We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Put.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vini e Vecchi Sapori

Vini e Vecchi Sapori
Via Dei Magazzini 3R, 50122 Florence, Italy
+39 055 293045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 1,969 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply Put.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

this is one of the top dining experiences ever
reservations (lunch or dinner) are a must- even in February
papparadelle amantra (duck); osso bucco; artichoke farci; tiaramusu, all exquisite
Thomas will translate menu effortlessly
DO NOT MISS if you're in Florence- a true Italian experience
no pizza-no ice-no steak
franchisees need not apply

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    865
    210
    46
    17
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Make a reservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This quaint little restaurant only seats about 20 people maximum so a reservation is a must. We were fortunate that we travelled during the low season which made it easier to get a table. I was seriously considering not reviewing this restaurant on the basis of not wanting the word to get out. I yielded as it is just too good not to sha with the rest of the world. Simple but absolutely delicious menu. The menu changes daily depending on fresh produce and every dish we saw come out of the kitchen looked superb. Family run which means traditional family hospitality. The menu is only in Italian but our host sat and helped us through it and explained exactly what each dish entailed, how it was prepared and cooked. A nice touch. We were too full for desert but they brought out a sample tiramisu, on the house, anyway as it is their signature desert. To die for is the most apt description. Another nice touch. The prices are ridiculously cheap for what you receive. Primi, mains and a bottle of wine for two people came to 70 Euro. Bargain!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Intimate and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Heard about through Tripadvisor and taking the advice from other comments we asked our Hotel to book a table for us. This proved to be a good move because I doubt we would have been able to get a table on our chosen evening (Saturday). While we were eating our meal several people came knocking at the door asking for a table, only being asked to try later.
It's small and intimate - only seats around 18 people so you may have to share a table with someone else as we did, but this did not bother us at all. It is obviously a family affair with Mama in the kitchen, Papa behind the bar and helping with the food and the son is front of house dealing with customers and taking orders etc. All in all they do a great job and take time to go through the menu with you (which is in italian) and make you feel welcome too. The food is good wholesome home cooking with some fantastic flavours - and reasonably priced. Our bill came to 49 euros, that included 2 x starters, 2 x mains, 1 x desert and carafe of red wine - would highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Best Pasta Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I made a reservation about a month in advance based on the comments on here. The Resturant has 6 tables and is typically very Italian....amazing atmosphere, quirky, full of charm and wonderful service. There is a new menu everyday based on what local produce they can get there hands on. 5 starters and 6 main meals choices on the menu last night (Saturday)....I would have eaten any of them. There was 5 girls in my party, lots of wine later we made our reservation later as we were enjoying drinks at the Savoy too much! When we made it to the Resturant we fell in love with it. Personal, full of atmosphere, amazing waiter who explained the menu and good house wine. Simple decor and a simple idea....Amazing Italian food....the best pasta I have ever had (eating in many Michelin Restaurants) simply served and simply out of this world. Eat in the Resturant and you will see why it has been voted number 2.....you won't be disappointed. While writing this I am remembering last nights meal and I wish I was back in Italy eating here again for dinner tonight......loved it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Old time setting, excellent menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were advised of this little osteria by a Florentine friend who knows all the good and fairly priced establishments, not easy to find in a prime historic center location. Reservations are a must, there are about 20 seats at maybe 7 tables. If being cheek by jowl close to others bothers you, this is not the place to eat. However, we found the whole closeness a lot of fun. For one thing you get to see what everyone else is ordering, eating.
The waiter, Tommaso, is charming, unflappable, patient in describing the daily offerings. Everything we ordered was better than expected: a pureed ceci soup, pappardelle with duck sauce, baccala alla Livornese, good house wine. We would return again and again but you can not do so spontaneously as reservations are a must, even in the quiet season of winter.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vini e Vecchi Sapori also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Vini e Vecchi Sapori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vini e Vecchi Sapori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.