We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best surprise in Florence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vini e Vecchi Sapori

Vini e Vecchi Sapori
Via Dei Magazzini 3R, 50122 Florence, Italy
+39 055 293045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 1,980 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best surprise in Florence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I found Vini e Vecchi on Trip Advisor. It was highly recommended so we went. The restaurant is very small and quaint. We actually were paired up at a 4 top table with two locals. We were a little apprehensive at first, but were immediately wowed by the service, hospitality, and food!! Made us feel good that these two older locals were eating there too. Our bill was the best value we had for food quality versus price in all of Italy. Of all our stops in Italy, this restaurant was our favorite all the way around! Would highly recommend eating here. Make reservations though!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    195
    43
    15
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best caprese salad and duck ragu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Booking essential. Beautiful home cooked fresh food. Caprese salad and duck ragu were the best i've ever eaten. My family also had artichoke salad and osso bucco which were thoroughly enjoyed. Traditional Italian meal would involve anti-pasti, pasta and a meat dish. Portions here are larger than average and it was more than I could eat. House red is fine but avoid the white. Service was charming and the price was below average. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We went to Vini e Vecchi Sapori three times while in Florence and loved every meal. We were treated like family by the wonderful host and the food was absolutely delicious! A great family run restaurant that you must visit! Don't forget to book though to secure a place as they are very popular. Enjoy :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful time and outstanding lunch here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We reached Florence in evening time and last minute decided to have our dinner here, for sure we were disappointed as reservation was full house till late night. Lucky we were able to make a reservation for lunch on the next two days before we leave Florence.

On the day of our reservation, we reach on time but we still wait for a while, it was ok for us, they try to arrange a table for us as fast as possible.. They have different menu daily, no Pizza, no Bistecca, no ice here. We order "Surprise" as I told him I wanted the most wonderful food on my table for four of us before we leave Florence, he decide to give us a surprise.. so we don't know what is the meal going to serve us. All the foods was amazing delicious.. refer to the photo that i uploaded except beef with black pepper was average.. Tiramisu was special. I believed this is the best local food in Florence, price was reasonable.

Restaurant decoration was unique, service was very good and attentive.
We were very satisfy to had a wonderful time and outstanding food on the last day we were in Florence.

Ps: Not to go for Ristorante & Wine bar dei Frescobaldi (just direct opposite), food was poor. Since we were hungry and unable to squeeze into Vini Vecchi Sapori for dinner on the 1st night we reached Florence, and we saw this opposite restaurant awarded Michelin, so we decide to have dinner here. What a bad choice, very disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland - Newbridge
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the best meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Is this one of the best meals we have eaten? There was O'Donovan's Restaurant in Midleton, Co Cork, Ireland where all the food was freshly prepared by the owner, and it was one of the best.

There was La Sancerre in Montmartre, a cool chilled place with a DJ and the best atmosphere for a relaxed local vibe, and food that was excellent.

Vini e Vecchi was up there with the best of them. They do 2 servings per evening, we were on the 9.30 serving, which worked out well, as we had aperitives at the excellent Gucci cafe just a few feet away on Piazza Signore ( a good place to start your evening €5 for a glass of prosecco and a complimentary starter ) and do some people watching on the Piazza.

3 of us so we ordered 2 starters, 1 primi and 3 secondi. The ham and mozarella, ham was freshly cut by knife by Mario who prepared the starters in front of us, the mozarella was fresh and chilled, this was better than any of us had ever tasted 1 out of 1. The next starter was the artichoke salad, another winner. The duck ragu with papardelle pasta was exceptional, full of succulent flavour and tender. 3 out of 3. The mains were grilled chicken and a roasted tomato stuffed with risotto rice, tender and juicy. The beef stew came soft and tender with a peppercorn kick, a taste which brought back memories of a a pepper steak 20 years before in Paris, and it came with delicious perfectly prepared long green beans.The fried beef was amazing, the name did not do it justice,soft and succulent. 6 out of 6.
We ordered 2 portions of meringue and 1 raspberry tiramisu. Both were brilliant, the tiramisu did not have coffee and was rich and creamy. Then we asked which dolci did not have, and the waiter said there was also Biscuits with Vin Santo and Ice Cream Cake, so we ordered them too. The ice cream cake was lovely and we all enjoyed it, the biscuits came with a glass of wine to dip them in, I like them and the others didn't.
Service was attentive, efficient and calm and the ambiance was good, the restaurant has only room for less than 20 people, staff were engaging and friendly and joking with staff, customers, and their friends who came by as they were closing at 11.30.

Bill came to €111 for 3 people, with 2 starters, 1 primi, 3 secondi, 4 dolci, 2 waters 1/2 (€6) and 1/4 (€3) wine house wine which complemented the meal.

Score was 9.5 out of 10, we will be back... but book early as reservations are hard to get, we rang on saturday and they have nothing until Tuesday at 9.30

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vini e Vecchi Sapori also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Vini e Vecchi Sapori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vini e Vecchi Sapori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.