We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not a B&B only a B! Sleezy landlord!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Le Rondini

Residenza Le Rondini
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza Le Rondini to your Saves list
Residenza Le Rondini
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Via S. Zanobi 43, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #264 of 520 Florence B&B and Inns
Linkoping, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It is not a B&B only a B! Sleezy landlord!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The most important thing I think I have to tell everyone that even considers to stay here: You don't get a beakfast! It says on their own website that it's a B&B but it's not! When we arrived at the building no one answered when when we pressed the buzzer. So we called the numberr next to the buzzer. A guy, Lorenzo answers and says that we should try to press the buzzer and that someone should answer. This was a lie because there is noone in the building except for the guests. My theory is that he just wants to seem more proffesional or to make the guests believe someone is in the building so that the guests won't be loud or break something. There are signs everywhere that they will throw you out if you bother the other guests.
He was soooo creepy, sleezy and weird. He was in our room when we weren't there and didn't even change the towels or clean, he just made the bed really, really bad. It was like he was poking around. He wanted us to pay the day he was in our room so he left a note that he would be back in the morning. He did not come in the morning, he came that same evening at about 9pm! This was really annoying because we were already sleeping and he woke us up.
There is no elevator and you have to climb up to the 4th floor and there is no airconditioning, which is necessary in the summer when it's 38degs outside. There is a fan which is really loud. I got a migraine from it every single day.
The only good thing was that we had fast WiFi.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Le Rondini is a set of rooms in an Italian town house. It's within walking distance of the station (beware there are two number 43's on the same road!) and the owner will meet you there and show you the room and give you plenty of information about Florence. The rooms share a small fridge between them that you can use.
We had a side room with a small balcony although the room itself was quite small. it's only a ten minute walk to the main sites in Florence (Duomo area) and the central market area where you can get a great breakfast.
It's a great place to stay if you intend to be mainly out and about exploring the beauty of Florence and just want someone to rest your head overnight.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We had actually booked the cheapest room which had a bathroom (with a lock) outside the room. When we got there, we were given a choice by a very nice and helpful man. We chose the room with the balcony which although smaller, did have a window and also a balcony and a bathroom ensuite. It was very quiet and comfortable, in an attractive neighborhood really close to the Galleria dell' Accademia, and an easy walk to the train station and the Duomo.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed at the Residenza Le Rondini for 3 nights in August. The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. The water flow from the showers in each room was a little erratic at times, but otherwise it was all good. The Residenza is close to the tourist sights for walking, and so is ideally placed, and is about a 10 min walk from the rail station.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

An Italian town house on the 3rd floor without a lift. Definitely AVOID if U have heavy bags to carry (up 3 floors or 9 flights of stairs)!

5 clean quiet rooms @32.50 Euros ( v. cheap)--- ALL on the 3rd floor with private bath, Fan, TV, free WiFi & a portable A/C (which doesn't work, acc. to the owner--- but it can be plugged in & used, if needed---it works v. well).

20 mins walk from Firenze SMN & then 9 flights up---v. tiring with bags--take a taxi from the Stn. Hard to find at first but it's location is OK for walking around the city and seeing all the sights.

Lorenzo, the host, is really friendly & helpful. He himself carried our heaviest bag up 3 floors!
U must arrange a meeting time to check in as he is not always at home.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Lorenzo is awesome! He has the best restaurant in Florence. He is a really nice guy and gave us tips throughout the time we had in florence. He made our stay comfortable and amazing, The only downfall was the 6 flights of stairs. But everything was great and would def. stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

I booked a single room in a location that I thought would be central. It was a little north of central, but it worked out fine - I rented a bike and left it locked in the 'lobby' at the street level - the bike rental place was 1 block away and there are internet cafe's everywhere. They advertised Wi-Fi and there was a router and network, but I couldn't get my pc to connect (I had the password). There is no lobby, just an entry to the other flats and the rooms are on the 3rd floor (no lift). I called the cell number on the outside of the door and owner responded immediately and allowed me to check in early. The room was clean and quiet when the windows were closed. There was a fan (no ac), bathroom w/ shower and small soaps / shampoo. There was a refrigerator that was shared with the other rooms that I used, my items were all untouched when I went to retrieve them. The grocery store is 2-3 blocks north and conveniently located for buying breakfast foods for in the room. I passed a parking garage on the way home every night, so though unrelated, nearby parking is available. Overall, the only thing that I would have wanted in addition is air conditioning - the price was right and it worked out great.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Le Rondini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Le Rondini

Address: Via S. Zanobi 43, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 520 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residenza Le Rondini 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residenza Le Rondini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Le Rondini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.