We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vini e Vecchi Sapori

Vini e Vecchi Sapori
Via Dei Magazzini 3R, 50122 Florence, Italy (Uffizi)
+39 055 293045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 2,013 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Uffizi
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We looked at previous trip advisor reviews of this lovely restaurant and were not disappointed. The aroma walking into the restaurant smelt like home-cooking, and the interior is nice and cosy. we started with traditional tuscan salumi for entree to share which was lovely and fresh (they also gave us a bread basket as well). Mains were the highlight: I had cabbage filled with mince meat and topped with a tomato sauce, while my partner had osso bucco with peas and ham. both were outstanding in quality and the taste was amazing! one of the best meals we have had in the whole of italy. wonderful service, relatively good value and you definitely feel full afterwards!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    994
    243
    55
    18
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best surprise in Florence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I found Vini e Vecchi on Trip Advisor. It was highly recommended so we went. The restaurant is very small and quaint. We actually were paired up at a 4 top table with two locals. We were a little apprehensive at first, but were immediately wowed by the service, hospitality, and food!! Made us feel good that these two older locals were eating there too. Our bill was the best value we had for food quality versus price in all of Italy. Of all our stops in Italy, this restaurant was our favorite all the way around! Would highly recommend eating here. Make reservations though!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best caprese salad and duck ragu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Booking essential. Beautiful home cooked fresh food. Caprese salad and duck ragu were the best i've ever eaten. My family also had artichoke salad and osso bucco which were thoroughly enjoyed. Traditional Italian meal would involve anti-pasti, pasta and a meat dish. Portions here are larger than average and it was more than I could eat. House red is fine but avoid the white. Service was charming and the price was below average. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We went to Vini e Vecchi Sapori three times while in Florence and loved every meal. We were treated like family by the wonderful host and the food was absolutely delicious! A great family run restaurant that you must visit! Don't forget to book though to secure a place as they are very popular. Enjoy :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful time and outstanding lunch here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We reached Florence in evening time and last minute decided to have our dinner here, for sure we were disappointed as reservation was full house till late night. Lucky we were able to make a reservation for lunch on the next two days before we leave Florence.

On the day of our reservation, we reach on time but we still wait for a while, it was ok for us, they try to arrange a table for us as fast as possible.. They have different menu daily, no Pizza, no Bistecca, no ice here. We order "Surprise" as I told him I wanted the most wonderful food on my table for four of us before we leave Florence, he decide to give us a surprise.. so we don't know what is the meal going to serve us. All the foods was amazing delicious.. refer to the photo that i uploaded except beef with black pepper was average.. Tiramisu was special. I believed this is the best local food in Florence, price was reasonable.

Restaurant decoration was unique, service was very good and attentive.
We were very satisfy to had a wonderful time and outstanding food on the last day we were in Florence.

Ps: Not to go for Ristorante & Wine bar dei Frescobaldi (just direct opposite), food was poor. Since we were hungry and unable to squeeze into Vini Vecchi Sapori for dinner on the 1st night we reached Florence, and we saw this opposite restaurant awarded Michelin, so we decide to have dinner here. What a bad choice, very disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vini e Vecchi Sapori also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Vini e Vecchi Sapori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vini e Vecchi Sapori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.