We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Best of Tuscany Tour

The Best of Tuscany Tour
Via Vinegia 23R, 50122 Florence, Italy
+390552645746
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$104*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was a highlight of 2 weeks in Italy. The vineyard was beautiful, lunch was delicious, wine was amazing and the view from the farm was breathtaking. Our guide, Barbara was funny, informative & helpful. The driver was skilled and the bus comfortable. Siena is gorgeous, wish there was more time to spend there. It really is worth every euro you spend. Pisa was the most disappointing but we knew going in that it was really a photo opportunity more than anything, although a lot of people climbed the tower and seemed to enjoy it. We don't usually take tours but this one was everything it claimed to be.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,249
    245
    21
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A great tour made even better by a great guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a jam packed tour around 12 hours covering Siena, San Gimignano and Pisa. The tour itself is outstanding but our guide Stefano made it even more special. He imparted facts with great humour and cared for everyone as if they were his closest friends. I was starting to feel that my partner was falling for his Italian charm!

You have ample time in the 3 places. The tour has a separate guide along with Stefano for Siena and uses whisper "walkie talkies".

The highlight for us, was the setting for lunch, beautiful Tuscan views. The lunch itself, is ample and as one would expect, simple food.

Pisa was our least preferred place.

This is possibly the best tour that I have been on, highly recommended and even better if your guide is Stefano!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well-organized tour! Unforgettable Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

One of the most memorable parts of my trip to Europe! Meeting point is near the Santa Maria Novella Station, around 8:15am. We were accompanied by a knowledgeable, enthusiastic guide named Olivia. I loved the personal touch of Walkabout tours - on the ride back to the city center, Olivia approached us one by one to entertain our questions about Florence/Tuscany. That was very much appreciated!

We had a separate tour guide for Siena. I feel bad for forgetting her name, but I will definitely remember how passionate she was. She was very lively & animated - like a show on her own!

Had lunch at an organic farm, Fattoria Poggio Alloro, with an unbelievable view of Tuscany & the towers of San Gimignano. We also had a quick tour of the farm c/o one of the owners. The food and the wine were incredible! Definitely one of the best meals I've had!

Our next two stops were San Gimignano & Pisa. Loved the spirit of San Gimignano - would've wanted to spend more time there!

It was a long day but I didn't feel too exhausted. Would definitely recommend this tour. If you're spending only a few nights in Florence (I did 3 nights), this would be a great tour to add to your itinerary. So worth it! Bellissima!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent way to see highlights of Tuscany in one day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Traveling with a 12 and 6 year old, and with only 3 days in Florence, we thought this would be the best way to see the sites of Tuscany given our schedule. Very comfortable, clean and air conditioned bus - the tour left right on time (don't be late!). Our guide was in his 20s, from the US and Italy so no issues with understanding him. A bit cheesy with some jokes, you could tell he loved his job and was very helpful with any questions. At our first stop, Sienna, we were handed off to a local tour guide and given "whisper" headsets with ear buds so we could all hear the guide. Very helpful with such a large group. We had low expectations for the next stop - the Tuscan farm, thinking it would be a "tourist" stop with bus after bus load of tours stopping. Well, low expectations help, as yes, there were other large groups there, but the meal and setting was the best part by far. Plentiful wine, food and amazing views of the Tuscan hillside in an air conditioned dining room with floor to ceilings windows with a deck for photos after lunch. Don't miss the gelato shop at your next stop, San Gimignano - highly recommend the sparking wine and pink grapefruit flavor. Yum! A longer ride to Pisa, a great time to nap on the bus. The few reasons why I didn't give this an excellent rating, was the disappointment in Pisa. I wish we would have known about needed tickets ahead of time to climb the famous tower. Also, even with tickets, you wouldn't have time to climb. A big disappointment with our kids as they were so looking forward to doing this. Otherwise, very glad we did this tour - a fabulous non stressful way to see Tuscany.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“ah, Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a wonderful day touring Tuscany. Sandra, our guide was engaging, knowledgeable, and had just the right touch of humor. The view of San Gimignano in the distance from the organic farm and winery where we had lunch was fantastic. The lunch stop was also accommodating to a member of our family who is gluten intolerant. We would happily take one of their other tour options on our next visit- for something new, not because this wasn't great.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Best of Tuscany Tour also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to The Best of Tuscany Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Best of Tuscany Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.