We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Pallottino

Trattoria Pallottino
Via Isola delle Stinche 1r, 50122 Florence, Italy
+39 055 289573
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Trattoria Pallottino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,597 of 2,059 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Typical Tuscan old trattoria born in 1911, just a few steps from Piazza Santa Croce and Piazza Signoria. Rustic, informal, with benches and wooden tables and an open kitchen. Sixty seats in the two internal rooms and the outdoor seating area in the pedestrian zone. Always make a home-style regional cuisine and economical and we specialize in Florentine steak cooked to coal.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Tremendous food. All 5 of us loved the pasta and dessert. Enjoyed the atmosphere. Servers were friendly. The only small negative was service was pretty slow, but would definitely go back if in Florence again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriapallottino, Proprietario at Trattoria Pallottino, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear friends, dear customers, thank you for choosing our restaurant and thank you for the review and the positive view that we have dedicated. We will be very happy to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    359
    98
    46
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic local food experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This rustic place was our favourite dinner experience thanks to the recommendations of our waiter. We loved the fat noodles "rigatoni alla Pallottino" and a meat stew with a touch of cinnamon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriapallottino, Proprietario at Trattoria Pallottino, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear customer, thank you for taking some of your time to write this great review and even giving us an excellent rating, if you come back you will always be welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rustic tuscan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is your typical restaurant next door with a simple decor and one that serves simple but rustic Tuscan food. We were quite lucky to get a reservation last minute, we noticed some people were turned away at the door and advised to come back later. The service was a little rushed but they were also full-house so it was understandable. We had a creamy pasta with zucchini and tomatoes and a vegetable soup which was unfortunately quite forgettable and wished we had ordered something else, but then they won us over with the beef stew and roast potatoes - this dish was very, very well executed. The orange cheesecake was also a winner and a very pleasant way to end the evening. Overall a good experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriapallottino, Proprietario at Trattoria Pallottino, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear friend, thank you for choosing our restaurant during your holiday in Florence, we are happy to read that the experience spent with us was positive although not all the dishes were up to. Best regards and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

there is really nothing special about this restaurant, there are loads of venues like this around town, with rustic decor, simple, traditional Tuscan dishes and wine flasks on the table.
What this restaurant also boasts, is possibly the slowest service ever seen in a restaurant.The whole meal took us about FOUR hours, and while we waited about 1 hour and 20 mins for our mains, no one bothered to collect dirty plates from the table in the meantime, so that once we eventually received our mains, that had just cleaned the plates - but hadn't brought any cutlery. Mains were quite bland, too - other than pork chops, which were very good. Overall, don't bother.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriapallottino, Proprietario at Trattoria Pallottino, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Nelle, our own behavior was unseemly and disgraceful and I do not know how to thank you for average grade that you have given us, however the 4 hours are a few exaggerated (dinner service from 7.30 to 10.30 pm) and although our waiter was nicknamed "sloth" no offense to the animal. Best regards and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Apparently, I am among the minority”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Quite possibly, the worst dining experience of the entire two weeks in Florence. It was Thursday night and the restaurant is near to empty. Two of us arrive and are met with a flummoxed woman unaware of where to put us. Service was absolutely laughable and my gnocci was the consistency of library paste. For all the raves, I can not for the life of me understand how this place is rated so highly.

Oh, the best part? Having a view of the kitchen and watching the chef talk LOUDLY to the server while brandishing (and pointing) a very large machete-like knife at her.

First time in my life I was practically begging for the check so I could leave.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriapallottino, Proprietario at Trattoria Pallottino, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Patrick, thank you for taking this fantastic and funny review, it was a pleasure to meet you and I hope that there will be another opportunity to spend another funny evening with us, best greeting and wishes for a Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Pallottino also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Pallottino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Pallottino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.