We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and People Watching” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria dei 13 Gobbi

Trattoria dei 13 Gobbi
Via del Porcellana 9/r, Florence, Italy
055 28 40 15
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #338 of 1,873 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and People Watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the owner of the bed and breakfast we were staying at and it proved to be super. We enjoyed the Florentine steak and a lovely pasta starter. The wine selection was great and really complemented the meal. Our only observation was that it seemed as though the locals were sat in different sections at the rear of the place and the tourists at the front all together. Although it was not the end of the world, we did notice that some tourists were rather picky about the food not being what they expected, which in all truthfulness was traditional Italian style cooking and not what you would receive at a North American restaurant. The staff were great with use and even provided us with complementary grappa at the end of the evening. If you are looking for pizzas and Olive Garden style food, this is not the place. If you are looking for asparagus with poached egg, white truffle shavings and pasta etc this place is a great dining experience.

NB reservations strongly recommended and remember that the locals eat late relative to North American restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    485
    163
    87
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great atmosphere, service and of course...food! It was bustling with people from all over and lots of locals. We started with a pear and pecorino cheese salad which was a great start. Pasta course we went with the gnocchi in lobster sauce and zucchini, AWESOME!! We wound up getting the steak Florentine for 2 which I LOVED and thought was the 3rd best steak I have ever had, although my wife wasn't quite as thrilled as I was. It was the priciest meal we had in Florence, but that was only because of the steak for 2, so overall it wasn't too expensive at all. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“You have to eat biscceta fiorentina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This place was full when we came, but were able to get a table. I was recommended by the friend to try there thefamous steak, and it was amazing!!! Soo good! You have to choose the one for two people - the real one. Also had bruscetta with tomato and anchiuvies. Very good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BUONO.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Very good food, the meat is unbelievable and the wine list excellent.
the only negative things is the the service, very un-polite and not professional....but this italy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bistecca Fiorentina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The thing to eat while being in Florence. We tried a few during our stay. And this was the best one. The steak is enough for two and traditionally served rare. We ordered the fresh tomato salad for side dish. It is a very traditional italian restaurant with friendly service.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria dei 13 Gobbi also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria dei 13 Gobbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria dei 13 Gobbi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.