We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine in the 11th Century Chapel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Antica Mescita San Niccolo

Osteria Antica Mescita San Niccolo
Via San Niccolo 60/r, 50125 Florence, Italy
+39 055 234 2836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #266 of 1,973 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $22 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Vernon BC Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dine in the 11th Century Chapel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The pasta and meat dishes are authentic Tuscan cuisine, although the meat was a little bit salty, but all in all very good. Good house wine and very reasonable prices, they also take credit cards. The restaurant is situated beside the San Niccolo church and a bit away from the main tourist areas. It has a few outside tables overlooking the small piazza, but I must say the best part has to be dining in the 11th Century Chapel inside. Down a few steps and you are instantly transformed to a different time and place. It's a tad bit musty but that just adds to the medieval atmosphere. Could have been made to be more romantic, the lighting needs to be dimmed and the tables separated a little but definitely a very memorable dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    154
    32
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We enjoyed eating outside and being served by a charming waiter who spoke great English with a Scottish accent. He gave great advice about the wine. Our meals were pretty good. No particular dish stands out but we were all satisfied with our evening there. It was close to our hotel and we were advised to eat here by the Concierge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This small Trattoria is surprisingly large inside. We ate fuori and enjoyed our meal. The salads and the appetizers were very good and fresh, the mixed grill had a variety of meats from filet to sausage. All the meats were good and perfectly cooked.

The local house wine was very good and a good price. The staff were very attentive and efficient.

We enjoyed the atmosphere of the little piazza and it was an enjoyable meal. They only had paper napkins (a personal peeve) otherwise it was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a good lunch at this restaurant today. The food was of good quality with fresh ingredients. The waiter's English was excellent which made negotiating the Italian-only menu easy. We started with tomato bruschetta which was a good choice. I had the chicken which was served on a bed of rucola, not zucchini as the menu stated. The serving size was reasonable. I was full, but not overly so. My husband ordered the roast beef with roasted potatoes and was quite satisfied with his choices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good local restaraunt - food and atmoshere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had an enjoyable evening at this restaurant. No English menus but our waiter was extremely helpful and patient with us and explained all choices. As we had a late lunch we went straight to secondis. Chicken in tomato was excellent and mixed grill meats were all well cooked - washed down by a good house white. Desserts were excellent as well. Really liked the atmosphere of the place - we sat inside which was cosy but also had a pretty small outside patio. Staff were attentive and helpful

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Antica Mescita San Niccolo also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria Antica Mescita San Niccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Antica Mescita San Niccolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.