We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appetizers fabulous, main courses so-so; attentive staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Guscio

Il Guscio
Via dell'Orto 19, Florence, Italy
055 22 44 21
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #475 of 2,059 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Appetizers fabulous, main courses so-so; attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The service is friendly and attentive and the menu features many more seafood dishes than the typical local restaurant. The warm vegetable “house” appetizer was superb and the Caprese salad had a LOT of very tasty cheese. The portion size for both of these was quite generous. Our main dishes were, by comparison, just OK. The lamb chops were tasty but overly salty and the sea bass was somewhat plain.
Contrary to what was written here by another reviewer, we had no trouble finding the restaurant. Have a good map or locate it on line and you’ll have no trouble finding it. However, the restaurant is a little bit off the beaten path so be prepared for a 20-25 minute walk from, say, the area of the Duomo.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    108
    26
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Possibly the best in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Delightful place ! Excellent wine list and an outrageously good menu !
Tuscan cuisine with an added flair.
My personal best in Florence !
Before I forget, don't forget to book...

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Cold staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

On advice from "Le guide du routard", we went to this restaurant, there was indeed a good list of wine and the food was excellent. We don’t speak Italian, and we were a little disappointed by the staff behavior. Cold and reluctant to answer any question. It was the second time we found ourselves in a restaurant that did not match “Le guide du routard” good opinion.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This restaurant was recommended by a local. It is very cozy and many Florentine guests dine here. The food and the wine were excellent at excellent prices. The service was superb.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Yes, it's worth the trek to the "wrong side" of the river. Not at all touristy, but quite tourist friendly {I don't speak any Italian}, this place is great. It was quite warm, and we sat out on the sidewalk both nights. Lots of locals were eating here, and it was clear why. Reasonable prices, good pasta, seafood, meat, even house wine by the carafe if you want it. Lately, I've been dissapointed by the Michelin Guide, but they list this one, as they should. Our reservations were made around 6 each evening, but I don't really think we needed them. Be aware it doesn't start seating for dinner until 7:45. See if your hotel can tell you which bus or busses to take, it is a bit of a walk. We never did figure out the bus routes, so we did walk, and found it worth it. Closed in August...

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Guscio also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Guscio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Guscio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.