We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Borgo Antico

Trattoria Borgo Antico
Piazza Santo Spirito 6r, Florence, Italy
(055) 210 437
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #722 of 1,876 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We say it's the best pizza in all of Florence. The borgo pizza is our favorite with bufala mozzarella and basilico and tomatos. Our family of 6 has had a many. All the food is good and the service is very friendly. You can eat outside on Piazza Santo Spirito or inside which we normally pick. All the tourists love outside though. I even had my daughters 16th birthday party here and it was a wonderful time for them. We have lived here for just under 2 years and we keep coming back to Borgo Antico. When you see waiters carry dishes by, it all looks so yummy, you just want it all. Thanks for your delicious food and friendly prompt service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    168
    66
    30
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Place for Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here twice and enjoyed it both times. It’s located in the Piazza Santo Spirito in the Oltrano, the left bank of Florence’s Arno River. The first time we can here it was pouring rain and we sat outside under the canvas awning and enjoyed an excellent pizza. We came back last and once again had a fine meal of pizza and salad. The service is good and it’s usually packed with tourists so it’s wise to book ahead. Great place to go after a day of sightseeing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food was fine, but the over-charging on the bill wasn't”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wrote a very good positive review of this restaurant last year and so went back there last week on Tuesday the 19th Feb. The menu had changed quite a bit and we were a little disappointed that some of the less standard fare seemed to have come off the menu. The music was also that bit too loud for us - maybe 50 year olds are not the target customer! However the food was nice (Pork, roast pots and spinach). I was however extremely disappointed to find that one of the side courses ordered was over-charged by 10 euros on the bill. This being the 2nd time in the week this had happened (other being in Wetherspoons, West india Quay, London) it left a bit of a sour taste at the end of the meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had a Sunday lunch at Borgo Antico and was disappointed. My risotto was so full of cheese that it was impossible to taste anything else. My daughter had the pasta ragu and the meat was very fatty. My son's pizza was good and made me wish that I had ordere pizza instead. The house wine left a lot to be desired, which is unusual. Needless to say, we skipped dessert and went to a gelateria.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yet another reason to come to Florence.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The trattoria looked warm and welcoming and the staff were immediately attentive. We were welcomed with a glass of Prosecco, olives and fresh bread. Our salad was fresh, generous and well presented. We had two delicious pizzas, a typical Quattro stagioni and one with Gorgonzola and Parma ham which we finished because we couldn't imagine wasting any. The complimentary limoncello finished off a delightful evening. We loved that the menu was only in Italian and we were the only tourists but were welcomed anyway. We are definitely falling in love with Florence

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Borgo Antico also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Borgo Antico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Borgo Antico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.