We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastone

Gastone
Via Matteo Palmieri 24/26, Florence, Italy
+39 0552638763
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #543 of 1,970 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Celebrated our 25th Anniversary here... Great choice! I had the sesame grilled tune, my wife had beef medallions--both were delicious! Some unusual choices on menu--wish we'd had time to go back another evening. A must place to eat while in Florence--very close to the Duomo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    68
    17
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tubingen, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best in Florence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Florence is full of typical touristy restaurants, so in search for something else, something different, we've stepped in the Gastone restaurant. We didn't have reservation, but the host/owner offered us a table anyway. Gastone fills up every night (after 9PM - Italians eat late!), mainly with locals, but there were some foreigners too - probably trying their luck like we did. And I have to say, this was our best restaurant decision on our few weeks trip to Italy! Gastone's menu is in its core still very Italian or Tuscan, but with a lot of surprises. We went there again few nights later, so we've tried a lot - the steak and the pasta with pistachio were really outstanding! Everything else was excellent as well. The wine list is truly extensive, the staff and the owner know their job and their suggestions were appropriate and knowledgeable. Nice, urban/rustic interior, good atmosphere. And yes, we were very charmed by the beauty of waitresses!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to come here by the hostess of our b&b and were extremely impressed. We recommend the Tuscan steak and weren't disappointed. A must try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant known for seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Cute little restaurant decorated like something you might expect at the seashore given its pale blue walls and off-white tables. Our food was delicious and our waitress was very good. The restaurant served us a yummy appetizer of shrimp on top of a beet purée that was yummy and they should put on the menu. We were too full to order dessert. The restaurant finished off the meal with excellent biscotti.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I had our first meal in Italy at Gastone at the recommendation of the owner of our hotel, Casa Rovai. It happened to be our 7th anniversary and this was a perfect location to have a celebratory dinner! The decor was modern and cool. The wait staff was friendly and the food delicious. The prices were reasonable. We would absolutely dine here again and recommend it to others!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastone also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Gastone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.