We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long day but never a dull moment...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Best of Tuscany Tour

The Best of Tuscany Tour
Via Vinegia 23R, 50122 Florence, Italy
+390552645746
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$116*
and up
Ranked #10 of 320 Activities in Florence
Attraction details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A long day but never a dull moment...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Be prepared for a long day out however I would do this trip again and recommend it to anyone with limited time in beautiful Tuscany. We visited all the major sites, Sienna with time to walk about town and the guide was a local with great insights. On to lunch at a local organic farm followed by a visit to wonderful San Gimignano with time to wander the streets, taste the 'World's Best Gelato" (yes I was sceptical any one place could claim that title but after trying it for myself....WOW!) then on to Pisa with just enough time to visit the famous Baptistery, Cathedral AND climb the Tower.

It is a almost as much as I think any tour could squeeze into one day and yet not feel rushed in doing it all in one day!

Great tour guides that add a really personal (and local) touch to keeping everyone informed about the local area and its people. (It is not asked for however it is customary to leave a tip for the guides and driver so take a few euros along for that purpose.)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,138
    244
    19
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
“Never ending vistas and delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Dear Barbara

Thank you for being a wonderful tour guide or should I say for being a curator of a day long experience which was full of treasures. You were knowledgeable, humorous and helpful. Where do you get the energy to do that?

Our photographs of Sienna, Pisa, the winery and much, much more will remain happy memories of the wonderful time we spent with you. Thank you and hope to come back again soon. Next time of course with a better pair of shoes and lots of coins for you know what. Best

Rakesh and Sushma Kaul

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A fabulous day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A last minute decision became one of the highlights of our trip! Elisa was the perfect guide, sweet, insightful, funny and very knowledgeable. Our Sienese guide was very passionate - she made Siena history fun and lively. The lunch stop at Poggio Alloro was delicious and the wine tasting exquisite. San Gimignano was delightful, wish we could have spent more time there. Pisa is a must-see...even though you've seen the tower in pictures...it's quite something to see in person.
Overall, a fabulous day in Tuscany!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
“Great time in Tuscany!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a wonderful and unforgettable experienced…Thanks to Agata! From the architectural/historical places to scenic view of rolling hills and vineyards + food and wine of Chianti. Everything was so well organized. She’s very knowledgeable. If you are looking for a unique experience in Florence. We strongly recommend you to contact Walkabout Tours.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!! A must do trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I did this trip in September. This is a MUST DO trip on any visit to Florence! You will see some amazing cities, and have a fantastic lunch and (very generous!!!) wine tasting at one of Tuscanny's finest vineyards. The Leaning Tower of Pisa was awesome up close. The day was extremely well organised and we especially loved the expert commentary by our awesome guide Agata. Overall this is an excellent value day tour and is very highly recommended!! And can we just add a very special thanks to our driver, Francesco, for a fantastic day and getting us to our train to Rome.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Best of Tuscany Tour also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to The Best of Tuscany Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Best of Tuscany Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.