartaco Lavagnini, 38/a, 50100 Florence, Italy
+39 055 476100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #571 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $34 - $49
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Florence, Italy
1 review
“acceptable food, overworked personnel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Not the best sushi i ate.
The portions and size of the sushi were clearly adapted to the all you can eat model.
There was also a long waiting time.
But, being a all-you-can-eat kind of place, the food was acceptable, and genuinly japanese.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    135
    43
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent japanese (chinese style)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Been twice for dinner. First time tried the all you can eat formula (25 Eur drinks excluded), the second went "a la carte".
Food in both was decent, not perfect but decent, better than most other chinese interpretations of japanese cuisine that so far had the chance to try in Italy (and have tried a few more than I would have liked to).
It seems that chinese chefs cooking japanese have become a standard feature in this country. Have yet to find the reverse.
Atmosphere and service were ok, but then again we are talking about "alla giapponese" so why bother criticizing.
Pricing when dining "a la carte" was exactly the same as with the all you can eat formula, so I guess it may be convenient to stuff yourself (beware the condition for this offering is that you finish the dish otherwise you pay the full price of the dish in question).
Side note: on both occasions I found the soy sauce to be a bit thin and tasteless.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Loved the food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

This place has a great choise of excelent quality of food... The attention was very good, althought they just speak italian and japanesse. When we first got in we got served a little portion of wakame(on the house), that was so good we ordered one more!! It a very relaxing place, very quiet, and very nice. Its a place to recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I was a bit worried about trying Japanese food in Italy.. but this place was great! It's a very classy restaurant, slightly up-market. Loved the ambiance here. The food was amazing! Definitely save room for dessert!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service atrocious, food ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

To be honest I could not even notice if the food was good or not, because the service was so utterly atrocious. The hostess did not seemed happy because we did not take up her offer of the 23 euro pp buffet. We asked to see the menu and opted for a la carte. She marched us down the back of the place in a surly manner and then did not even bother to offer us a drink for at least ten minutes (and it seriously was not that busy). When she came to take our order she walked off without saying why and basically acted like we were an inconvenience for the entire short time we were there. If you go there I hope she is in a better mood. I have been to Japan and have to say that this would be a country that has the best and most polite service industry in the world. Perhaps when in Italy, eat Italian!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aji Tei also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Aji Tei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aji Tei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.