We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made with the best ingredients” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cibreo Trattoria (Il Cibreino)

Cibreo Trattoria (Il Cibreino)
Via de' Macci 122r, 50122 Florence, Italy
055-234-1100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #756 of 1,973 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Made with the best ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a hand written menu and the waiter walked us through it. The food was ridiculous and the cost was incredibly reasonable. I'd come back in a heartbeat.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    114
    48
    37
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food but tiny portions!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Mixed feelings about this restaurant- we had some great dishes but came away feeling it really did not offer value for money. Starters were good but small- I had the yoghurt pudding which was absolutely divine. I had cuttlefish stew for main course which was very good and reasonably substantial (when padded out with bread!). My mum ordered red mullet and literally got 3 mouthfuls of fish with a tiny side dish of potatoes- really not worth €14. Our other niggle was that wine was €5 per glass which was far more than we'd paid elsewhere in Florence.
Service was very good and the restaurant had a lovely ambience. I know Florence is an expensive place to eat but I do think they need to increase their portion sizes to justify the prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great service - the waiter patiently translated the entire menu into English. Outstanding food - you'll get Tuscan food here with a fancy touch. I had chicken liver pate on crostini, salted cod casserole with potatoes and crumb topping, and caramel panne cotta for dessert. Delicious and highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous, authenticrustic style food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We tried this at lunch time at low season and had no problem with a table, although it is clear that at other times you need to book and maybe to share if you are just a couple. The food is a delight if you are prepared to enjoy dishes like cuttlefish in ink, ox cheeks in wine sauce, tripe and the like. Don't be put off if they don't sound to your taste - you'll learn that your taste can embrace something you might not have chosen. And a final caramel flan/creme brulee was of the standard where you order a second as soon as you taste the first spoonful! Service was just right, mostly the owner's (head chef) son, who explained that the food is exactly the same as at the top end restauirant next door, where the prices and staff are doubled. We preferred the bistro style anyway. They don't serve coffeee/tea after the meal - that's why their cafe is just across the street, which helps their table turnover. But your're not rushed, nothing arrives too soon, and they don't fuss trying to empty the wine bottle quickly to press for another. Very, very highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nothing really to add to the reviews singing the praises of this trattoria. The food was elegant and flavoursome, the service spot-on and the atmosphere casual and comfortable. Of note were two things: as a solo traveller, the staff were courteous and polite (no being seated next to the toilet or kitchen) and the fact that there was no espresso machine (strange, that).

I'll definitely be putting it on my list of regular choices in future trips to Florence! Don't miss the pate... the best I've tasted in Florence.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibreo Trattoria (Il Cibreino) also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Cibreo Trattoria (Il Cibreino)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cibreo Trattoria (Il Cibreino), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.