We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY, unless you're here to see artwork” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Gargani

Trattoria Gargani
Via del Moro, 48/r, 50123 Florence, Italy
+39 055 2398898
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #258 of 1,876 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Trattoria storica nel centro di Firenze a due passi da ponte vecchio e Via de' Tornabuoni. Famosa per la buona cucina, l'allegria e l'arte che si respira. Ogni piatto è creato con cura, colori e petali di fiori. I prodotti sono di alta qualità e sempre freschi e stagionali. Tra i piatti più famosi i Garganelli zafferano e gamberi, gli Spaghetti Donna Karen, il Pollo senape e asparagi e la famosa Bistecca alla Fiorentina.
NJ
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
737 helpful votes 737 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY, unless you're here to see artwork”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel concierge, go figure. We were very impressed with the funky decor on the walls and ambiance. The appetizer, crepes with porcini, spinach and ricotta was a very large portion and very good. However, the rest of the meal went downhill.

We ordered a 2009 Plan di Nora bottle of red wine that cost 35 Euros. They open and instead serve us a 2010 Plan di Nora without advising us they were out of 2009. Hello, not what I ordered!

Second, I ordered the suckling pig special and spouse order the veal with gorgonzola with truffles. Sorry, the veal with gorgonzola sold out. Really? Ok, spouse orders the veal with avocado and rose. 15 minutes passes and waiter comes around, sorry, we're out of the suckling pig. Grr..so I order the veal with avocado and rose. While waiting for our meals we enjoyed looking at the nice bottle of olive oil on our table. We really would have loved to try it but no bread plates were offered.

Entrees are served and it's a sloppy mess of heavy sauce with tons of avocado and tough veal medallions. The sauce was so over-powering it was sickening. Our waiter could tell we were not happy but he didn't care, since he was making his 12% service charge anyway. This was the only experience we had where 12% gratuity was mandatory.

We skipped dessert and the bill still came to 130 Euros for our worst meal in Florence.

We later found out from our tour guide that the original owner and chef moved to another restaurant called La Cucina del Garga on Via San Zanobi. Wish we ate there instead, as I believe it may be their reputation this place is now living off of.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    92
    35
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful authentic food amazing service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went there on a recommendation from a friend with my girl friend. Probably the nicest staff that we met on our holiday. They are very tourist friendly despite being very authentic and Italian. We had the Spaghetti with lobster and the pig. My girlfriend had the veal which wasn't great but it's a tuscan speciality, so when in rome,,,

Lovely ambiance with lots of little corners making it quite a romantic place to take a date!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Local amazing cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I totally recommend. I went with local people from Florence. Mostly for locals. Traditional Tuscany cuisine. Best bistecca Fiorentina in town, although I taste several courses and everything was so good... Although at first look it could seem a cheap typical Trattoria, prices are no cheap, but it is very good value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“You'd never find this restaurant unless someone tells you about it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We asked our hotel to recommend a simple restaurant with great Italian food and this is definitely it. The restaurant is up a side street so you'd never find it unless you knew where you were going. The staff are all really friendly and attentive - they all seem to really enjoy their job. Pasta is absolutely delicious - light and tasty and a great choice of wines.
We were in Florence for three nights and we ate there two of the nights - if we'd found it the first night we would have eaten there all three nights
Probably best to reserve a table as its really busy

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing pasta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We read about this place in Rachael Ray's magazine and it is definitely worth a visit! The staff was very nice and helpful. The highlight was the Il Magnifico, which is a pasta with a creamy sauce with orange zest... OMG , it was amazing! Heard the cheesecake was great too, but it was OK. Go try this pasta... Yum!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Gargani also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Gargani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Gargani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.