We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great service. Fun and romantic little spot.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vini e Vecchi Sapori

Vini e Vecchi Sapori
Via Dei Magazzini 3R, 50122 Florence, Italy
+39 055 293045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 1,949 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, great service. Fun and romantic little spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My girlfriend had read reviews of this place online and made reservations to eat here during our first night in Florence. Her choice did not disappoint. In fact, this place is even better than we had expected.

We ordered the prosciutto with mozzarella as an appetizer - it was amazing! My girlfriend and I shared each other's entrees, the osso buco and the beef stew - very very good! The wine was also reasonably priced, as was all the food. Overall, we had a very good time. The servers were friendly and attentive, and we loved the cozy atmosphere - definitely one of my top 10 favorite dinners ever.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    834
    201
    44
    17
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A must try in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Many of my friends kept telling us to try this restaurant when we travel Florence. We arrived on Sunday, they didn't open on Sunday and Monday. I tried to make a reservation for Tuesday dinner but that's already fully booked, so we booked for lunch. I never knew Italian food can be like this. No pizza! We took a stew beef and lamb shoulder. They are very tender. Wonderful food.

This is a very small restaurant with only few tables. Make sure you call in advance. This is impossible to get a table if you walk in. There are only 2 waiting staff. Even they were busy running around, but they still provide very friendly service. It's in great location as well. just next to the Gucci Museum. Make sure you put it on your itinary.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford CT
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Best meals of our trip to Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Based on the many excellent reviews, we had made reservations for the second to last night of our trip to Florence and loved our meal so much, we skipped any of the great number of other restaurants and ate here again on our last night. Our server was Fidan, from Kosovo, one of the most friendly and helpful we have ever had, he even joined our table for a few minutes to chat. The fresh mozzarella and prosciutto as appetizer was heavenly, and entrees such as beef stew and pappardelle with duck ragu were sublime. The second night, everything looked good on the menu again and my wife was unable to choose, so Fidan offered to surprise her with dinner; she ended up with an off-menu item, veal saltimbocca, tasted great. The entree prices were most reasonable, 13-18 euro, and wine/beer in the 3 euro range, total meals for our party of three only 80-90 euro, a true bargain for the quality. The restaurant is small (and parties of two get seated with other parties of two at one table) and our reservations were for 9:30 and 9:45 but the tables were worth waiting for. No reason to go anywhere else when in Florence, but call way ahead to get in.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Not everything good needs to be expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place is a well run trattoria by a great family muma is in the kitchen dad at the bar and son running the front of house.We arrived slightly late as we walked past and our table was not ready so we waited outside but tomaso bought us a complimentary glass of prosseco while we were waiting to pass the time.
We were taken to our table i had the duck fettucine which were great my wife had the artichoke salad which she loved
For main i had a pastry encrusted meat dish which was sublime my wife had an egg torta which was amazing
Ferrari food at fiat prices fantastic

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best bite of the trip......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Thank goodness for our "Foodies Tour" guide. While touring and tasting all wonderful things Florentine, she did us a great favor and got us lunch reservations at Vini E Vecchi Sapori for the following day. We had a little bit of difficulty in finding this tiny spot but our perseverance certainly paid off. We were greeted by name, our table waiting! It is true that you are seated very closely to the others patrons, but the ambiance is so delightful that you feel like family. We had our waiter select several courses among which was the absolute best dish of Florence for me. Try their "Pappardelle al ragu di Anatra-amazingly delicious. Everything was superb and I highly recommend this little cubbyhole of a spot-as is so often the case, the best things come in small packages!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vini e Vecchi Sapori also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Vini e Vecchi Sapori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vini e Vecchi Sapori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.