We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local food, local color” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cibreo Trattoria (Il Cibreino)

Cibreo Trattoria (Il Cibreino)
Via de' Macci 122r, 50122 Florence, Italy
055-234-1100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #601 of 1,876 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Local food, local color”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Cibreo brand is comprised of this cafe, it's more upscale and expensive restaurant version across the street, and a dinner theatre/ breakfast/lunch facility.
You have to have an inexpensive membership to get into the dinner theatre but it's well worth it, as the all inclusive price is a bargain for a multi course dinner and show(varies a lot). Seating limited.
The cafe has indoor and outdoor seating and the food selection is excellent. Service is good even though there is a bit of up-selling. Patrons aren't rushed. House wines are good.
The owner of this neat little empire is bigger than life with his white long hair and trimmed matching beard. He paces around and talks to guests and corrects food choices if he sees anything out of line.
We had a lovely two hour lunch that cost more than some area restaurants but less than his restaurant across the street and less than city center would. Oh, and the antipasti course is wonderful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    130
    50
    38
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here on our first night in Firenze. The waiters were friendly and helpful in explaining the dishes we couldn't identify on the all-Italian menu. And the food was amazing, typical Tuscan cuisine. I saw others complaining about the size of the portions. Well, either we were lucky or we're used to completely different sizes... All in all, we had a great experience that set the mood for our stay in Firenze.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Visited the restaurant ( there is the trattoria & cafe close by ) with a group of friends. There are no menus- a woman comes & sits at the table explaining all the dishes. I can't recall my app, but my entree was a 4x4 eggplant parm on top of potatoes. Extremely overpriced, very trendy. The place itself is very warm & inviting, with wonderful smells wafting from the Cucina. Don't go hungry & expect to pay a lot for a little.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wanted to love, but not what the reviews said”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had looked forward to dining at Cibreo and was on our "to do list" for Italy. There are three Cibreo's and we dined at the Trattoria where no reservations are required. They were friendly, but the food was mediocre at best. I know this restaurant gets rave review, but the night we went it was not the best. I here the fine dining Cibreo is excellent; but we did not eat there. The three restaurants, Cibreo -- Cafe, Trattoria and fine dining are all on the same block. Give it a try; it's famous maybe we caught an off night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing! Our Best Meal in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was tempted not to write a review for Cibreo so that I didn’t have to share this secret with the rest of the Tripadvisor community!! How it is not ranked higher is totally beyond me as we had our best meal in 10 days of travelling around Italy (Tuscany and Cinque Terre). We were recommended this restaurant by our ultra-foodie Italian friends, and are so glad we went (we almost didn’t go as the restaurant was on the other side of the city centre from where we were staying). The service was attentive and really helpful (considering the menu was in Italian) and it was SO refreshing to be served by someone that is passionate about the food they are serving as opposed to simply rattling off the menu. The food is sublime – not what a lot of people might think when they think of Italian food (i.e. no pizza and pasta) but instead an intense focus on properly local food, where the focus is on flavour (not dishes where the flavours are overshadowed with veloutes and jus). We went the whole hog and had appetizers, starters and mains and all were delicious. Particular favourites were the pappa al pommodore (tomato stew), tripe, rabbit, and tomato jelly. We wish we could’ve tried desert, but we were just too full!! We absolutely loved Cibreo and are already plotting a return visit!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibreo Trattoria (Il Cibreino) also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Cibreo Trattoria (Il Cibreino)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cibreo Trattoria (Il Cibreino), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.