We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duck Ragu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vini e Vecchi Sapori

Vini e Vecchi Sapori
Via Dei Magazzini 3R, 50122 Florence, Italy
+39 055 293045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 1,973 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Duck Ragu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Duck Ragu is one of the best things I have ever eaten. What a great place! The staff is so friendly. Just be prepared to sit with people you do not know :) Highly highly recommend going here, just be sure to make a reservation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    865
    210
    46
    17
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family prepared fresh local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The restaurant was recommended by our hotel and as it turns out most people using Trip Advisor. We had a fantastic 4 course meal of very fresh and delicious dishes at good prices. The family that run the restaurant are good fun even while being very busy. It is a small place so you will need to book ahead.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monpazier, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Eat like a local in the heart of tourist Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Set just off one of the principal piazzas, this tiny eatery serves good food, generous glasses of good chianti, and lots of personality. Book ahead - for 1 or 2pm.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“People power speaks more than Michelin stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I never before have placed much stock in tripadvisor ratings, always assuming that in general, they rely too much on the whim of others writing especially when the top 8 rated restaurants in Florence were ice cream parlours but....this place is a slice of local life wrapped in good homely cooking without the pretentiousness of awards to spoil its authenticity. It is a restaurant which allows it's food to talk and if you ever go you will understand my joy in sharing this find. We had anchovies and butter as simple and clever as it sounds and chicken liver crostinis to have you reminiscing about grandmother recipes. Macaroni with courgette flower and saffron provided a delightful pasta course to be followed by veal osso bucco for me and fried chicken and artichoke for my wife. Both were tasty, well presented and completely finished. I couldn't choose between meringue or tiramisu for desert so my waiter said 'have half and half', how's that for customer service. I think the thing that truly makes this place stand out is not only the food is bloody good, buts it's also fun, unpretentious and feels like you are in Italy which of course you are.....Enjoy

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This place did not dissapoint! It is amazing and worth the time to make a reservation or you will not get in! The carbonara is OUT of THIS WORLD! Also the bolognese! The stuffed artichokes, yummo!! The servers are super friendly and funny!! They made it memorable for my kids! We will never forget this experience! Go go go!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Vini e Vecchi Sapori also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Vini e Vecchi Sapori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vini e Vecchi Sapori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.